Meng Qi - DU-KRPLS (Circuit-Bent Digital Waveguide)

Overview

DU-KRPLS is a physical modeling synthesizer voice that simulates the sound of string instruments. It is based on Karplus Strong algorithms. Small errors in the code were added to create results reminiscent of circuit bending. Compared to the Karp, this module is even more glitchy and unpredictable.

Views

Details

First of all, the hard facts: DU-KRPLS generates sound based on Karplus-Strong algorithms. There are four parameters which can be controlled viapotentiometers and CVs. If the control voltage inputs are used, the knobs function as attenuators. A trigger input excites the module. Results are emitted via an audio output. Additionally, you will find a button with a jack nearby. More on this later.

The Karplus-Strong algorithm was patented in 1983. It is used to simulate the sound of string instruments. - A type of physical modeling. The DU-KRPLS uses this basic principle, but adds small errors to the algorithm in order to create sounds reminiscent of circuit bending. Playing with the DU-KRPLS can be quite intense, loud and above all beautifully unpredictable.

About the four parameters that form the sound: Pitch sets the fundamental frequency of the oscillation. Rate and Depth are responsible for frequency modulation, Decay determines the length of the generated sounds. Due to the intentionally faulty algorithms, the results of turning the decay potentiometer is not always exactly predictable. A tip from the manufacturer: Most of the time, you will leave the decay parameter set to either maximum or minimum value. Depth and rate determine the intensity and frequency of the internal modulation, the waveform for this is selected via the already mentioned button. Three different waveforms are available, which can also be selected via the trigger input called Type.

Another tip from Meng Qi: If you want to play the DU-KRPLS on the pentatonic  5-tone scale, you can press and hold the button when starting the module. The generated notes are then quantized to the Pentatonic D major scale.

There is a second version of this module, for all who like it a little more tame: Karp

connectors

Pitch, Rate, Depth and Decay CV inputs (range: 0 to +5 V)
Trig and Type trigger inputs
Audio output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide. 35 mm in depth
Power consumption: 35 mA at +12 V and 5 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
MQIdukarp
External Links
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €116.81 € 19% VAT incl. €139.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Meng Qi - DU-KRPLS (Circuit-Bent Digital Waveguide)

Überblick

Das DU-KRPLS ist eine Synthesizerstimme, die den Sound von Saiteninstrumenten auf Basis von Karplus-Strong-Algorithmen simuliert. Allerdings wurden dem Physical-Modeling-Konzept kleine Fehler im Code beigefügt, um an Circuit Bending erinnernde Ergebnisse zu kreieren. Verglichen mit dem Karp geht das DU-KRPLS noch ein wenig heftiger zu Werke. Mehr Glitches!

Ansichten

Details

Zunächst einmal die harten Fakten: Die Klangerzeugung basiert auf einem Karplus-Strong-Algorithmus. Es gibt vier Parameter, die mittels CV oder Potentiometer geregelt werden können. Sind die CV Eingänge im Einsatz, funktionieren die Regler als Abschwächer. Den Triggereingang nutzt man, um die Tonerzeugung zu starten. Das Ergebnis kann dann am Audioausgang abgegriffen werden. Zusätzlich findet man noch einen Taster mit zugehöriger Buchse.

Der Karplus-Strong Algorithmus wurde 1983 zum Patent angemeldet. Er dient der Simulation von Seiteninstrumenten, ist also eine von Art Physical Modeling. Das DU-KRPLS von Meng Qi nutzt dieses Grundprinzip, streut aber kleine Fehler in den Algorithmus ein, um die Klangergebnisse (eher mehr als weniger) an die Klangesthetik des Circuit-Bending anzulehnen. Das Spielen mit dem DU-KRPLS kann also durchaus heftig, laut und vor allem wundervoll unvorhersehbar werden.

Zu den vier Parametern, die den Klang formen: Pitch stellt die Grundfrequenz ein. Rate und Depth sind für Frequenzmodulationen zuständig. Decay bestimmt die Länge des erzeugten Klangs. Aufgrund der gewollt fehlerhaften Algorithmen sind Resultate von Decay-Änderungen aber nicht immer genau vorhersehbar. Deshalb der Tipp vom Hersteller: Die meiste Zeit wird man den Decay Parameter entweder auf maximalem oder minimalem Wert eingestellt lassen. Depth und Rate bestimmen Intensität und Frequenz der internen Modulation, die Wellenform dafür wird über den bereits erwähnten Taster ausgewählt. Zur Verfügung stehen drei verschiedene Wellenformen, die auch mittels des Triggereinganges namens Type durchgeschaltet werden können.

Noch ein Tipp von Meng Qi: Will man das DU-KRPLS entsprechend der 5-Ton-Skala spielen, kann man beim Einschalten des Moduls den Knopf gedrückt halten. So werden die erzeugten Töne auf die Pentatonische D-Dur Tonleiter quantisiert.

Für alle Musiker, die es gerne etwas zahmer hätten, gibt noch eine zweite Version dieses Moduls: Karp

Anschlüsse

CV-Eingänge für Pitch-, Rate-, Depth- und Decay-Parameter (0 bis +5 V)
Trig- und Type-Triggereingänge
Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 TE breit, 35 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 35 mA auf +12 V und 5 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
MQIdukarp
Externe Links
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 116,81 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 139,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1