Metasonix F-2 preamp / distortion / wah

Overview

The F-2 is world's one and only effect pedal which is a pre-amp, a distortion and a wah-wah with vacuum tube technology. And it's not just a standard tube stage, in fact the whole signal path of the unit is tube-based, also the wah-filter! An unique device and typical for Metasonix very crass and brute. And it is also voltage controllable by what it works well with synthesizers as well.

Views

Details

The pre-amp uses a new wold stock 5U8 vacuum tube which sound significantly different than the standard 12AX7, producing more gain and a nicer distortion.

The pre-amplified signal is then routed into the wah filter which is a characteristic band pass flter using nother 5U8 tube. For classic foot-controlled WahWah just conenct an usual expression pedal with a TRS jack to the CV input. Alternatively you can use this input with a control voltage (0 -10V)
the cutoff frequency of the filter is controlled by a Vactrol via a potentiometer and the resonance can be adjusted as well.

There are two hidden features in the F-2:
The TRS input socket actually accepts two signals: the guitar pre-amp is addressed via the "tip" of the socket while the "ring" is an optional line input which bypasses the pre-amp. Likewise the output is a TRS socket with two functions as well: tip carries the filter output, the ring emits the pre-amplified unfiltered signal only.
This way the stompbox can be used as a standalone voltage controlled tube filter for the modular synthesizer. At maximum resonance the filter oscillates and can track Hz/V via the CV input.

connectors

power inlet: 12V DC (center positive)
audio input, audio output, CV input

dimensions

119 x 144 x 74mm (W x D x H)

Weight
0.654 kg
Article Number
MTf2
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €457.98 € 19% VAT incl. €545.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Metasonix F-2 preamp / distortion / wah

Überblick

Das F-2 ist das weltweit einzige Effektpedal, das ein Vorverstärker, Verzerrer und WahWah mit Röhrentechnik ist. Und es ist nicht bloss eine schlappe Röhrenvostufe, vielmehr ist der gesamte Signalpfad des Gerätes, also auch das Wah-Filter mit Röhren aufgebaut. Einzigartig und nach Metasonix-Manier sehr krass und brachial. Und spannungssteuerbar ist es auch, und somit nicht nur für Gitarren, sondern auch für jegliche Audioquellen geeignet.

Ansichten

Details

Der Vorverstärker nutzt eine new-old-stock-Röhre vom Typ 5U8, die deutlich anders klingt als die Standard 12AX7, mehr Gain produziert und eine schönere Verzerrung liefert.

Das vorverstärkte Signal wird dann in das Wah-Filter geleitet, das ein charakteristisches Bandpassfilter ist, welches eine weitere 5U8-Röhre nutzt. Für klassisches fußgesteuertes WahWah muss man an den CV-Eingang ein handelsübliches Expression-Pedal mit TRS-Stecker anschließen. Alternativ nutzt man eine Stererspannung von 0 bis 10 V.
Die Cutoff-Frequenz des Filters wird mittels eines Potis über einen Vactrol geregelt und die Resonanz ist ebenfalls regelbar.

Es gibt im F-2 versteckte Features:
Die TRS-Eingangbuchse akzeptiert eigentlich zwei Signale: der Gitarren-Preamp wird über die Spitze des Klinkensteckers angesprochen, während der Ring ein optionaler Line-Eingang ist, der der Vorverstärker umgeht. Ebenso ist auch der Ausgang eine TRS-Buchse mit zwei Funktionen. Die Spitze führt den Filterausgang, der Ring hingegen das ungefilterte Preamp-Signal.
Dadurch kann das Effektgerät als separates, spannungsgesteuertes Röhrenfilter für Modularsynthesizer verwendet werden. Bei maximaler Resonanz oszilliert das Filter und kann über Hz/V tracken.

Anschlüsse

Netzteileingang: 12 V DC (Mitte positiv)
Audio-Eingang, Audioausgang, CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

119 x 144 x 74 mm (B x T x H)

Gewicht
0.654 kg
artikelnr
MTf2
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 457,98 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 545,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1