Metasonix RK4 Filter / VCO

Overview

The RK4 is a compact version of the unfortunately no longer available R-54 Supermodule. Like the older brother, it can be used as an oscillator and bandpass filter. During VCO operation, the RK4 emits an exceptionally clean sine wave, thanks its triode-pentode which was placed in a Wien-bridge circuit. By turning a potentiometer, the sine can be morphed into a square wave. The frequency response ranges, in both VCO and VCF operation, from 20 Hz to 2 kHz. Pitch respectively cutoff can be controlled via a knob and a Hz / v connector. An audio input plus level potentiometers complete the module.

In use, the RK4 shines with beefy, warm tube sound. Frequency modulations lead to fierce, yet charming results. Utilized as a filter, the circuit is a dream as well. The bandpass is wide and cuts off frequencies very smoothly. Hi resonance values produce shrill screams. – A truly unique module with tons of character!

Views

Details

While being used as an oscillator, the RK4 is controlled via its pitch CV input (Hz / v). For tuning adjustments, there is a potentiometer. The resonance knob can be employed to morph the waveform from sine to square. Another potentiometer edits the output volume.

For utilizing the RK4 as a bandpass filter, an audio input with level control was implemented in the module. Its tuning potentiometer sets the cutoff frequency, the pitch CV input can be used for modulations.

miscellaneous
A MIDI CV interface with Hz / V capabilites is needed to play the Rk4 with correct pitch. Examples for such modules are the Metasonix R-60, Kenton's Modular Solo or the Endorphin.es Shuttle Control.
connectors

Audio input and output
Pitch CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide
Current draw 400 mA at +12 V and 10 mA at -12 V. - Attention! While heating up, the module needs about three times more power.

Weight
0.106 kg
Article Number
MTrk4
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €284.87 € 19% VAT incl. €339.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Metasonix RK4 Filter / VCO

Überblick

Das RK4 ist eine Kompaktversion des leider nicht mehr erhältlichen R-54 Supermoduls. Die Schaltung lässt sich, genau wie der große Bruder, als Oszillator und Bandpass-Filter einsetzen. Im VCO-Betrieb liefert das RK4, dank Verwendung einer Trioden-Pentode in einer Wien-Robinson-Brücke, außergewöhnlich saubere Sinusschwingungen. Via Potentiometer kann man die Wellenform in Richtung Rechteck abwandeln. Der Frequenzgang des Moduls reicht, sowohl im Oszillator- wie auch Filterbetrieb, von 20 Hz bis 2 kHz. Zur Steuerung von Tonhöhe beziehungsweise Cutoff stehen ein Drehregler und ein Hz/V-Eingang bereit. Ein Audioeingang und Lautstärke-Potentiometer runden den Funktionsumfang ab.
Klanglich glänzt das RK4 durch knarzig-warmen Röhrensound. Frequenzmodulationen ziehen zum Teil recht heftige, aber trotzdem noch charmant wirkende Ergebnisse nach sich. Als Filter ist die Schaltung ebenfalls ein Traum, der Bandpass ist schön breit und geht sanft zu Werke. Hohe Resonanzwerte führen hingegen zu schrillem Gekreische. – Ein einzigartiges Charaktermodul!

Ansichten

Details

Im Oszillatorbetrieb wird das RK4 mittels Pitch-CV-Eingang nach dem Hz/V-Standard gesteuert. Der Tuning-Regler legt die Stimmung fest, das Resonanz-Potentiometer dient Abwandlungen von Sinus in Richtung Rechteck. Ein weiteres Drehelement justiert die Ausgangslautstärke.

Zur Verwendung als Bandpass-Filter ist ein pegelbarer Audioeingang vorhanden. Das Tuning-Potentiometer bestimmt hier die Grenzfrequenz. Der Pitch-CV-Input kann für Modulationen verwendet werden.

Sonstiges
Zum Spiel des Rk4 wird ein MIDI-CV-Interface benötigt, das Hz/V-Signale ausgeben kann. (Nicht V / Oktave!) Beispiele sind das Metasonix R-60, Kentons Modular Solo oder das Endorphin.es Shuttle Control.
Anschlüsse

Audioeingang und Ausgang
Pitch-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 Teileinheiten breit
Stromverbrauch: 400 mA auf +12 V und 10 mA auf -12V. - Achtung! Während der Aufwärmphase wird knapp das Dreifache verbraucht!

Gewicht
0.106 kg
artikelnr
MTrk4
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 284,87 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 339,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1