MFB Dominion X

Overview

The Dominion X is MFB´s start into a new class of instruments that have a nice stable metal housing with wooden cheeks but in first place have new interesting features. The Dominion X combines analog synthesis with memory as well as patch points for interfacing with CV gear like modular systems. Three oscillators, a new multimode filter and extensive modulation possibilities for the individual oscillators, the filter and the VCA that can be assigned and set easily by rotary switches and coltrols. All this make the Dominion a flexible analog synthesizer.

Views

Details

3 identical VCOs with a very stable tuning due to processor-based temperature control. Each oscillator has triangle, sawtooth, pulse plus a ring modulator and in addition there´s white noise in the mixer section. The symmetry of all waves can be modulated i.e besides the usual pulse width modulation you can blend from sawtooth to triangle or from a triangle to a sine wave. The second and third VCO can be synchronized to the first one. Frequency modulation from VCO3 to VCO1 and 2 is possible as well. All that provides for a very interesting and wide variety of sounds.

The filter is a resonant multimode filter with following selectable characteristics: 12-, 18- and 24dB/octave lowpasses, 12dB highpass, 12dB bandpass and a 6dB notch. Several controllers can modulate the cutoff frequency, not only the usual ADSR, LFO and filter tracking but you can choose the VCOand an external control voltage as modulation source. An audio input routed to the mixer allows you for using the Dominion as a filter bank.

Besides the internal modulations you can modulate the Dominion X by control voltages as well and there are several minijack CV-inputs for controlling the oscillators´ frequencies, gate, oscillator FM, sync, filter cutoff and VCA level.

The internal modulation sources are two ADSR envelopes and two LFOs with each six waveforms (sine, triangle, sawtooth, ramp, square and sampleandhold). Assigning the modulation sources is done pretty easy with rotary switches located directly by the side of the modulation destinations. In addition the first ADSR is pre-routed to the filter cutoff and the second ADSR to the VCA´s level. Assigning the velocity is very flexible as there are 11 modulation destinations available.

There are 128 memory locations for saving your sounds. An insert socket makes it possible to loop-in external effects.

connectors
  • MIDI In, Out und Thru
  • Insert und Audioausgang (6,35mm-Klinke)
  • Eingänge für Frequenz von VCOs 1-3, Gate, FM, Sync, Mixer, Cutoff-CV und VCA-CV (3,5mm Miniklinke)
dimensions

Abmessungen: 330 x 170 x 60mm.  Gewicht 1,2kg

Weight
1 kg
Article Number
MFBdom
External Links

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

MFB Dominon X

Überblick

Der Dominion X ist der bis dato beste und bestklingendste Synthesizer von MFB. Er kombiniert analoge Klangerzeugung mit Speicherbarkeit sowie Patchpunkten zur Einbindung in CV-Umgebungen wie Modularsysteme. Drei Oszillatoren, eine neuartiges Multimodefilter und umfangreiche Modulationen der einzelnen Oszillatoren, des Filters und des VCAs, die über Drehregler schnell und einfach einzustellen sind, machen den Dominion zu einen flexiblen analogen Synthesizer.

Ansichten

Details

3 identische, durch prozessorgesteuerte Temperaturregelung äußerst stimmstabile VCOs. An Wellenformen finden wir Dreieck, Sägezahn, Puls und pro Oszillator je einem Ringmodulator. Zusätzlich zu diesen Wellenformen gibt es im Mischer weißes Rauschen. Die Symmetrie aller Wellenformen kann moduliert werden, sprich neben üblichen Pulsweitenmodulation lässt sich der Sägezahn zum Dreieck überblenden und das Dreieck zum Sinus. Der zweite und der dritte Oszillator können zum ersten synchronisiert werden. Frequenzmodulation von VCO3 auf VCO 1 und 2 ist auch möglich. All das sorgt für eine äußerst interessante und breite Klangpalette.

Das Filter ist ein resonantes Multimodefilter mit folgenden schaltbaren Charakteristiken: 12-, 18- und 24dB/Oktave-Tiefpass, 12dB-Hochpass, 12dB-Bandpass und 6dB-Notch (Bandsperre). Zur Modulation der Cutoff-Frequenz stehen etliche Controller zur Verfügung, nicht nur die übliche Modulation über ADSR, LFO und Keytracking, sondern auch über den VCO und eine externe CV-Spannung.

Neben den internen Modulationen kann man den Dominion auch über Steuerspannungen modulieren. Dazu gibt es in form von Miniklinken CV-Eingänge für die Frequenzen der Oszillatoren, Gate, Oszillator-FM, Sync, Filter-Cutoff und VCA-Pegel. Ein weiterer Eingang dient als externer Audioeingang, der in den Mischer geleitet wird.

An Modulationsquellen finden wir zwei ADSR-Hüllkurven und zwei LFOs mit sechs Wellenformen (Sinus, Dreieck, Sägezahn, Ramp, Rechteck und SampleandHold). Die Zuweisung der Modulationsquellen geschieht ganz einfach über Drehschalter, die sich direkt an den Modulationszielen befinden. Zusätzlich ist die erste ADSR ist fest auf das Filter zugewiesen und die zweite auf den VCA. Sehr flexibel ist die Zuweisung der Anschlagsdynamik, denn es gibt ganze 11 wählbare Modulationsziele.

Es stehen 128 Speicherplätze zum Abspeichern der Klänge zur Verfügung. Ein Insert-Anschluß erlaubt das Einschleifen von Effektgeräten.

Anschlüsse
  • MIDI In, Out und Thru
  • Insert und Audioausgang (6,35mm-Klinke)
  • Eingänge für Frequenz von VCOs 1-3, Gate, FM, Sync, Mixer, Cutoff-CV und VCA-CV (3,5mm Miniklinke)
Abmessungen

Abmessungen: 330 x 170 x 60mm.  Gewicht 1,2kg

Gewicht
1 kg
artikelnr
MFBdom
Externe Links

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.