MODOR - NF-1m

Overview

The NF-1m is a more compact version of the polyphonic digital synthesizer NF-1. It includes all features of its big brother. The structure resembles a virtual analog. However, in terms of sound, the Modor guys go their own way.

The NF-1m is an eight-voice polyphonic digital synthesizer. Thanks to its thought-out synthesis system, this instrument delivers rich sounds ranging from classic to experimental. Besides standard waveforms, the oscillators offer additive and FM synthesis algorithms, filtered noise and a chip tune generator. For processing audio material, there’s not only a -12 dB multimode filter, but a Formant filter with morphing function as well. – Great for producing vocal sounds. The effects section includes a delay and a flanger / chorus. The modulation department is very flexible, thanks to a routing matrix. Subjectively speaking, the biggest highlights are grainy pads, noisy atmospheres, choir sounds, shimmering leads and retro drums.

Views

Details

The NF-1m comes equipped with three identical oscillators, a white noise source and a ring modulator (Osc 2 x Osc 3). A mixer allows users to combine all signals generated by the synthesizer.

Oscillators:
The oscillators feature coarse and fine tune parameters. Additionally, the modulation intensity of LFO and envelope can be edited. Ten waveforms respectively synthesis algorithms are available. The functionality of the Mod parameter differs from algorithm to algorithm. The NF-1m features the following waveforms respectively types of synthesis:

  • Three standard waves: Saw, triangle and pulse. The Mod parameter controls wave shaping or pulse width.
  • SYNC OSC: Generates a synchronized square wave with decaying amplitude. The Mod parameter determines the frequency of the sync oscillator.
  • ADD: Additive algorithm. With the Mod parameter, users can set the distance between the harmonics.
  • SONAR: White noise, processed by a bandpass filter. The Mod parameter controls the filter resonance. Thanks to key tracking, the Bandpass follows the pitch of incoming note data.
  • WND: Wind-like, tonal noise. The Mod parameter controls the cutoff frequency of a high-pass filter.
  • ARC: A chip tune generator, great for creating drums reminiscent of old video games. Again, the Mod parameter controls the cutoff frequency of a high-pass filter.
  • FM: 2-operator sine FM. Operator 1 modulates operator 2. The Mod parameter determines the FM intensity.
  • FBFM: 2 operator sine FM with feedback. Operator 1 modulates itself plus operator 2. The Mod parameter sets the FM intensity.

The Mod parameter can be influenced via LFO1 and all three envelopes. While one of the FM algorithms is active, the FM Modulator and FM Carrier menu entries can be used to set the operators’ frequency ratios.

Filter:
The NF-1 comes equipped with two completely different filters, which can be wired in parallel or in series.

  • The first filter is a resonant multimode filter with a slope of -12 dB per octave. It features low-pass, band-pass, high-pass and notch modes. The resonance goes up to self-oscillation. The filter is followed by a great sounding distortion, which provides an aggressive, slightly 303-ish character.
  • The second filter features a rather unusual design. It is a formant filter, adding a vocal character to sounds by emphasizing certain harmonics, the so-called formants. It is awesome for pad sounds and for creating “choir” sounds. Combined with the integrated delay effect (see below), it produces funny speech sounds. Ten vocal settings with different formants are available. The programs can be arranged in groups of three.

Effects:
The NF-1 is equipped with two effect generators, a chorus / flanger and a delay, both with individual control elements and dry / wet knobs.

  • The chorus / flanger is a delay-based comb filter. A LFO with adjustable modulation depth and speed is used to get the filter moving. The feedback control can add classic or inverted, very odd sounding feedback.
  • The delay offers a maximum time value of 750 milliseconds, feedback and a -12 dB low pass filter for damping high frequencies. It can be synchronized to an incoming MIDI clock.

Modulations:
The modulation department consists of three LFOs, a sample & hold generator and four ADSR-like envelopes with some additional features.

  • LFO1 offers four waveforms (triangle, saw, square and sine). It is routed to the oscillators’ Mod parameters. In high-speed mode, the LFO can oscillate in the audio range.
  • LFO2 comes equipped with the same features as LFO1, but is routed to the cutoff frequency of the multimode filter and the morph parameter of the formant filter. It can be synchronized to a MIDI clock.
  • LFO3 is a global triangle LFO whose amplitude can be altered via the modulation wheel.
  • The sample & hold generator’s frequency can be controlled independently of the LFOs. It is possible to smooth S&H values to avoid drastic parameter changes.
  • The envelopes go far beyond the capabilities of typical ADSR modulators. – They could be described as multi-stage envelopes. L1 sets the modulators maximum level. The decay is split into two stages, which can be edited via the time parameters T2 and T3 as well as the level parameter L2. As with the oscillators, it is possible to edit several envelopes at once. The envelopes are pre-wired to the following parameters.
    • ENV1: Pitch and Mod parameter of the first oscillator
    • ENV2: Filter cutoff and Mod parameter of the second oscillator
    • ENV3: Formant morph and Mod parameter of the third oscillator
    • ENV4: Amplitude

Additionally to the routings described above, there is a matrix for doing other connections between modulation sources and targets. Several hundred sounds can be saved. All parameters are not only accessible on the device, but can also be controlled via MIDI.

connectors

Input for external 9V DC power supply
MIDI: In, Out, Thru
USB-MIDI port
Two audio outputs (L / R)
Pedal input
Sustain pedal input

dimensions

Desktop unit
Width: 248 mm
Height: 70 mm
Depth: 120 mm

Weight
3.0 kg
Article Number
MODnf1m
availability ? will be ordered on request
€ 19% VAT excl. €503.36 € 19% VAT incl. €599.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

MODOR - NF-1m

Überblick

Der NF-1m ist die Kompaktversion des polyphonen Digitalsynthesizers NF-1. Alle Features des großen Bruders sind enthalten. Die Struktur ähnelt einem Virtuell-Analogen, klanglich geht Modor aber ganz eigene Wege.

Der NF-1m ist ein achtstimmig polyphoner Digital-Synthesizer mit grandiosem, bisweilen experimentellem Klang. Die Oszillatoren bieten nicht nur Standardwellen, sondern auch additive und FM-Synthese, gefiltertes Rauschen und einen Chip-Tune-Generator. Zum -12 dB Multimode-Filter gesellt sich ein einzigartiges Formant-Filter mit Morphing-Funktion, das speziell Flächen eine interessante Note verleiht und Vocal-Sounds erzeugen kann. An Effekten gibt es Delay und Flanger/Chorus. Die Modulationsabteilung ist, dank Routing-Matrix, sehr leistungsfähig. Subjektive Highlights sind röchelnde, körnige Pads und verrauschte Atmosphären, Chorsounds, schillernde Leads und Retro-Drums.

Ansichten

Details

Die Klangerzeugung des NF-1m besteht aus drei identisch aufgebauten Oszillatoren, einem Rauschgenerator (weißes Rauschen) und einem Ringmodulator (Osc2 x Osc3), die in der Oscillator Mix-Sektion gemischt werden.

Oszillatoren:
Die Oszillatoren können einzeln oder gemeinsam editiert werden. Im Detail gibt es Parameter für grobes und feines Tuning sowie zur Einstellung der Modulationsintensität von LFO und Hüllkurve. Zehn Wellen- beziehungsweise Syntheseformen stehen zur Auswahl. Der Mod-Parameter besitzt, je nach gewähltem Algorithmus, eine andere Funktion. Im Detail sind folgende Wellen- beziehungsweise Syntheseformen im NF-1 enthalten:

  • Drei Standardwellen: Sägezahn, Dreieck, Puls. Per Mod-Parameter kann man Wave-Shaping beziehungsweise PWM kontrollieren.
  • SYNC OSC: Erzeugt eine synchronisierte Rechteckwelle mit abfallender Amplitude. Der Mod-Parameter bestimmt die Frequenz des Sync-Oszillators.
  • ADD: Erzeugt additive Obertöne. Der Mod-Parameter bestimmt den Abstand zwischen den Obertönen.
  • SONAR: Mittels Bandpassfilter prozessiertes, weißes Rauschen. Der Mod-Parameter bestimmt die Filterresonanz. Der Bandpass folgt der gespielten Tonhöhe.
  • WND: Windartiges, tonales Rauschen. Mit dem Mod-Parameter kann die Frequenz eines nachgeschalteten Hochpassfilters verändert werden.
  • ARC: Chip-Tune-Generator, super für Videospiel-Drums. Mit dem Mod-Parameter kann man auch hier ein Hochpassfilter zum Einsatz bringen.
  • FM: Sinus-FM-Synthese mit zwei Operatoren. Der erste Oszillator moduliert den zweiten Oszillator. Per Mod-Parameter kann die FM-Intensität bestimmt werden.
  • FBFM: Sinus-FM-Synthese mit zwei Operatoren und Feedback. Der erste Oszillator moduliert nicht nur den zweiten Oszillator, sondern auch sich selbst.  Per Mod-Parameter kann die FM-Intensität bestimmt werden.

Mod kann von LFO1 und den Hüllkurven 1-3 (siehe unten) moduliert werden. Bei den FM-Wellenformen selektieren "FM Modulator" und "FM Carrier" die Frequenzverhältnisse und erleichtern die Programmierung der FM.

Filter:
Es gibt zwei gänzlich verschiedene Filtertypen, die man in Parallel- oder Reihenschaltung betreiben kann.

  • Das erste Filter ist ein resonantes Multimodefilter mit einer Flankensteilheit von -12 dB pro Oktave. Es bietet die Charakteristika Tiefpass, Bandpass, Hochpass und Kerbe. Die Resonanz reicht bis zur Selbstoszillation. Sehr schön: Hinter dem Filter befindet sich eine regelbare Drive-Stufe, die Audiomaterial verzerrt und einen aggressiven, manchmal an eine 303 erinnernden Klang hat.
  • Das zweite Filter ist recht ungewöhnlich. Es handelt sich um ein Formant-Filter, dass dem Klang durch die Betonung spezieller Obertonbereiche, den Formanten, einen vokalen Charakter verleiht. Es macht sich speziell bei Flächen gut, ist aber auch zur Erstellung von Chor-Sounds cool. In Kombination mit dem integrierten Delay (siehe unten) produziert es lustige Sprachklänge. Zehn vorgefertigte Vokale mit unterschiedlichen Frequenzen stehen zur Verfügung, die in Slots zu je drei Stück beliebig kombiniert werden können.

Effekte:
Der NF-1 verfügt über zwei Effektgeneratoren, im Detail einen Chorus beziehungsweise Flanger und ein Delay.

  • Der Chorus / Flanger ist ein Delay-basiertes Kammfilter und hat einen integrierten LFO mit einstellbarer Modulationstiefe sowie Geschwindigkeit, welcher den Zeitwert des Effektes moduliert. Der Feedback-Parameter hat seine Nullstellung in der Mitte. Links- oder Rechtsdrehungen führen zu normalem beziehungsweise negativem Feedback. – Letztere Option sorgt für seltsame, unmusikalische Klänge.
  • Das Delay bietet eine maximale Verzögerungszeit von ca. 750 Millisekunden, Feedback und ein -12 dB Tiefpassfilter. Es kann auf Knopfdruck zur MIDI-Clock synchronisiert werden.

Modulationen:
Diese Abteilung setzt sich aus drei LFOs, einem Sample-and-Hold-Generator und vier ADSR-Hüllkurven mit weiterführenden Parametern zusammen.

  • LFO1 stellt vier Wellenformen zur Auswahl, im Einzelnen Dreieck, Sägezahn, Rechteck und Sinus. Der Modulator ist fest auf den Mod-Parameter in der Oszillator-Sektion geroutet. Im High-Speed-Modus reicht er bis weit in den Audiobereich hinein.
  • LFO2 besitzt den gleichen Funktionsumfang wie die erste Instanz, ist allerdings mit der Grenzfrequenz des Multimode-Filters und dem Formant-Morph-Parameter verschaltet. Zudem kann dieser LFO per MIDI-Clock synchronisiert werden.
  • LFO3 ist ein globaler Dreieck-LFO, dessen Amplitude per Modulationsrad bestimmt wird.
  • Die Frequenz des Sample-and-Hold-Generators ist unabhängig von den LFOs regelbar. S&H-Werte können auch geglättet ausgegeben werden, um harte Parametersprünge zu vermeiden.
  • Die Hüllkurven gehen weit über die Fähigkeiten eines typischen ADSR-Modulators hinaus. – Es sind eher Multistage-Hüllkurven. Der Maximalpegel wird mit L1 eingestellt, das Decay ist zweigeteilt und wird mit den Zeitparametern T2 und T3 sowie dem Pegelparameter L2 bestimmt.

    Die Hüllkurven sind bestimmten Parametern zugewiesen:
  • ENV1: Pitch und MOD-Parameter von OSC1
  • ENV2: Filtercutoff und MOD-Parameter von OSC2
  • ENV3: Formant-Morph und MOD-Parameter von OSC3
  • ENV4: Lautstärke

Für weitere Verbindungen von Modulationsquellen und Zielen gibt es eine Routingmatrix. Fertige Sounds lassen sich auf mehreren hundert Speicherplätzen ablegen. Sämtliche Parameter sind nicht nur am Gerät erreichbar, sondern können auch via MIDI gesteuert werden.

Anschlüsse

Eingang für externes 9V DC-Netzteil
MIDI-DIN: In, Out, Thru
USB-MIDI
Zwei Audioausgänge: Links + Rechts
Pedal-Eingang
Sustain-Pedal-Eingang

Abmessungen

Tischgehäuse
Breite: 248 mm
Höhe: 70 mm
Tiefe: 120 mm

Gewicht
3.0 kg
artikelnr
MODnf1m
Externe Links
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 503,36 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 599,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag