Møffenzeef Mødular - Intensifies

Overview

A really beautiful - beautifully dirty effect box! Intensifies offers analog sample rate reduction, distortion, amplitude modulation of the internal clock and a Noise Synth on the side. Sounds like …signal destruction. But we find the term "signal texturing" more appropriate.

Views

Details

The Intensifies is quite unusual in any case. The statement of the manufacturer "No! It's not a guitar pedal!" is also not of much help. To avoid confusion, we would like to try to describe the "ingredients" first.

On the one hand there are:

A line level input with powerful, fixed gain and adjustable distortion, a sample-and-hold-based "sample rate reducer" clocked by an oscillator (called carrier), and a square-wave modulation oscillator that can act on the volume of the carrier. This section is also called FX. It has its own adjustable output and can be bypassed completely with the bypass switch.

And on the other hand we have:

The section called Noise Synth also has its own adjustable output. Despite these sections having their own outputs - which is useful for further processing the signals with effects - you will quickly notice that they are inseparably intertwined. The pitch of the noise synth is controlled by two photocells. BUT: The signals of both photocells are always compared with the modulation oscillator AND the carrier oscillator. And the amplitude of the strongest signal of these four is used to control the pitch (this is called a MAX or OR circuit). The behaviour of carrier and modulator hence binds the FX and the noise synth section together.

Already after a relatively short time you might be "Intensified". I.e. you learned that this module is not only for brutal noise, but also for a huge variety of shades and textures. The scratchy, rough aliasing sounds of the FX section combine in a unique way with the electronic, square wave-based beeps and hums of the Noise Synth. The control by the photocells is far from accurate pitch control. That's not the idea of Intensifies. Rather, they can be used to "intervene" in the resulting timbres.

Thanks to the very high level of the outputs, the Intensifies can be directly integrated into a modular system.

We would like to recommend the sound demos of the manufacturer, which give a good (slightly melancholic) impression of the character of the Intensifies.

Features:

  • analog sample rate reduction
  • analog distortion
  • amplitude modulation of sample rate clock
  • true bypass
  • dual light controlled oscillators
  • hot outputs (~12vpp max!)
  • 100% analog signal path
miscellaneous

Intensifies is powered by a 9V DC wall wart. (Included in delivery.)

connectors
Input
FX audio output
Synth audio output
Weight
0.4 kg
Article Number
MOFint
External Links
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €234.45 € 19% VAT incl. €279.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 2-3 Tage

Møffenzeef Mødular - Intensifies

Überblick

Eine wirklich schöne – schön-schmutzige Effektbox! Intensifies bietet analoge Sampleratenreduktion, Verzerrung, Amplitudenmodulationen der internen Clock und einen Noise Synth als Begleitung. Klingt nach Signalzerstörung. Wir finden aber den Begriff „Signal-Texturierung“ passender.

Ansichten

Details

Ziemlich ungewöhnlich ist der Intensifies auf jeden Fall. Die Aussage vom Hersteller „No! It’s not a guitar pedal!“ ist auch nicht gerade weiterführend. Um Verwirrungen zu vermeiden, möchten wir erst einmal versuchen die „Zutaten“ zu beschreiben.

Es gibt zum einen:

Einen Line-Pegel-Eingang mit kräftiger, fest eingestellter Verstärkung und regelbarer Verzerrung, ein Sample-and-Hold-basierter "Sample Rate Reducer", der von einem Carrier genannten Oszillator geclockt wird, und ein Rechtec- Modulationsoszillator, der auf die Lautstärke des Carriers geht. Diese Sektion wird auch als FX bezeichnet. Sie hat einen eigenen, regelbaren Ausgang und kann mit dem Bypass Schalter auch komplett umgangen werden.

Und zum anderen:

Auch die Noise Synth genannte Sektion hat einen eigenen, regelbaren Ausgang. Ihr werdet aber merken, dass diese Sektionen zwar eigene Ausgänge haben – was praktisch ist, um die Signale mit Effekten weiter zu bearbeiten – aber auch untrennbar miteinander verwachsen sind. Die Tonhöhe des Noise Synth wird von den Photozellen gesteuert. ABER: Die Signale beider Photozellen werden immer mit dem des Modulationsoszillators UND dem des Carrieroszillators verglichen. Und es wird immer die Amplitude des jeweils stärksten Signals herangezogen, um die Tonhöhe zu steuern (Diese Schaltung nennt sich auch MAX oder (analog) OR). Das Verhalten von Carrier und Modulator verbindet also die FX und die Noise Synth Sektion.

Nach kurzer Einarbeitungszeit ist man dann „Intensified“. D.h. man lernt, dass dieses Modul nicht nur für brutalen Krach da ist, sondern eine Vielzahl von Schattierungen und Texturierungen ermöglicht. Vor allem, wenn man den Noise Synth und die FX Sektion als Tandem bereift: Die kratzigen, rauhen Aliasing-Sounds der FX Sektion verbinden sich auf eine einzigartige Weise mit den elektronischen, Rechteckwellen-basierten Fiepen und Brummen des Noise Synth. Die Steuerung durch die Photozellen ist ganz weit entfernt von akkurater Tonhöhenkontrolle. Das ist ja auch gar nicht die Idee des Intensifies. Vielmehr kann man mit ihnen in die entstehenden Klangfarben „reingreifen“.

Dank des sehr hohen Levels der Ausgänge, lässt sich der Intensifies ohne Umweg direkt auch in ein Modularsystem einbinden.

Wir verweisen weiter unten auf die Sound Demos des Herstellers, die einen guten (leicht melancholischen) Eindruck vom Charakter des Intensifies geben.

 

Funktionen:

  • analoge Abtastratenreduzierung
  • analoge Verzerrung
  • Amplitudenmodulation des Abtastratentaktes
  • True Bypass
  • zwei lichtgesteuerte Oszillatoren
  • hoher Pegel (~12vpp max!)
  • 100% analoger Signalweg
Sonstiges

Intensifies wird von einem 9V-DC-Netzteil mit Strom versorgt. (Im Lieferumfang enthalten.)
Polarität: Plus außen, Minus innen.

Anschlüsse
Input
FX-Audioausgang
Synth-Audioausgang
Gewicht
0.4 kg
artikelnr
MOFint
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 234,45 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 279,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 2-3 Tage