Moog Grandmother

Overview

With Grandmother, the legendary synthesizer manufacturer Moog is returning to its roots. Many of the circuits in this colourful, semi-modular instrument are based on Minimoog and Moog Modular designs. Grandmother is composed of two VCOs, mixer, transistor ladder low-pass plus high-pass filter, VCA and a spring reverb. Modulators include an envelope and an LFO. On top of that, arpeggiator and sequencer circuits were implemented. 41 connectors, including bipolar attenuators and a multiple, guarantee intuitive patch experiences. - What about Grandma's sound? Deliciously analog with a pleasant vintage flair, complemented by the rattling spring reverb.

Views

Details

While the Phatty series has a rather incisive, modern character, the Grandmother focuses on pleasant, fat sounds with a classic flair. Audio signals are generated by two oscillators based on the Minimoog. In addition to controls for waveform selection and tuning, there is a hard-sync option. The VCOs are followed by a CP3-style mixer. Results are fed into a classic transistor ladder low-pass based on the Moog 904 module. Its slope is -24 dB per octave, the sound is huge. A cutoff frequency potentiometer allows you to sweep from 10 Hz to 20 kHz. The resonance goes up to whistling self-oscillation. In addition, a -6 dB high-pass was implemented. The filters are followed by a VCA based on the Moog 902 module. But that's not all! There's also a copy of the 905 spring reverb. Its sound is metallic and very gentle. If you slap Grandmother a little, you get rattling percussion effects.

On the modulators side of things you will find an ADSR envelope (Moog 911) with sustain fader and an LFO. The latter reaches into the audio range. In addition, two bipolar attenuators and a multiple with four connectors are available. For playing the Grandmother, you will find a 32-key Fatar keyboard with velocity. Additionally, there are pitch and mod wheels. There is also an arpeggiator and a sequencer. The latter can hold three patterns with up to 256 notes each.

Of course, even Grandmother cannot live without technological progress. There are MIDI DIN sockets and even USB-MIDI. For the connection of guitars, drum computers and the like, a 6.3 mm jack socket was installed.

As a semi-modular synthesizer, most components are hardwired. Thus, you can just hit the keys and enjoy. However, many of the normalizations can be broken using patch cables. A total of 41 modular sockets is available for sound experiments. In detail, 21 inputs and 16 outputs were built-in. Combining Grandmother with modular equipment is not a problem, of course.

miscellaneous
An external 12 V power supply is included. (Tip = positive / Ring = negative)
connectors

21 patch inputs
16 patch outputs
Multiple with four connectors
6,3 mm jack input and output
MIDI DIN input, output and Thru connector
USB port

dimensions
55 x 36 x 14 centimeters
Weight
7.25 kg
Article Number
EMCMgm
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €822.69 € 19% VAT incl. €979.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Moog Grandmother

Überblick

Mit der Großmutter möchte Kulthersteller Moog zu seinen Wurzeln zurückkehren. Viele Schaltungen des bunten, semimodularen Instrumentes basieren auf Minimoog und Moog Modular. Die Klangerzeugung setzt sich aus zwei VCOs, Mixer, Ladder-Tiefpass plus Hochpassfilter, VCA und Hallfedern zusammen. An Modulatoren gibt es eine Hüllkurve und einen LFO. Obendrauf wurden ein Arpeggiator und ein Sequenzer implementiert. 41 Buchsen, bipolare Abschwächer und ein Multiple garantieren intuitives Patch-Vergnügen. Und Großmutters Sound? – Köstlich analog mit wohligem Vintage-Flair, ergänzt um scheppernden Federhall.

Ansichten

Details

Während die Phatty-Serie einen eher treibenden, modernen Charakter besitzt, stehen bei Großmutter wohlwollend-fette Klänge mit klassischem Flair im Vordergrund. Audiosignale werden von zwei Oszillatoren nach Minimoog-Vorbild generiert. Neben Bedienelementen zur Wellenformauswahl und Stimmung gibt es eine Hard-Sync-Option. Nachfolgend steht ein Mixer mit CP3-Design im Signalweg. Danach geht es in ein zeitloses, auf dem Moog 904-Modul basierendes Ladder-Tiefpass-Filter. Die Flankensteilheit liegt bei -24 dB pro Oktave. Der Sound ist typisch fett. Das Grenzfrequenz-Potentiometer erlaubt Filter-Sweeps von 10 Hz bis 20 kHz. Die Resonanz reicht bis zu pfeifender Selbstoszillation. Ergänzend ist, quasi für den Feinschliff, ein -6 dB Hochpass anzutreffen. Anschließend folgt ein VCA nach Modular-Vorbild (Moog 902). Damit aber nicht genug! Es gibt noch eine Kopie des 905er Federhalls. Der Sound ist metallisch-sanft.Gibt man der Großmutter einen kleinen Klaps, scheppert es.

An Modulatoren finden sich eine ADSR-Hüllkurve (Moog 911) mit Sustain-Fader und ein LFO. Letzterer dringt bis in den Audiobereich vor. Ergänzend sind zwei bipolare Abschwächer und ein vierfaches Multiple vorhanden. Zum Spiel steht eine 32 Tasten umfassende Fatar-Klaviatur mit Anschlagdynamik bereit. Ferner sind Pitch- und Mod-Räder an Bord. Darüber hinaus gibt es einen Arpeggiator und einen Sequenzer. Letzterer kann drei Pattern mit jeweils 256 Noten festhalten.

So ganz ohne technologischen Fortschritt kommt natürlich auch die Großmutter nicht aus. – Es gibt ein MIDI-DIN-Trio und sogar USB-MIDI. Zum Anschluss von Gitarre, Drum-Computer und dergleichen wurde eine 6,3 mm Klinkenbuchse verbaut.

Als semi-modularer Synthesizer sind die meisten Bestandteile verdrahtet. Man kann also direkt in die Tasten hauen und genießen. Viele der Normalisierungen lassen sich allerdings mittels Patch-Kabeln aufbrechen. Insgesamt 41 Modular-Buchsen stehen für Klangexperimente bereit. Sie teilen sich in 21 Eingänge und 16 Signalabgriffe auf. Die Kombination mit gängigem Modular-Equipment ist natürlich kein Problem.

Sonstiges
Die Stromversorgung erfolgt per mitgeliefertem 12V-Netzteil. (Polung: Spitze = Positiv / Ring = Negativ)
Anschlüsse

21 Patch-Eingänge
16 Patch-Ausgänge
Vierfaches Multiple
6,3 mm Audioeingang und Ausgang
MIDI-DIN-Eingang, Ausgang und Thru-Weg
USB-Port

Abmessungen
55 mal 36 mal 14 Zentimeter
Gewicht
7.25 kg
artikelnr
EMCMgm
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 822,69 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 979,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag