Moog Matriarch

Overview

The Moog family saga continues. Today we get to know the head of the family: The powerful Matriarch Synthesizer. Moog compiles within tis synth a "Best of" of his circuits to an impressive up to four-voice paraphonic synthesizer! The oscillator design comes from the Minimoog, the mixer is the well-known fat and saturating CP3. The stereo filter, the envelopes and the VCAs also come from the Moog Modular, while the Analog Delay is based on the Moggerfooger MF-104M. The signal routing is completely analogue and in stereo throughout.

Details

This synth is very colourful and this is definitely a matter of taste. But this provides a very good overview, which is absolutely necessary, because there are over 90 patch sockets on the control panel!

The Matriarch’s normalization / "pre-cabling" is designed in a way so that you can start immediately - without patching. The arrangement of the modules and the signal routing follows familiar concepts.

Sound generation:

The core of the sound generation is in the middle: Beside the four oscillators is a six-channel mixer, followed by a dual filter (parallel - HP/LP, stereo - LP/LP, serial - HP/LP), a utility section (see below) and an analogue dual ADSR. The final VCA is quite logically on the far right!

So there are:

  • Four oscillators with triangle, sawtooth, pulse wave. With additional linear frequency modulation and synchronizable with each other (2-3-4).
  • Mixer based on the Moog CP3. It is DC-coupled, so it can also process CVs and has six channels. One of them is intended for the integration of external signals and is connected to the 6.35mm mono jack socket on the rear of the unit.
  • A dual highpass and lowpass filter based on the 904A module from the large Moog Modular.  It can be connected in series or parallel and can therefore also be used as a stereo filter.
  • Analog full Dual ADSR with End of Gate output. Pre-patched to filter and VCA.
  • Analog dual VCA with 6.35mm / line level controls for the main outputs on the rear panel, 3.5mm Eurorack level and headphone jack with separate volume control. In the VCA section you can switch between mono, duo and paraphonic playing.

Modulation sources:

To the left of the oscillators are modulation sources: A generously equipped LFO with six waveforms and keyboard control with arpeggiator and sequencer functionality. The keyboard is a 49 keys (four octaves) keyboard by Fatar with velocity and aftertouch. At the bottom left you can see the playing aids: Pitch and modulation wheel, as well as a control for the portamento time. The arpeggiator is simple but effective: Order, Forward/Backward, Random are available as playback modes. The sequencer can record up to 256 steps. Supporting polyphony with up to four notes per step.

These modulation sources are supported by a utility section with two CV-controllable attenuators/inverters (aka ring modulators). The fact that these are (modulation) VCAs/ring modulators allows very complex sound developments! A second utility section with only one ring modulator and (simple) LFO instead, is located between the filter and the dual envelope. This LFO is intended for the modulation of e.g. delay, filter and VCA. In both utility sections there is an unbuffered 4x multiple in the upper part to split signals.

Delay effect:

The VCA (far right) is preceded by the delay, which is stereo and based on vintage Bucket Brigade Delay chips. Due to the limitations of these chips, the delay time is limited to 700ms. But it's exactly the medium-length and very short times where this delay really shines. Either in parallel / stereo mode or as a jumping ping-pong delay.

As mentioned patching is not needed to bring the Moog Matriarch to live. But it is hugely rewarded with impressive, astonishing and unheard of sounds!

miscellaneous
Power supply included in delivery.
Supplied plug-in power supply 12VDC (tip = positive), 2A, 100V-240VAC, 50/60Hz
connectors
Inputs:
On the control panel: 3.5mm: 49 + 2*4 parallel multiples
Rear panel: 6.35mm: mono input / line level, sustain and expression pedal inputs
Outputs:
On the control panel, 3.5mm: 33
Rear panel. 2*3.5mm main output / Eurorack level, 2*3.5mm delay output / Eurorack level, 2*6.35mm mono / line level, 6.35mm stereo headphone jack
MIDI I/O: In/Out/Thru (5-pin), MIDI/USB
dimensions
81,3cm x 36,2cm x 14cm (W/D/H)
Weight
12,0 kg
Article Number
EMCMmat
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €1,879.83 € 19% VAT incl. €2,237.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Moog Matriarch

Überblick

Die Moog Familiensaga geht weiter. Heute lernen wir das Oberhaupt kennen: Den wuchtigen Matriarch Synthesizer. Moog kompiliert im Matriarch ein „Best of“ seiner Schaltungen zu einem beeindruckenden bis zu vierstimmig paraphonen Synthesizer! Das Oszillator Design entstammt dabei dem Minimoog, der Mixer ist der bekannte, fett saturierende CP3. Auch das Stereo-Filter, die Hüllkurven und die VCAs entstammen dem Moog Modular, während das Analog Delay an das Moggerfooger MF-104M angelehnt ist. Die Signalführung ist dabei komplett analog und durchgehend in Stereo ausgelegt!

Details

Die Farbgebung ist sehr knallig und definitiv Geschmackssache. Sie sorgt aber für eine sehr gute Übersicht. Diese ist absolut notwendig, denn auf dem Bedienfeld des Geräts befinden sich über 90 Patch-Buchsen! Der Matriarch ist mit seinen Normalisierungen / „Vorverkabelungen“ aber so angelegt, dass man sofort ohne Patchen loslegen kann.

Die Anordnung der Module und die Signalführung folgt bekannten Konzepten.

Klangerzeugung:

Der Kern der Klangerzeugung befindet sich in der Mitte: Neben den 4 Oszillatoren ist ein sechs-kanaliger Mischer, gefolgt von einem Dual-Filter (parallel - HP/LP, stereo - LP/LP, seriell - HP/LP), einer Utility Sektion (s.u.) und einer analogen Dual-ADSR. Der abschließende VCA ist logischerweise ganz rechts!

Zusammengefasst:

  • vier Oszillatoren mit Dreieck, Sägezahn, Pulswelle. Mit zusätzlicher linearer Frequenzmodulation und untereinander synchronisierbar (2-3-4).
  • Auf dem Moog CP3 basierender Mischer. Er ist gleichspannungsgekoppelt, kann also auch CVs verarbeiten und hat sechs Kanäle. Einer davon ist für die Integration externer Signale vorgesehen und mit der 6.35mm Mono-Klinkenbuchse an der Geräterückseite verbunden.
  • Ein Dual Filter mit Highpass und Lowpass, welches auf dem 904A Modul aus dem großen Moog Modular basiert.  Es kann seriell oder paralell verschaltet werden und somit auch als Stereo Filter benutzt werden.
  • Analoge vollwertige Dual ADSR mit „End of“ Gate-Ausgang. Vorgepatcht auf Filter und VCA.
  • Analoger Dual VCA mit Regler für die Hauptausgänge hinten am Gerät in 6.35mm / Line-Pegel, 3.5mm Eurorack-Pegel und Kopfhörerbuchse mit separater Lautstärkeregelung. In der VCA Sektion lässt sich per Schalter zwischen mono-, duo- und paraphoner Spielweise umschalten.

Modulationsquellen:

Links von den Oszillatoren finden sich Modulationsquellen: Ein großzügig ausgestatteter LFO mit sechs Wellenformen und die Keyboardsteuerung mit Arpeggiator und Sequenzer Funktionalität. Das Keyboard ist übrigens eine 49 Tasten (4 Oktaven) Tastatur von Fatar mit Velocity und Aftertouch. Links unten sind die Spielhilfen versammelt: Pitch- und Modulations-Rad, sowie ein Regler für die Portamento-Zeit. Der Arpeggiator ist simpel, aber effektiv: Order, Forward/Backward, Random stehen als Abspielmodi zur Verfügung. Der Sequenzer wiederum kann bis zu 256 Schritte aufnehmen. Polyphon mit bis zu vier Noten pro Schritt.

Unterstützt werden diese von einer Utility-Sektion mit zwei CV-kontrollierbaren Abschwächern/Invertern (aka Ringmodulatoren). Der Umstand, dass es sich um (Modulations-)VCAs/Ringmodulatoren handelt, erlaubt sehr komplexe Klangentwicklungen! Eine zweite Utility Sektion mit nur einem Ringmodulator, dafür aber einem (einfacher) ausgestatteten LFO, befindet sich zwischen dem Filter und der Dual Hüllkurve. Dieser LFO ist für die Modulation von z.B. Delay, Filter und VCA vorgesehen. In beiden Utility-Sektionen befindet sich im oberen Teil je ein ungepuffertes 4er Multiple um Signale aufzuteilen.

Delay-Effekt:

Dem VCA (ganz rechts) vorgelagert ist das Delay, welches in Stereo ausgeführt ist und auf wiederaufgelegten vintage Bucket Brigade Delay Chips basiert. Bedingt durch diese Technik ist die Delayzeit auf 700ms beschränkt. Es sind aber genau die mittellangen und vor allem sehr kurzen Zeiten, bei denen dieses Delay voll seine Stärken ausspielen kann. Entweder in parallell stereo oder als hin- und herspringendes Ping-Pong-Delay.

Patchen ist nicht notwendig um den Moog Matriarch zum Leben zu erwecken. Es wird aber mit schier unendlichen und wirklich ungehörten Klängen belohnt!

Sonstiges
Netzteil im Lieferumfang enthalten.
Mitgeliefertes Steckernetzteil 12VDC (Spitze = Pluspol), 2A, 100V-240VAC, 50/60Hz
verschraubbarer Stecker
Anschlüsse
Eingänge:
Auf dem Bedienfeld: 3.5mm: 49 + 2*4 parallele Multiples
Geräterückseite: 6.35mm: Mono-Eingang / Line-Pegel, Sustain- und Expression-Pedal-Eingänge
Ausgänge:
Auf dem Bedienfeld, 3.5mm: 33
Geräterückseite. 2*3.5mm Hauptausgang / Eurorack-Pegel, 2*3.5mm Delay-Ausgang / Eurorack-Pegel, 2*6.35mm Mono / Line-Pegel, 6.35mm Stereo Kopfhörer-Buchse
MIDI I/O: In/Out/Thru (5-Pol), MIDI/USB
Abmessungen
81,3cm x 36,2cm x 14cm (B/T/H)
Gewicht
12,0 kg
artikelnr
EMCMmat
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 1.879,83 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 2.237,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag