Moonmodular 505 Multi Mode Filter

Overview

A really fantastic sounding State Variable multi mode fiter with voltage controllable resonance, equipped with individual outputs for each filter type. A further output emits a mix of different filter types between which you can blend smoothly, eben using control voltages.
Having tested it at NAMM 2016 we are truly impressed by the outstanding sonic quality of this module.

Details

Being a classic multimode filter module with a State Variable topography the 505 has individual outputs for each filter type:

  • low pass with a slope of -12dB per octave
  • band pass with -12dB/oct
  • high pass with -12dB/oct
  • notch with -6db/oct
As fifth outputs the mixed Signal Out can be found which has a special feature: it emits a filter mixture which is set with the Filter mode potentiometer, a continuous fade from low pass over band pass to high pass. This crossfade can happen under voltage control as well, using the mode Control input.

Cutoff and resonance (here: regeneration) both are voltage controllable. Each parameter has two inputs: a direct one and the other using a polarizer for attenuation.The scaleable cutoff input intentionally tracks ith 0.5 V per octave only, making possible to achieve full modualtion with "lower" voltages.

miscellaneous

As the 505 is equipped with one audio input only we advice to use a Moonmodular 526 Reversible Mixer before the 505 because it gives you the possibility to set both level and phase of the inputs.
This is recommended when patching the individual outputs (or the Mixed output) back to the input, as this experimental procedure will result not only in creating new filter types but also in brute feedbacks.

connectors

audio: signal input
outputs: low pass output, high pass out, band pass out, notch out, mixed signal out

CV inputs: 2x Cutoff in, 2x Resonance in, Mode Control in

dimensions

5U module in Moog form factor, two units wide

Weight
0.6 kg
Article Number
MM505
External Links
availability ? shortly avaliable
€ 19% VAT excl. €242.86 € 19% VAT incl. €289.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Moonmodular 505 Multi Mode Filter

Überblick

Ein wirklich fantastisch klingendes State-Variable Multimode-Filter mit spannungssteuerbarer Resonanz, welches über Einzelausgänge für vier Filterypen verfügt. Ein weiterer Ausgang greift eine Mischung verschiedener Filtertypen zwischen denen stufenlos übergeblendet werden kann.
Nach einem Test auf der NAMM 2016 sind wir von den klanglichen Qualitäten dieses Moduls wirklich beeindruckt.

Details

Nach klassischer Manier eines Multimoder-Filter-Moduls mit State-Variable-Topologie hat auch das 505-Modul Einzelausgänge für jeden Filtertyp:

  • Tiefpass mit -12 dB pro Oktave Flankensteilheit
  • Bandpass mit -12 dB/Oktave
  • Hochpass mit -12 dB/Oktave
  • Notch mit -6 dB/Oktave
Als fünften Ausgang finden wir den Mixed Signal Out, der mit einer Besonderheit aufwartet: er gibt die Filtermischung aus, die mit dem Filter Mode-Potentiometer eingestellt wird, eine stufenlose Überblendung von Tiefpass über Bandsperre zu Hochpass. Dieses Überblenden kann über den Mode control-Eingang ebenfalls spannungsgesteuert passieren.

Cutoff und Resonanz sind beide spannungssteuerbar; jeder Parameter hat zwei Eingänge: einen direkten und einen mit Polarizer als Abschwächer. Der skalierbare Cutoff-Eingang trackt voll aufgedreht mit Absicht lediglich 0,5V pro Oktave, damit man auch mit geringeren CVs volle Modulation erzielen kann.

Sonstiges

Da das 505 über nur einen Audioeingang verfügt, raten wir dazu, vor dem Modul einen Moonmodular 526 Reversible Mixer zu nutzen, da dieser nicht nur den Pegel, sondern auch die Phase der Signale regelt.
Dies ist beim Patchen der Einzelausgänge oder des Mixed-Ausgang zurück auf den Filtereingang sehr zu empfehlen, da dieses experimentelle Vorgehen nicht nur teils brachiale Feedbacks, sondern auch neue Filterarten ermöglicht.

Anschlüsse

Audio:
1x Signaleingang
Ausgänge: Tiefpass, Bandpass, Hochpass, Notch, Mixed Signal Out

CV-Eingänge: 2x Cutoff, 2x Resonanz, 1x Mode Control

Abmessungen

5 HE Modul nach Moog-Formfaktor, zwei Einheiten breit

Gewicht
0.6 kg
artikelnr
MM505
Verfügbarkeit ? kurzfristig verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 242,86 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 289,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1