Moonmodular 517 Coupled Dual VC High Pass / Low Pass Filter

Overview

The 517 features two extremely smooth filters with high-pass and low-pass modes. Their edge steepness is -18 dB respectively -24 dB per octave. Via a switch, both filter stages can be combined to create bandpass or notch characteristics. Wiring them in serial is possible as well. By doing this, users can create more steep or dual peak high-pass and low-pass filter designs. In addition to cutoff frequencies and resonance values, the spread and balance of both filters are adjustable. Furthermore, it is possible to modulate all parameters mentioned.

Details

The 517 features two identical filters. The topology is based on circuits known from the Oberheim Xpander and the OB-XA. Each filter comes equipped with cutoff and resonance potentiometers as well as a switch for choosing between high-pass (-18 dB per octave) and low-pass mode (-24 dB per octave). Furthermore, there are two CV inputs for cutoff modulations. One of them features a bipolar attenuator. The resonance is equipped with one control voltage input. Besides separate audio inputs and outputs, there is a connector which emits the signals of both filters in combination.

The 517 offers four modes of operation. While the module is in Separate mode, both filters can be used independently from each other. Normalized audio and CV inputs make parallel and stereo processing very easy. With opposite modulations, cool pan effects can be achieved. Using the other modes of operation, both filters can be linked to create band-pass, notch or steeper high-pass respectively low-pass characteristics. (High-pass = -36 dB per octave / Low-pass = -48 dB per octave) The cutoff and resonance potentiometers of the second filter channel are deactivated in this mode. Using the bandwidth knob, the cutoff frequencies of the filters can be shifted in opposite directions. This makes it possible to adjust, for example, the width of the band-pass or to create a high-pass respectively low-pass with two stages and resonance peaks. The balance of the filters can be adjusted as well. Besides potentiometers, Bandwidth and Balance parameters feature CV inputs.

connectors

Per filter:
Audio input and ouput
Two cutoff CV inputs
Resonance CV input

Global:
Bandwidth and Balance CV inputs
Combined audio output

dimensions

5U module in Moog form factor, three units wide

Weight
0.6 kg
Article Number
MM517
availability ? shortly avaliable
€ 19% VAT excl. €494.96 € 19% VAT incl. €589.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Moonmodular 517 Coupled Dual VC High Pass / Low Pass Filter

Überblick

Das 517 beherbergt zwei wohlig-rund klingende Analogfilter mit Hochpass- und Tiefpassmodi. Die Flankensteilheit liegt bei -18 dB beziehungsweise -24 dB pro Oktave. Per Kombinationsschalter kann man in eine Bandpass- oder Kerb-Betriebsart umschalten. Die serielle Verknüpfung beider Filter ist ebenfalls möglich. Hierdurch lassen sich steilere beziehungsweise mit zwei Resonanzspitzen ausgestattete Hoch- und Tiefpasstypen kreieren. Neben Grenzfrequenzen und Resonanzwerten können auch Filterspreizung und Balance justiert werden. Zudem sind alle genannten Parameter modulierbar.

Details

Das 517 setzt sich aus zwei identisch aufgebauten Filtern zusammen. Die Topologie ist an Schaltungen aus Oberheim Xpander und OB-XA angelehnt. Pro Filter stehen Grenzfrequenz- und Resonanzregler sowie einen Schalter zur Auswahl von Hochpass- (-18 dB pro Oktave) oder Tiefpass-Charakteristik (-24 dB pro Oktave) bereit. Darüber hinaus sind zwei CV-Wege für Cutoff-Modulationen vorhanden, einmal mit bipolarem Abschwächer. Für die Resonanz gibt es einen Steuerspannungseingang je Filter. Neben separaten Audioeingängen und Ausgängen ist ein weiterer Abgriff verfügbar, an dem das kombinierte Signal beider Filter anliegt.

Das 517 stellt vier Betriebsarten zur Auswahl. Im Separate-Modus lassen sich beide Filter unabhängig voneinander verwenden. Dank normalisierter Audio- und CV-Eingänge sind Parallelbearbeitungen eines Signals oder gleichmäßige Beschneidungen von Stereomaterial kein Problem. Gegenläufige Modulationen führen zu coolen Pan-Effekten. In den anderen Betriebsarten werden beide Filter verkettet, um Bandpass-, Kerb- oder steilere Hochpass- beziehungsweise Tiefpasscharakteristika zu formen. (Hochpass = -36 dB pro Oktave; Tiefpass = -48 dB pro Oktave) Die Cutoff- und Resonanz-Potentiometer des rechten Filterkanals sind in diesen Modi deaktiviert. Per Bandwidth-Drehregler können die Grenzfrequenzen der Filter gegeneinander verschoben werden. So ist es beispielsweise möglich, die Breite des Bandpasses zu regulieren oder einen zweistufig abfallenden Hoch- beziehungsweise Tiefpass mit dualer Resonanzspitze zu kreieren. Zusätzlich lässt sich die Balance der Filter verändern. Beide Parameter sind mittels CV-Eingängen modulierbar.

Anschlüsse

Je Filter:
Audioeingang und Ausgang
Zwei Cutoff-CV-Eingänge
Resonanz-CV-Eingang

Global:
Bandwidth- und Balance-CV-Eingänge
Kombinierter Audioausgang

Abmessungen

5 HE Modul nach Moog-Formfaktor, drei Einheiten breit

Gewicht
0.6 kg
artikelnr
MM517
Verfügbarkeit ? kurzfristig verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 494,96 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 589,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1