Mystic Circuits - Spectra Mirror

Overview

Spectra Mirror is an analog down sampler for creative minds. In contrast to ordinary concepts, this module employs a Track and Hold stage instead of the usual Sample and Hold design to process sound. The difference: More or less of the original signal is passed through the circuit without alterations. In other words, the user can adjust the degree with which audio material is affected by the module. Depending on the Spectra Mirror’s settings, its results are somewhere between bitcrusher, Circuit Bending and digital, partly metallic and / or filtered noise. Thanks to a total of six control voltage inputs, the sound can be very lively.

Views

Details

The Spectra Mirror’s T&H circuit captures and holds the voltage of an incoming audio signal every time a positive clock edge is detected. As soon as it disappears, the module stops processing the material and lets it pass through unaltered. Therefore, by varying the pulse width of the clock signal, the user is able to control how much of the sound is edited. The frequency determines how often a new “snapshot” is taken.

Spectra Mirror uses a pulse oscillator to create clock signals. Its frequency can range from 0.1 Hz to 22 kHz. Besides a potentiometer for manual rate adjustments, there are two FM inputs with attenuator respectively attenuator / inverter combination. A note jack allows the user to play the module over a range of four to five octaves with correct pitch. The clock signal’s pulse width can also be edited via a knob plus there are two more CV inputs with attenuator / inverter combination to influence the parameter. Alternatively to the internal oscillator, an external clock can be utilized. It is fed to the module’s comparator, meaning the pulse width options stay available.

The audio input offers a gain stage for level adjustments. A resonance potentiometer offers the possibility to return portions of the output signal back the input of the Spectra Mirror. Additionally, the module contains a bipolar VCA, which is controlled by a knob labeled Morph. It alters signal strength and polarity of the feedback loop. Again, there is a CV input plus attenuator / inverter combination for modulations.

Spectra Mirror comes equipped with four outputs. The first three emit signals derived from the Track and Hold circuit, the VCA and the internal oscillator. Output number four can be used to tap off a mixture of input and VCA signals. Combining the two leads to phase cancellations and high pass sampling sounds.

The first FM input is normalized to one of the pulse width CV channels and the morph control voltage input. This setup allows the module to mimic the behavior of a low pass gate.

connectors
One audio input, outputs for Track and Hold, VCA, morph and oscillator
Two FM and PWM inputs plus a morph CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18 HP wide, compatible with Skiff cases

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
MYCsm
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €268.07 € 19% VAT incl. €319.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Mystic Circuits - Spectra Mirror

Überblick

Spectra Mirror ist ein analoger Down-Sampler mit hohem Kreativpotential. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Konzepten setzt das Modul keine Sample-and-Hold-Stufe ein, um Soundveränderungen zu erzielen, sondern verwendet ein Track-and-Hold-Design. Der Unterschied zwischen beiden Verfahren besteht im Wesentlichen darin, dass ein mehr oder weniger großer Teil des Originalsignales erhalten bleibt. – Der Bearbeitungsgrad lässt sich also frei regulieren. Die klanglichen Ergebnisse liegen, je nach Einstellungen, irgendwo zwischen Bitcrusher, Circuit Bending und digitalem, teilweise metallischem und / oder gefiltertem Rauschen. CV-Eingänge erlauben mannigfaltige Modulationen. – Ein wirklich bizarres Modul.

Ansichten

Details

Beim Track-and-Hold-Verfahren wird ein Spannungswert gehalten, solange die positive Flanke einer Clock am entsprechenden Eingang anliegt. Ist kein derartiges Signal vorhanden, durchläuft das Audiomaterial die Schaltung unbearbeitet. Mit Hilfe von Pulsweiten-Anpassungen lässt sich somit der Bearbeitungsgrad bestimmen. Per Frequenz wird die Häufigkeit der Sample-Vorgänge festgelegt.

Der Spectra Mirror besitzt einen Pulsoszillator als internen Taktgenerator, seine Geschwindigkeit kann zwischen 0,1 Hz und 22 kHz liegen. Neben einem Potentiometer für manuelle Frequenzeinstellungen gibt es zwei FM-Eingänge mit Abschwächer beziehungsweise Abschwächer-Inverter-Kombination. Eine Note-Buchse erlaubt es, das Modul über einen Bereich von vier bis fünf Oktaven tonal korrekt zu spielen. Die Pulsweite der Clock-Signale lässt sich ebenfalls via Drehregler justieren und durch zwei CV-Anschlüsse plus Abschwächer-Inverter-Kombinationen modulieren. Wer lieber einen externen Takt nutzen möchte, kann selbigen mit Hilfe eines weiteren Einganges in die Schaltung einführen. Da er nicht direkt auf die Effektstufe einwirkt, sondern zunächst den internen Komparator durchläuft, stehen die Pulsweitenoptionen auch hier zur Verfügung.

Audiomaterial gelangt durch eine Buchse mit nachstehender Pegelregelung in den Spectra Mirror. Per Resonanz-Potentiometer lassen sich Signale am Ausgang abgreifen und rückführen. Ergänzend ist ein bipolarer VCA im Modul enthalten, der durch einen mit Morph betitelten Drehregler kontrolliert wird. Er bestimmt Stärke und Phasenlage des Feedback-Signals. Auch Morph lässt sich via CV-Weg plus Abschwächer-Inverter-Kombi modulieren.

Ausgangsseitig hält der Spectra Mirror Abgriffe für Track-and-Hold- und VCA-Material sowie das Signal des internen Clock-Oszillators bereit. Ergänzend gibt es eine Morph-Buchse, an der Eingangs- und VCA-Signale summiert anliegen. – Eine tolle Sache, um Phasenauslöschungen und Highpass-Sampling zu genießen.

Der erste FM-Eingang ist zu einem der Pulsweiten- und dem Morph-Modulationsweg normalisiert, um das Verhalten eines Lowpass-Gates nachzustellen.

Anschlüsse

Ein Audioeingang, Ausgänge für Track-and-Hold, VCA, Morph und Oszillator
Jeweils zwei FM- und PWM-Eingänge plus Morph-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 Teileinheiten breit, kompatibel zu Skiff-Cases

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
MYCsm
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 268,07 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 319,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1