Niio Analog - Iotine Core 4

Overview

The Iotine Core 4 is a fully analog, voltage-controllable audio processor with three differently equipped and combinable channels. Two signal paths are equipped with a smooth sounding multi-mode filter, an extremely flexible saturator and a low-noise VCA. The difference: Each channel offers a unique combination of seven (!!!) saturation and distortion circuits. The third signal path features a multimode filter and a frequency divider / multiplier with distortion capabilities. Furthermore, there is a HAR envelope and an envelope follower. The modulators can not only influence the cutoff of one or more filters, but are also usable to create compressor and expander / gate effects.

Views

Details

The Iotine Core 4 comes equipped with two audio inputs, which can be flexibly routed to the device’s three channels. In addition, there is an audio / gate input for controlling the envelope and an audio / CV / gate socket connected with the envelope follower. On the output side, there are individual outs for all three channels plus a mix socket. As the name suggests, this connector emits the sum of all three signal paths.

The user interface of the Iotine Core 4 is divided into five areas. Let’s start with the two modulators on the left:

  • Env – The envelope of the Iotine Core 4 comes equipped with Hold, Attack and Release parameters. You can select either one of the audio inputs or the Env input (audio / gate) to control the envelope. Via a switch, it is possible to choose between normal operation and a loop mode. A threshold potentiometer determines how hot the signal level must be to start the envelope. Using a switchable high-pass filter, you can make the modulator immune to high-energy basses.
  • EF – The envelope follower features Gain, Attack and Release knobs. Using a switch, it is possible to alter the general behavior of the modulator from fast to moderate to sluggish. An audio input or the EF socket (audio / gate / CV) can be used to control the envelope follower. A Threshold potentiometer, this time with two modes of operation, determines the sensitivity of the envelope follower.

The two “main channels” are composed of a filter, a saturation stage and a VCA. In detail, the following features are available:

  • VCF – A resonant multimode filter with a slope of -12 dB per octave. Low-pass, band-pass or high-pass operation can be selected via a switch. Furthermore, you are able to choose whether audio material fed to the first or second input is processed. Incoming signals can be leveled via a potentiometer. Envelope, envelope follower or a 3.5 mm CV input may be used to influence the cutoff parameter. The strength of these modulations can be adjusted via a bipolar attenuator with a three-stage fine-tune switch.
  • SAT – A flexible, excellent sounding saturation stage with editable drive, a three-stage dry / wet toggle switch and a level control at the output. Seven different saturation and distortion modes are available per channel. In total, there are 14 different “tastes”, some of which differ greatly in sound. For example, you can discover harmonic distortion, overdrive and wave shaping.
  • VCA – A voltage-controlled amplifier with a very low noise-floor. Thanks to a bipolar attenuator in the CV path, the circuit can be used as a compressor (Cmp) or expander / gate (Exp).

The third audio channel of the Iotine Core 4 is called Post. It can be used individually or in serial following the first and / or second channel. Post can be utilized as another resonant multimode filter, a frequency divider (Div) or a multiplier (Oct). Via a toggle switch, you can choose a filter type (low-, band- or high-pass) respectively the octave range of the divider / multiplier (1, 2 or 3). The volume at the output is adjustable via a knob. Additionally, the level can be influenced via the envelope or envelope follower. The divider and multiplier circuits have a very strong effect on any audio material. The results sound hard to brute.

So much for the theory… In practice, the two “main channels” are dynamic filters with enormous distortion capabilities. Besides parallel processing of several signals, it is also possible to use the Iotine Core 4 as a multiband device. – Including different modulations and saturation types. An example:

  • The mix output of a drum computer is fed to one of the Iotine’s inputs.
  • The Mix output of the Iotine Core 4 is used for tapping off audio signals.
  • The first “main channel” is switched to high-pass mode with fast, but very smooth filter modulation and low distortion. The result: Hi-Hat, Cymbal and the like will move the filter very subtly.
  • The second “main channel” is in low-pass mode with high resonance and beefy distortion. In addition, a strong, slow modulation is added. Result: The “bottom” gets a pushing, chirping character.
  • For additional fun, add multiplier or divider of the Post section. – Please note: Not suitable for tender minds! Thanks to routing switches and level controls for all three channels, you can quickly mute or fade individual components of the signal mixture in and out.
miscellaneous

The unit can be either rack mounted or used as a desktop unit because of its angled enclosure.

connectors

Two audio inputs
Multifunctional Env and EF inputs
Cutoff CV input
Three individual audio outputs (1, 2, Post)
Mix output
IEC power input

dimensions

19" unit, 3U high
482 x 160 x 133 mm (W x D x H)

Weight
4.005 kg
Article Number
NAic4
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €1,596.64 € 19% VAT incl. €1,900.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Niio Analog - Iotine Core 4

Überblick

Der Iotine Core 4 ist ein vollanaloger, spannungssteuerbarer Audioprozessor mit drei verschiedenartig ausgestatteten und kombinierbaren Kanälen. Zwei Signalwege besitzen weiche Multimode-Filter, fantastisch klingende Sättigungsstufen und rauscharme VCAs. Der Unterschied: Jeder Kanal bietet eine andere Zusammenstellung aus sieben (!!!) Sättigungs- und Verzerrer-Schaltungen. Beim dritten Signalweg gibt es ein Multimode-Filter und einen Frequenzteiler /-Multiplikator mit Zerrung zu entdecken. An Modulatoren sind eine HAR-Hüllkurve und ein Envelope-Follower eingebaut. Dank ihnen kann man Audiomaterial nicht nur dynamisch filtern, sondern auch Kompressor- und Expander-/Gate-Effekte kreieren.

Ansichten

Details

Der Iotine Core 4 bietet zwei Eingänge, die sich flexibel mit den drei Audiokanälen des Gerätes verknüpfen lassen. Ergänzend gibt es einen Audio-/ Gate-Weg für die Hüllkurve und eine Audio-/ CV-/ Gate-Buchse zur Steuerung des Hüllkurvenfolgers. Ausgangsseitig sind Einzelabgriffe für alle drei Signalpfade und ein Summenausgang anzutreffen.

Die Bedienoberfläche des Iotine Core 4 lässt sich in fünf Bereiche aufteilen. Widmen wir uns zunächst den beiden linksseitig angeordneten Modulatoren:

  • Env – Die Hüllkurve des Iotine Core 4. Sie bietet die Parameter Hold, Attack und Release. Als Trigger-Quelle kann man einen der beiden Audioeingänge oder den Hüllkurvenweg (Audio / Gate) wählen. Per Schalter lässt sich zwischen Normalbetrieb und Loopmodus wechseln. Ein Threshold-Potentiometer bestimmt, wie hoch der Signalpegel sein muss, um die Hüllkurve zu starten. Ein schaltbares Hochpassfilter erlaubt es, energiereiche Bässe zu umgehen.
  • EF – Der Envelope Follower verfügt über Gain-, Attack- und Release-Drehregler. Mit Hilfe eines Schalters kann das grundlegende Verhalten des Modulators von reaktionsschnell über moderat bis zu träge variiert werden. Als Steuerweg lässt sich hier ein Audioeingang oder die EF-Buchse (Audio / CV / Gate) selektieren. Ein Threshold-Potentiometer, diesmal mit zwei Betriebsarten, legt den Schwellenwert zur Aktivierung des Envelope Followers fest.

Die beiden „Hauptkanäle“ des Iotine Core 4 kommen mit jeweils einem Filter, einer Sättigungsstufe und einem VCA daher. Im Detail sind folgende Features vorhanden:

  • VCF – Resonanzfähiges Multimode-Filter mit einer Flankensteilheit von -12 dB pro Oktave. Per Schalter kann Tief-, Hoch- oder Bandpassbetrieb ausgewählt werden. Als Signalquelle ist der erste oder zweite Audioeingang selektierbar. Der Eingangspegel lässt sich mit Hilfe eines Potentiometers justieren. Grenzfrequenz-Modulationen sind per Hüllkurve, Envelope-Follower oder einem 3,5 mm CV-Eingang an der Frontplatte möglich. Zur Portionierung von Steuerspannungen gibt es einen bipolaren Abschwächer mit dreistufigem Fine-Tune-Schalter.
  • SAT – Eine flexible, vorzüglich klingende Sättigungsstufe mit editierbarem Drive, dreistufigem Dry-/Wet-Kippschalter und Pegelregelung am Ausgang. Sieben verschiedene Sättigungs- und Verzerrungsarten stehen pro Signalpfad bereit. – Insgesamt kommt man also auf 14 unterschiedliche „Geschmacksrichtungen“, die sich klanglich teils stark unterscheiden. Zum Beispiel gibt es harmonische Verzerrungen, Overdrive und Wave-Shaping zu entdecken.
  • VCA – Ein spannungssteuerbarer Verstärker mit niedrigem Grundrauschen. Dank bipolarem Abschwächer im CV-Weg kann man die Schaltung, in Verbindung mit Hüllkurve beziehungsweise Envelope Follower, als Kompressor (Cmp) oder Expander / Gate (Exp) verwenden.

Der dritte Audiokanal des Iotine Core 4 trägt den Namen Post. Er kann an besonders vielen Stellen im Signalweg eingeschliffen und somit einzeln oder kombiniert mit den anderen Kanälen verwendet werden. Post lässt sich als resonantes Multimodefilter, Frequenzteiler (Div) oder Multiplikator (Oct) nutzen. Per Kippschalter wählt man entweder einen Filtertyp (Hoch-, Band- oder Tiefpass) oder den Oktavbereich des Teilers / Multiplikators (1, 2 oder 3) aus. Die Lautstärke kann manuell geregelt werden. Pegelmodulationen sind mittels Hüllkurve oder Envelope Follower machbar. Frequenzteilungen beziehungsweise Multiplikation wirken sich sehr stark auf jedwedes Audiomaterial aus. Es werden harte bis brachiale Obertöne hinzugefügt.

Soviel zur Theorie… In der Praxis sind die beiden „Hauptkanäle“ dynamische Filter mit enormer Zerrungsvielfalt. Neben der parallelen Bearbeitung mehrerer Signale ist, dank freier Eingangswahl an allen Signalpfaden, auch Dualband-Betrieb leicht möglich. – Inklusive unterschiedlicher Modulationen und Zerrungen. Ein Beispiel:

  • Der Instrumentenmix eines Drum-Computers wird bei allen Sektionen als Eingangssignal gewählt.
  • Als Audioabgriff benutzt man die Mix-Buchse.
  • Der erste „Hauptkanal“ läuft im Hochpassbetrieb mit einer schnellen, aber sehr sachten Filtermodulation und wenig Verzerrung. Das Resultat: Hi-Hat, Cymbal und dergleichen bewegen das Filter ganz dezent.
  • Der zweite „Hauptkanal“ befindet sich im Tiefpassmodus bei hoher Resonanz und viel Verzerrung. Ergänzend gibt man eine starke, langsame Modulation hinzu. Ergebnis: „Untenrum“ ordentlicher Schub, soll heißen zwitschernde, alles niedermähende Bass-Drums und Low-Toms.
  • Für noch mehr Spaß, Post auf Oct-Betriebsart setzen und beifügen. - Achtung: Nichts für zarte Gemüter! Dank Routing-Schalter und Pegelreglern für alle drei Kanäle kann man einzelne Bestandteile des Signalgemisches schnell ein und ausblenden.
Sonstiges

Das Gerät kann entweder ins Rack montiert oder, seiner schrägen Bauform wegen, als Tischgerät verwendet werden.

Anschlüsse

Zwei Audioeingänge
Env- und EF-Eingänge (multifunktional)
Cutoff-CV-Eingang
Drei einzelne Audioausgänge (1, 2, Post)
Mix-Summenausgang
Kaltgerätebuchse für Stromversorgung

Abmessungen

19-Zoll-Gerät, 3 HE hoch
482 mal 160 mal 133 mm (B x T x H)

Gewicht
4.005 kg
artikelnr
NAic4
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 1.596,64 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 1.900,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1