Noise Engineering - Mimetic Sequent

Overview

Mimetic Sequent is a CV recorder with nifty random functions and a quantizer. The module can hold three patterns with a length of up to 64 steps. Its random generator comes with several modes of operation, tailored for processing pitch and modulation signals. Lots of parameters are not only adjustable by hand, but can be influenced by control voltages as well.

Views

Details

The Mimetic Sequent receives clock signals via its Beat input. Using the Advance button, it is possible to step through patterns manually as well. Trigger respectively clock voltages at the Measure connector determine the length of a sequence. The Reset button allows users to jump to the beginning of a pattern. As long as the control element is held, incoming clock signals are ignored.

Mimetic Sequent is able to hold three patterns with up to 64 steps each. A switch enables the user to jump between storage slots quickly. For recording sequences, two modes of operation are available:

  • Short mode records data, until all 64 steps are filled or a signal at the Measure input is detected.
  • Free mode fills the 64 steps and then starts overwriting them, until the recording switch is flipped.

A copy function makes it possible to duplicate pattern.

The random potentiometer influences likelihood as well as the method used for processing CV sequences. With the knob turned completely counterclockwise, material is not edited at all. To allow detailed alterations of patterns, Noise Engineering implemented three random modes. 5C is specialized in processing modulation signals. 2P and 5P are meant for editing pitch CV material in a range of two respectively five octaves. Last, but not least, there is a quantizer, which uses the equal-tempered scale to adjust patterns.

The Mimetic Sequent employs flash memory to store data. Therefore, power cycling will not erase patterns.

miscellaneous
The Mimetic Sequent can be expanded using the Mimetic Multium.
connectors

CV input and output
Beat and Measure inputs
Pattern and Random CV inputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 6 HP wide, 20 mm deep
Power consumption: 50 mA at +12 V and 50 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
NEms
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €184.03 € 19% VAT incl. €219.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Noise Engineering - Mimetic Sequent

Überblick

Mimetic Sequent ist ein CV-Rekorder mit raffinierten Zufallsfunktionen und Quantizer. Drei Pattern lassen sich im Modul festhalten, jeder Speicherslot fasst bis zu 64 Schritte. Der Zufallsgenerator verfügt über mehrere Betriebsarten, die auf Bearbeitungen von Tonhöhen- und Modulationssignalen zugeschnitten sind.

Ansichten

Details

Der Mimetic Sequent wird mittels am Beat-Eingang anliegender Clock-Signale getaktet. Per Advance-Taster kann man manuell Schritte vorwärts springen. Trigger- beziehungsweise Clock-Spannungen an der Measure-Buchse bestimmen die Länge von Pattern. Via Reset-Taster ist es möglich, schnell zum Anfang einer CV-Sequenz zu springen. Solange das Bedienelement gedrückt wird, ignoriert die Schaltung jegliche Signale an Beat- und Measure-Anschlüssen.

Drei Pattern zu je 64 Schritten lassen sich im Mimetic Sequent festhalten. Ein Schalter erlaubt schnelle Wechsel zwischen den Speicherplätzen. Zwei Aufnahmemodi stehen bereit:

  • Short Record nimmt auf, bis alle 64 Schritte gefüllt sind oder ein Signal am Measure-Eingang erkannt wird.
  • Free Record nimmt 64 Schritte auf und überschreibt die Daten anschließend wieder, bis die Aufnahme beendet wird.

Eine Kopierfunktion macht die schnelle Duplizierung von Sequenzen möglich.

Das Random-Potentiometer beeinflusst gleichermaßen die Wahrscheinlichkeit und Methode von zufälligen Änderungen eines Pattern. Auf Linksanschlag finden keine Abwandlungen statt. Um die Bearbeitung von CV-Abfolgen genauer steuern zu können, hat Noise Engineering dem Mimetic Sequent drei Random-Modi spendiert. 5C ist auf die Veränderung von Modulationssignalen spezialisiert. 2P und 5P sind hingegen für Tonhöhen-CV-Spannungen gedacht. Ihr Arbeitsbereich liegt, wie die Namen schon sagen, bei zwei und fünf Oktaven. Ein Quantizer, der mit wohltemperierter Stimmung arbeitet, rundet den Funktionsumfang ab.

Der Mimetic Sequent nutzt Flash-Speicher, um Pattern festzuhalten. Daten bleiben erhalten, wenn das Modular-System vom Strom getrennt wird.

Sonstiges
Expander für den Mimetic Sequent: Mimetic Multium
Anschlüsse

CV-Eingang und Ausgang
Beat- und Measure-Eingänge
Pattern- und Random-CV-Eingänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 6 TE, 20 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 50 mA auf +12 V und 50 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
NEms
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 184,03 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 219,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1