North Coast Synthesis - MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF

Overview

The MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF is not your average low-pass with a transistor ladder or sallen key topology. Instead, it was based on an elliptic filter design. The module’s cutoff slope is uneven and has an edge steepness of at least -61 dB per octave. Thus, the filter takes a hard grip on incoming audio material. Fast FM modulation results in roaring formant sounds. The module’s resonance is quite sharp. – Perfect support for the natural, rich sound character. While self-oscillating, the Leapfrog VCF can be used as an oscillator.

Details

The MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF is a quite unusual low-pass filter. Instead of one cutoff potentiometer, there are coarse and fine tune knobs. The manually as well as voltage controllable VCA, which usually determines the strength of the resonance, can be placed behind the filter circuit. Linear and exponential FM inputs with attenuators allow you to influence the VCF’s cutoff frequency. A special treat are audio rate modulations, which lead to very cool formant sounds.

The main feature, however, is the Leapfrog’s five-pole elliptic filter design. Its slope is slightly uneven and has an edge steepness of at least -61 dB per octave. The module’s basic character is somewhat rough. Small ripples in the frequency response, which occur in front and behind the cutoff point, give the MSK 007 a very musical sound. Its sharp, but not deafening resonance supports the module's fascinating, hearty character very well. While self-oscillating, the Leapfrog VCF can be played tonally over a range of several octaves. Thanks to temperature compensation, the pitch tracking is very accurate.

The MSK 007 is built using through-hole components.

connectors

Audio input and output
Linear and exponential FM input
1 v / octave input
VCA CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 16 HP wide, 55 mm in depth
Power consumption: 70 mA at +12 V and 65 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
GRPsvf
External Links
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €352.10 € 19% VAT incl. €419.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

North Coast Synthesis - MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF

Überblick

Ein echt steiles Modul! – Das MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF ist kein Standard-Tiefpass mit etwa Transistor-Ladder- oder Sallen-Key-Design, sondern basiert auf einem elliptischen Filterkonzept. Die Flankensteilheit ist ungleichmäßig und beträgt mindestens -61 dB pro Oktave. Klanglich zeigt sich das MSK 007 dementsprechend kräftig. – Kaum ein anderes Filter packt derartig zu. Schnelle FM-Modulationen führen zu röhrenden Formant-Sounds. Das scharfe Resonanzverhalten unterstützt den natürlich satten Grundklang des Leapfrogs exzellent. Bei Selbstoszillation lässt sich die Schaltung als Oszillator verwenden.

Ansichten

Details

Beim MSK 007 Leapfrog VCF, was auf Deutsch so viel wie Bocksprung-Filter heißt, läuft Einiges anders als gewohnt. An Stelle eines Grenzfrequenz-Potentiometers gibt es zum Beispiel Grob- und Feinstimmungsregler. Der manuell und spannungssteuerbare VCA, welcher eigentlich die Resonanzstärke bestimmt, kann alternativ hinter die Filterschaltung verlegt werden. Lineare und exponentielle FM-Eingänge mit Abschwächern erlauben Modulationen. Ein besonderer Leckerbissen sind Beeinflussungen im Audiobereich. Diese quittiert das Leapfrog VCF mit markanten Formant-Sounds.

Das eigentliche Highlight am Bocksprung-Modul ist allerdings das elliptische Filterdesign fünfter Ordnung. Die Flankensteilheit ist leicht unstet und beträgt mindestens -61 dB pro Oktave. Der Grundsound ist dementsprechend kernig und leicht rau. Kleine Wellen im Frequenzgang, sowohl vor als auch hinter dem Cutoff-Punkt, lassen das MSK 007 herrlich musikalisch klingen. Die scharfe, aber nicht ohrenbetäubende Resonanz unterstützt den faszinierend herzhaften Klangcharakter exzellent. Bei Selbstoszillation kann das Leapfrog VCF über mehrere Oktaven tonal gespielt werden. Dank Temperaturkompensation ist das Pitch-Tracking überaus akkurat.

Das MSK 007 ist in Through-Hole-Technik aufgebaut.

Anschlüsse

Audioeingang und Ausgang
Linearer und exponentieller FM-Eingang
1V/Oktave-Eingang
VCA-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 16 TE breit, 55 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 70 mA auf +12 V und 65 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
GRPsvf
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 352,10 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 419,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag