Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms KB-1

Overview

This great controller module contains a capatitive touch keyboard with one octave span, two trigger plates and four preset touchplates for programming fixed voltages.
So far the features resemble those of other touch keybaords, wasn't it for duophony, a powerful arpeggiator, a 64-note sequencer plus a clock generator with Tap Tempo. The trigger touchplates can be used e.g. as pitch benders or for generating gate bursts and the preset touchplates also act asa small sequencer!

Feature-loaded, smaller and way cheaper than other touch keyboards. What are you waiting for?!

Views

Details

The keyboard is pressure sensitive for which reason it not only emits a note voltage with a characteristic of one Volt per octave as well as a gate signal but also a pressure CV (0-6V). The keyboard's octave setting can be changes with two buttons in a range of seven octaves.

The KB-1 has four basic modes, selected with the MODE button.

    Monophonic: Only one note is interpreted, the CV/gate/pressure signals are mirrored from channel 1 to channel 2. There are six note priority settings to choose from: last note priority, low note priority and high note priority, all wither with or wothout re-trigger. The KEY button activates a stutter mode which generates more and more dense gate bursts with rising pressure, their rate being a multiple of the clock (x0, x2 or x4). The HOLD mode latches the gate on or off.
  • Duophon: The keyboard interprets two fingers and emits for each of them a separate note CV, gate and pressure. Two note priorities can be selected from: last note priority with retirigger and low note priority with retrigger. KEY and HOLD have the same functions like in monophonic mode.
  • Arpeggiator: plays a repetitive melody pattern in sync with clock source, interpreting up to 10 fingers in the order they touched the keys, including their individual pressure! The KEY button allows for transposition when HOLD is pressed and also generates gate bursts. RUN starts and stops the arpeggiator.
    In EDIT mode you can adjust a number of settings:
    • Trigger: Each note can play a single or double trigger. Random modes can create random gates at output 1 or at outputs 1+2. The active note and gate output can alternate between channels 1 and 2.
    • Gate bursts: can be activated or deactivates.
    • octave range; one, two or three octaves.
    • The CV of channel 2 can be same as channel 1, one octave above it or two octaves above.
  • Sequencer: Four patterns with up to 64 steps length can be programmes step by step, including notes, rests and various "modifiers" for each note:
    • no re-trigger between notes
    • pitch bend between notes
    • 40ms trigger length
    • Trigger with 7/8 length
    • note generates double trigger
    • note generates quadruple trigger
    RUN starts or stops the sequencer. The KEY button allows for transposition when HOLD is pressed and also generates gate bursts. While the sequence is playing HOLD will latch gates on/off gates while in recording mode it will set rests.

    There are a number of settings for the sequencer as well:
    • playback direction: forward, backward, random
    • probability based gate bursts can activated or deactivated.
    • Shift: first note of the sequence can be shifted one step forwards or backwards.
    • CV of channel 2 can be identical to channel 1's, one octave above it or two octaves above.

The rate of the arpeggiator, the sequencer, the gate bursts, the triggers and also of the touch preset sequencers are determined by the clock which can be either applied from an external source or origin for the internal clock generator whose tempo can be set manually with a tap-tempo function using the CLOCK button.
When synchronising the KB-1 to an external clock sometimes it might be desired to have it playing slower than the clock. This can be achieved using the internal clock divider (divisors: 2, 4, and 8).

The abovementioned gate bursts which are probability-based, an be modified. Rests can be activated and their rhythmical pattern set (only seminotes, seminothes and quarter; seminotes, quarters and eighths.

When activated the four preset touch plates play a CV (0-5V) which is according to the value set with the potentiometer and a 40ms long trigger. In clock synchronised mode you can determine the playback direction (forward, backward, random) as well as the clock divider/multiplier (1/8, 1/4, 1/2, x1, x2, x4 or x4).

connectors

clock input, clock output
trigger oututs 1+2
preset CV output, preset gate output
per voice: 1V/octave CV output, pressure output, gate output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 48HP wide, 35mm deep
power consumption: 160mA

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
PITkb1
availability ? will be ordered on request
€ 19% VAT excl. €419.33 € 19% VAT incl. €499.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms KB-1

Überblick

Dieses tolle Controllermodul beinhaltet ein kapazitatives Touch-Keyboard mit einer Oktave Umfang, zwei Trigger-Kontaktflächen und vier Preset-Touchplates zum Programmieren von festen Spannungen.
Soweit ähnelt der Funktionsumfang dem anderer Touchkeboards, wenn da nicht Duophonie wäre, ein leistungsfähiger Arpeggiator, ein 64-Noten Sequenzer plus ein Clockgenerator mit Tap-Tempo. Die Trigger-Touchplates können z.B als Pitch-Bender verwendet werden oder zum Generieren von Gate-Bursts und die Preset-Touchplates funktionieren auch als ein kleiner Sequenzer!

Voller Funktionen, kleiner und viel günstiger als die meisten anderen Touchkeyboards. Worauf wartest du noch?!

Ansichten

Details

Das Keyboard ist druckempfindlich, weswegen neben einer Notenspannung von einem Volt pro Oktave und einem Gate-Signal auch eine Druck-CV (0-6 V) ausgegeben wird. Die Oktavlage des Keyboards lässt sich mit zwei Tastern in einem Bereich von sieben Oktaven ändern.

Das Keyboard hat vier Grundmodi, die mit dem MODE-Taster selektiert werden:

  • Monophon: Nur eine Note wird ausgegeben, die Signale CV/Gate/Pressure werden von Kanal 1 auf 2 gespiegelt. Es gibt sechs Notenprioritäten zur Auswahl: last note priority, low note priority und high note priority, jeweils mit oder ohne Retrigger. Die KEY-Taste aktiviert einen Stotter-Modus, der bei steigendem Fingerdruck immer dichtere Gate-Stöße ausgibt, deren Frequenz ein Vielfaches der Clock ist (x0, x2 oder x4). HOLD-Modus hält das Gate offen.
  • Duophon: Das Keyboard wertet zwei Finger aus und gibt für jeden separat Noten-CV, Gate und Pressure aus. Zur Auswahl stehen zwei Notenprioritäten: Last Note mit Retrigger und Low Note mit Retrigger. KEY und HOLD haben die gleichen Funktionen wie im monofonen Modus.
  • Arpeggiator: ruft ein repetitives Melodiemuster ab, das bis zu 10 Finger in der gespielten Reihenfolge ausliest, samt des Drucks! Die KEY-Taste erlaubt Transponierung bei gedrücktem HOLD und produziert auch Gate-Stöße. RUN startet oder stoppt den Arpeggiator. Im EDIT-Modus stellst du verschiedene Verhaltensweisen ein:
    • Trigger: Jede Note kann einen oder zwei Trigger ausgeben. Zufalls-Modus mit züfälligen Gates auf Ausgang 1 oder 1+2. Aktive Note und Gate-Ausgang kann zwischen Kanälen 1 und 2 alternieren.
    • Gate-Stöße: können aktivert oder deaktiviert werden.
    • Oktavumfang: eine, zwei oder drei Oktaven.
    • Die CV von Kanal 2 kann der von Kanal 1 entsprechen, eine Oktave höher sein oder zwei Oktaven höher.
  • Sequenzer: Vier Patterns mit bis zu 64 Steps Länge können Schritt für Schritt progammiert werden, sowohl Noten, Pausen wie diverse "Modifier" pro Note:
    • kein Retrigger zwischen Noten
    • Pitchbend zwischen Noten
    • 40ms Triggerlänge
    • Trigger mit 7/8 Länge
    • Note erzeugt doppelten Trigger
    • Note erzeugt vierfachen Trigger
    RUN startet oder stoppt den Sequenzer. KEY-Taste erlaubt Transponierung bei gedrücktem HOLD und auch Gate-Stöße. Während die Sequenz läuft öffnet HOLD die Gates, während der Aufnahme setzt es Pausen.

    Auch für den Sequenzer gibt es verschiedene Einstellungen:
    • Ablaufrichtung: vorwärts, rückwärts, zufällig
    • Gate-Stöße auf Basis von Wahrscheinlichkeiten können aktivert oder deaktiviert werden.
    • Shift: Die erste Note der Sequenz kann einen step vorwärts oder rückwärts verschoben werden.
    • Die CV von Kanal 2 kann der von Kanal 1 entsprechen, eine Oktave höher sein oder zwei Oktaven höher.

Die Geschwindigkeit des Arpeggiators, des Sequenzers, der Gate-Bursts, Trigger sowie des Touch-Preset-Sequenzers wird von der Clock bestimmt. Diese kann extern zugeführt werden oder aus dem internen Clockgenerator stammen, dessen Tempo manuell eingeklopft werden kann (Tap-Tempo-Funktion über die CLOCK-Taste).
wenn man zu einer externen Clock synchronisiert, ist es manchmel vorteilhaft, wenn das KB-1 langsamer läuft als die Clock. Das kann mit den internen Clockdivider bewerkstelligt werden (Teilerfaktoren 2, 4, oder 8)

Die oben erwähnten Gate-Stöße, die anhand von Wahrscheinlichkeiten produziert werden lassen sich modifizieren. Es können Pausen aktiviert werden und die Rhythmik eingestellt werden (nur halbe Noten, Halbe und Viertel bwziehungsweise Halbe, Viiertel und Achtel.

Die vier Preset-Touchplates geben bei Aktivierung die mit dem Potentiometer eingestellte CV (0-5 V) sowie einen 40 ms langen Trigger aus. Im clock-synchronisiertem Sequenzermodus kann die Ablaufrichtung (vorwärts, rückwärts oder zufällig) sowie der Clockteiler/-Multiplikator (1/8, 1/4, 1/2, x1, x2, x4 oder x4) eingestellt werden.

Anschlüsse

Clockeingang, Clockausgang
Trigger-Ausgänge 1 + 2
Preset CV-Ausgang, Preset Gate-Ausgang
pro Stimme: 1V/Oktave CV-Ausgang, Pressure CV-Ausgang, Gate-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 48 TE breit, 35 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 160 mA

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
PITkb1
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar

Regulärer Preis: 465,00 €

Sonderpreis: € exkl. 19% MwSt. 331,93 € inkl. 19% MwSt. 395,00 €

zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1