Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms Percussion Sequencer

Overview

Four-channel trigger sequencer with up to 32 steps length, variable length per channel, memory and unique pattern effects like morph, glitch and swing. Patterns can be programmed in classic drummachine manner or live recording of all four channels simultaneously with the touchpads!
Each channel is able to process one audio signal via a VCA, modulated by an envelope generator. Sounds are processed directly through the module, making the creation of electronic drum sounds a super-easy task.

Views

Details

Each channel features an audio input, a VCA output and an decay envelope which is triggered by the sequencer. Patch a noise for instance and get a hihat sound at the audio output - just inject any sound and get a drum sound at the output, no matter if it's a sine wave for bassdrums, a multi-oscillator sound from an A-117 for cowbells, whatever. The envelope output itself already sounds like a bass drum! Finally you don't need an array of VCAs and envelope generators just to make your own drum voices!
The channel outputs are summed to the mix socket, using an individual outptu will remove the according channel from the mix.
In first line the Lifeforms Percussion Sequencer is intended to process audio signals. If you'd like to generate a triger to fire your existing drum voice module you can just use the envelope output, though. With the decay time at minimum it provides for a loud trigger impulse.

A tap-tempo clock generator is integrated but you can always synchronize the module to an external clock. The clock socket is bi-birectional and changes its function in ependance on the selected mode.

In Step Record Mode the patterns are programmed by activating corresponding steps, just like a classic drum machine. In Live Performance Mode the touchpads [9/25], [11/17], [13/29] and [15/31] are used for quantized realtime recording of all four channels simultaneously which is great for finger-drummers.
The module has copy, paste and clear functions for easy operation. While playback channels can be muted.

Pattern length of maximum 32 steps can be set globally for the entire pattern. Channels also feature variable pattern lengths, overriding the global setting, perfect for polyrhythmic applications.
Up to 32 patterns can be saved in a non-volatlile memory, in two banks of 16 slots each.

Unique pattern effects modify the rhythmic behaviour. A master effect modifies all channels simultaneously and in addition one more effect can be added per channel. There are six effects to chose from:

  • Shift: delays the trigger output from 1/8th to 7/8ths of a beat.
  • Glitch: creates chaotic gates based on probability. Allows for generating stuttering effects which stay in sync.
  • Density: sets number and timing of trigger for each active step, creating anything from doubling to rolls.
  • Morph: probability based effect, constantly modifying the pattern by adding or removing steps.
  • Swing: adds groove and alters the timing of every other step.
  • Add/Drop: unlike Morph it adds or removes steps from the pattern only temporarily.

connectors

per channel: input, output, envelope output

mix output, clock in/output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 24HP wide, 28mm deep
current draw: 150mA at +12V and 45mA at -12V

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
PITlfps

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Pittsburgh Modular - Lifeforms Percussion Sequencer

Überblick

Vierkanaliger Stepsequenzer mit bis zu 32 Steps Sequenzlänge, variabler Länge pro Kanal, Speicherbarkeit und einzigartigen Pattern-Effekten wie Morph, Glitch und natürlich auch Swing. Pattern können in klassicher Drummachine-Manier programmiert werden oder durch simultanes Live-Einspielen aller vier Kanäle mit den Touchpads!
Jeder Kanal ist imstande ein Audiosignal durch einen VCA, der von einer Hüllkurve moduliert wird, zu bearbeiten. Klänge werden direkt im Modul verarbeitet, was das Erzeugen von elektronischen Drumklängen äußerst vereinfacht.

Ansichten

Details

Jeder Kanal verfügt über einen Audioeingang, einen VCA-Ausgang und eine Decay-Hüllkurve, die vom Sequenzer getriggert wird. Patche ein beliebiges Signal in den Eingang und erhalte am Ausgang einen Percussion-Klang, ebal ob mit einer Sinuswelle für Bassdrums, Rauschen für Hihats, einem Multi-Oszillator-Klang vom A-117 für Cowbells, was auch immer. Die Hüllkurve selbst klingt sogar wie eine Bassdrum. Endlich benötigt man kein Aufgebot an VCAs und Hüllkurven, um deine eigenen Drumklänge zu erzeugen!
Die Kanalausgänge werden am Mix-Ausgang summiert, verwendete Einzelausgänge werden von der Summe entfernt.
In erster Linie ist der Lifeforms Percussion Sequencer gedacht, um Audisignale zu bearbeiten. Wenn du mit dem Modul jedoch einen Trigger generieren möchtest, um deine vorhandene Drum-Stimme abzufeuern, so kannst du dazu einfach den Envelope-Ausgang verwenden. Bei minimaler Decayzeit gibt er nämlich einen lauten Triggerimpuls aus.

Ein TapTempo Clockgenerator ist integriert, jedoch kann das Modul jederzeit zu einer externen Clock synchronisiert werden. Die Clock-Buchse ist bi-direktional und wechselt ihre Funktion je nach gewähltem Modus.

Im Step-Record-Modus werden die Pattern durch das aktiveren der gewünschten Steps aktiviert, ganz wie bei einer klassichen Rhythmusmaschine. Im Live-Performance-Modus werden die Touchpads [9/25], [11/17], [13/29] und [15/31] für quantisierte Echtzeitaufnahme aller vier Kanäle simultan benutzt, was großartig für Fingerdrummer ist.
Für schnelle Bedienung has Modul hat Copy, Paste und Clear-Funktionen.Während des Abspielens können Kanäle gemutet werden.

Die Patternlänge von maximal 32 schritten kann global für das ganze Pattern bestimmt werden. Die Kanäle bieten ebenfalls variable Patternlängen, welche die globale Einstellung aufheben und polyrhythmische Anwendungen ermöglichen.
Bis zu 32 Pattern können in nichtflüchtigen Speicer von zwei Bänken á 16 Speicherplätzen abgelegt werden.

Einzigartige Patterneffekte modifizieren das rhythmische Verhalten. Ein Master-Effekt modifiziert alle Kanäle simultan und zusätzlich kann ein weiterer Effekt pro Kanal verwendet werden. Es stehen sechs Effekte zur Auswahl:

  • Shift: verzögert die Triggerausgabe von 1/8 bis 7/8 des Taktes.
  • Glitch: kreiert chaotische Gate-Signale. Erlaubt Stotter-Effekte, die 'in sync' bleiben.
  • Density: bestimmt Anzahl und Timing jedes aktiven Steps, Verdoppelungen oder Rolls kreierend.
  • Morph: ein Effekt, der das Pattern konstant durch Hinzufügen oder Entfernen von Steps modifiziert.
  • Swing: gibt ordentlich Groove durch das Verzögern jedes zweiten Steps.
  • Add/Drop: im Gegensatz zu Morph fügt es Steps hinzu oder entfernt diese nur temporär aus dem Pattern.

Anschlüsse

pro Kanal: Eingang, ausgang, Hüllkurvenausgang

Mix-Ausgang, Clock Ein-/Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 24 TE breit, 28 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 150 mA auf +12 V und 45 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
PITlfps
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar

Regulärer Preis: 385,00 €

Sonderpreis: € exkl. 19% MwSt. 273,11 € inkl. 19% MwSt. 325,00 €

zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1