Polaxis - Emy

Overview

A blabbermouth for modular systems – Emy emulates a LPC speech chip, better known as the voice of the legendary educational toy Speak & Spell, to generate words and sentences with a craggy robot accent. The module's vocabulary can be expanded via SD card. Knobs and CV inputs allow you to manipulate Emy’s voice during operation. The results often sound like Circuit Bending. In addition to being a blabbermouth, Emy can also be used as a noisy oscillator.

Views

Details

The year is 1976: A small team of engineers from Texas Instruments set out to develop an educational toy that talks to children. Unfortunately, memory chips are far too expensive to allow the use of audio samples. So, the clever inventors quickly develop a synthesis chip that can generate letters, numbers, words and sentences with a dry robot accent. Two years later the first Speak & Spell comes onto the market. The toy is a huge success. Even E.T. the extraterrestrial tries to call home with it. Numerous revisions and varieties followed with updated versions of the speech chip.

The TMS5220, which is simulated by Emy, is a rather late LPC version. It was used in several classic ATARI arcade games and pinball machines, for example. Vocabulary and editing possibilities were still *um* limited, though. With Emy, things are different. Using a SD card, the module can be fed with LPC text files, which are then “read out loud” with a scratchy voice. Three playback modes are available:

  • Speech: The selected word or sentence is read aloud completely as soon as a signal is detected at the Gate input.
  • Repeat: Same as Speech, but Emy will stop reading as soon as the gate signal isn’t present anymore.
  • VCO: The module’s voice is looped as long as a gate signal is present.

Emy comes equipped with six knobs and CV inputs to control the following parameters:

Sound: Allows you to select letters, numbers, words and sentences. – For complete chaos, please apply a random CV voltage here.

  • Rate: Lowers the sample rate to create more scratchy sound.
  • Stretch: Do you want Emy to read to you rather fast or slowly?
  • Bend: Usable to create glitches reminiscent of Circuit Bending.
  • Pitch: Add some growl to Emy’s voice.
  • Energy: Do you like harsh distortion?

The Busy output emits a gate signal each time Emy is speaking.

connectors

Gate input, audio output
Sound, Rate, Stretch, Bend, Pitch and Energy CV inputs
Busy gate output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 16 HP wide, compatible with Skiff cases
Power consumption: 60 mA at +12 V and 18 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
POLemy
External Links
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €217.65 € 19% VAT incl. €259.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Polaxis - Emy

Überblick

Quasselstrippe für Modular-Systeme – Emy simuliert einen LPC Speech Chip, besser bekannt als die Stimme des kultigen Lernspielzeuges Speak & Spell, um Wörter und Sätze mit schroffem Roboter-Akzent zu generieren. Per SD-Karte kann man das Vokabular des Moduls beliebig erweitern. Drehregler und CV-Eingänge erlauben es dir, die Sprachausgabe im Betrieb zu manipulieren. Die Ergebnisse klingen oft nach Circuit Bending. Neben dem Einsatz als Sprecher oder Gesangsstimme ist auch die Verwendung als rauschhafter Oszillator möglich.

Ansichten

Details

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1976: Ein kleines Ingenieursteam der Firma Texas Instruments macht sich daran, ein Lernspielzeug mit Sprachausgabe zu entwickeln. Leider sind Speicherbausteine noch viel zu teuer, um die Verwendung von Audiosamples zu ermöglichen. Also entwickeln die cleveren Tüftler kurzerhand einen Synthesechip, der Buchstaben, Zahlen, Wörter und Sätze mit trockenem Roboterakzent erzeugen kann. Zwei Jahre später kam der erste Speak & Spell auf den Markt. Das Gerät schlug ein wie eine Bombe. – Sogar E.T. der Außerirdische hat versucht, damit nach Hause zu telefonieren. Es folgten zahlreiche Weiterentwicklungen und Abarten mit immer neuen Versionen des Sprachchips.

Der vom Emy nachgebildete TMS5220 ist eine recht späte LPC-Version, die zum Beispiel auch in klassischen ATARI Arcade-Automaten und zum Einsatz kam. Wortschatz und Eingriffsmöglichkeiten waren allerdings nach wie vor *ähm* beschränkt. Bei Emy sieht die Sache ganz anders aus. Per SD-Karte kann man das Modul mit LPC-Textdateien füttern, die dann mit typisch kratzigem Zungenschlag „vorgelesen“ werden. Drei Abspielmodi stehen bereit:

  • Speech: Geht ein Gate-Signal ein, wird das gewählte Wort / der gewählte Satz komplett vorgelesen.
  • Repeat: Genau wie Speech, allerdings bricht Emy mitten im Wort / Satz ab, sollte die Gate-Spannung abfallen.
  • VCO: Die Sprache wird geloopt, solange ein Gate-Signal anliegt.

Emy verfügt über jeweils sechs Drehregler und CV-Eingänge, mit denen sich folgende Parameter beeinflussen lassen:

  • Sound: Dient der Auswahl von Buchstaben, Nummern, Wörtern oder Sätzen. – Für heilloses Chaos bitte hier eine schnelle Random-CV-Spannung anlegen.
  • Rate: Da Emy ein Digitalmodul ist, kann man, im Gegensatz zum Speak & Spell, die Samplerate herunterschrauben. – Kann enorm kratzig enden.
  • Stretch: Möchtest du, das Emy eher langsam oder schnell vorliest?
  • Bend: Kann genutzt werden, um typische Circuit-Bending-Glitches zu generieren.
  • Pitch: Hätte auch Knurrhahn-Funktion heißen können.
  • Energy: Lust auf heftige Zerrungen?

Der Busy-Ausgang gibt ein Gate-Signal ab, wenn Emy spricht.

Anschlüsse

Gate-Eingang, Audioausgang
CV-Eingänge für Sound, Rate, Stretch, Bend, Pitch und Energy
Busy-Gate-Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 16 TE breit, kompatibel zu Skiff-Gehäusen
Stromverbrauch: 60 mA auf +12 V und 18 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
POLemy
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 217,65 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 259,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag