Radikal Technologies - RT-311 Swarm Oscillator

Overview

The DSP-based RT-311 is a dual, storable oscillator with morphable waveforms and various functions exceeding conventional VCOs. The PWM afffects all wave forms, the Swarm function generates up to sixteen detuned copies of the waveform(s) which can easily be tuned to fixed intervals. The parameter settings can be memorized in eight snapshots between which you can interpolate, for instance using the internal LFO.
Soundwise it can a lot, from classic VCO tones over chords, drones and clusters to ultra-wide "super waves" made with any waveform.

Views

Details

The left oscillator's frequency can be tuned directly to octaves and semitones if needed, for the right oscillator you set the octave and detune. Both are playd tonally via the 1V/octave input. The Scale control can quantize the voltage at the 1V/oct input to different musical scales, though.
Each VCO is equipped with it's own linear FM input (FM-O1 and FM-O2) with attenuator. Oscillator synchronisation between the two oscillators ist managed with a button.
Waveform-wise each of the RT-311's oscillators is able to morph from sine over triangle and sine to pulse. Where other oscillators allow only for setting the width of the pulse wave the RT-311 offers the TLM parameter (time linearity modulation) which alters the width of ANY wave form.

The eponymous Swarm function generates an detunable oscillator cloud. The number of oscillator clones is set with Density and the detune with Spread.
Per VCO up to eight waveforms are generated, ergo a dense cloud of up to 16 detuned oscillators is generated when both oscillators are merged using the Mix control. It is possible to quantize the intervals between the oscillator copies to certain chords.

Each of the eight memory banks allows for saving maximum eight snapshots of parameter settings and thus different sounds or chords! Using interpolation is is possible to blend between all snapshots of a bank in different ways, from hard jumps to smooth morphings, as you like. For interpolation a CV at the Speed/Position inptu can be used or the integrated voltage controllable LFO.
The Data control generates a fixed, adjustable voltage which is emitted at the Data socket. It can be patched to any parameter of another module, saved via snapshots and morphed as well, meaning you can morph external parameters as well!

Press the Manual button and the Swarm Oscillator overrides all loaded parameters and uses only the current potentiometer setting (WYSIWYG).

connectors

inputs: 1V/octave, FM-O1, FM-O2, speed, position
outputs: data, out 1 out 2

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 32HP wide, 30mm deep
current draw: 250mA at +12V and 40mA at -12V

Weight
0.35 kg
Article Number
RADrt311
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €503.36 € 19% VAT incl. €599.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Radikal Technologies - RT-311 Swarm Oscillator

Überblick

Der DSP-basierte RT-311 ist ein dualer, speicherbarer Oszillator mit überblendbaren Wellenformen und diversen Funktionen, die über einen herkömmlichen VCO hinausgehen. Die PWM greift auf alle Wellen, die Swarm-Funktion generiert bis zu 16 gegeneinander verstimmbare Kopien der Wellenform(en), die simpel auf feste Akkorde gestimmt werden können. Die Parametereinstellungen sind als acht Snapshots speicherbar, zwischen denen interpoliert werden kann, beispielsweise mit dem internen LFO.
Klanglich ist von klassischen VCO-Sounds über Akkorde, zu Drones, Schichtungen und ultrabreiten "Superwellen" mit beliebigen Wellenformen vieles drin.

Ansichten

Details

Die Frequenz des linken Oszillators ist bei Bedarf direkt auf Halbtöne und Oktaven stimmbar, beim rechten Oszillator wird die Oktave und die Verstimmung eingestellt. Beide sind über den gemeinsamen 1 V/Oktave-Eingang tonal spielbar. Der Scale-Regler jedoch quantisiert die am Volt-pro-Oktave-Eingang anliegende CV auf verschiedene musikalische Tonarten.
Jeder VCO verfügt über einene eigenen linearen FM-Eingang (FM-O1 und FM-O2) samt Abschwächer. Oszillatorsynchronisation zwischen den beiden VCOs geschieht auf Knopfdruck.
An Wellenformen vermag jeder VCO des RT-311 von Sinus über Dreieck zu Sägezahn und Puls zu morphen. Wo bei anderen Oszillatoren nur die Breite des Rechtecks einstellbar ist, finden wir hier den Parameter TLM (time linearity modulation), der die Halbwellenbreite JEDER Wellenform einzustellen vermag.

Der namengebende Swarm-Parameter generiert eine Oszillatorwolke, deren Dichte, also Anzahl der Oszillatoren mit Density und die Verstimmung mit Spread bestimmt werden.
Pro VCO werden bis zu acht Wellen generiert, ergo können bei der Mischung beider Oszillatoren über den Mix-Regler bis zu 16 gegeneinander verstimmte VCOs simuliert. Es ist möglich, die Intervalle zwischen den Oszillatorkopien auf Akkorde zu quantisieren.

Auf jeder der acht Speicherbänke lassen sich bis zu acht Parametereinstellungen und damit unterschiedliche Klänge oder Akkorde des gesamten RT-311 als Snapshots ablegen. Über Interpolation wird zwischen den Snapshots einer Bank auf verschiedene Weisen übergeblendet, hart oder ganz weich, wie du magst. Dazu lässt sich über Speed/Position eine CV verwenden oder auch der interne, spannungssteuerbare LFO.
Der Data-Regler generiert eine einstellbare feste Spannung, die an der Data-Buchse ausgegeben wird - diese lässt sich auf einen beliebigen Parameter eines anderen Moduls patchen und kann im Snapshop mit abgespeichert werden. Sprich ein externer Parameter wird ebenfalls interpoliert!

Ein Druck auf den Manual-Taster und der Swarm Oscillator überspringt die aufgerufenen Parameter und gibt nach dem WYSIWYG-Prinzip nur die aktuellen Potistellungen wieder.

Anschlüsse

Eingänge: 1 V/Oktave, FM-O1, FM-O2, Speed, Position
Ausgänge: Data, Out 1, Out 2

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 32 TE breit, 30 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 250 mA auf +12 V und 40 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.35 kg
artikelnr
RADrt311
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 444,54 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 529,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1