Random Source - Serge New Timbral Oscillator (NTO)

Overview

The New Timbral Oscillator, NTO for short, is a precision VCO based on a classic Serge design. In addition to sine, triangle, saw tooth and pulse, the module generates a flexibly shapeable waveform. For playing the oscillator, there are two 1v / octave inputs. One of them is equipped with a portamento function. The module’s linear FM input features a VCA for dynamic results. In use, the NTO shines with a wide frequency range, excellent temperature stability and accurate pitch tracking. Its basic character is beefy and clearly analog. The NTO’s sound spectrum goes far beyond conventional VCOs.

Views

Details

The Serge New Timbral Oscillator is made of precision components to eliminate fluctuations induced by temperature shifts and the power supply. The module comes equipped with five outputs, which emit the following waveforms:

  • Sine
  • Triangle
  • Saw tooth
  • Pulse
  • Variable

The variable waveform can be shaped via a potentiometer and a CV input with bipolar attenuator. Some sound examples can be found here. All outputs deliver levels of more than +4 dBu to ensure maximum signal-to-noise ratio.

For playing the VCO, there are two 1v / octave inputs. One of them features a portamento function, which can be controlled manually and via CV signals. For manual pitch adjustments, there are coarse and fine tune potentiometers. The NTO can generate signals in the range of 16 Hz to 16 kHz. With the help of control voltages, a range of 0.1 Hz to 100 kHz is possible.

Thanks to a voltage-controlled amplifier, the NTO’s linear FM input can be used dynamically. The exponential FM channel features an attenuator-inverter combination. A sync input competes the module’s range of functions.

connectors

Five waveform outputs (Sine, triangle, saw tooth, pulse, variable)
Two 1 v / octave inputs
Linear FM input
Exponential FM input
Sync input
Three CV inputs (Shape, linear FM, portamento)

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18 HP wide, 40 mm in depth
Power consumption: 115 mA at +12 V, 80 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
RSnto
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €394.96 € 19% VAT incl. €470.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Random Source - Serge New Timbral Oscillator (NTO)

Überblick

Der New Timbral Oscillator, kurz NTO, ist ein Präzisions-VCO nach Serge-Vorbild. Neben Sinus, Dreieck, Sägezahn und Puls erzeugt das Modul eine flexibel verformbare Welle. Zum Spiel stehen gleich zwei 1V/Oktave-Buchsen bereit, einmal mit justierbarem Portamento. Der lineare FM-Eingang besitzt einen VCA für dynamische Ergebnisse. Im Betrieb glänzt der NTO durch einen weiten Frequenzbereich, hervorragende Temperaturstabilität und penibles Tonhöhen-Tracking. Sein Grundsound ist kräftig und rau. Das Klangspektrum geht deutlich über herkömmliche VCOs hinaus.

Ansichten

Details

Der Serge New Timbral Oscillator wird aus Präzisionsbauteilen gefertigt, um durch Temperaturschwankungen oder die Stromversorgung hervorgerufene Fluktuationen bestmöglich zu kompensieren. Das Modul bietet fünf Wellenformausgänge, an denen sich folgende Schwingungen abgreifen lassen:

  • Sinus
  • Dreieck
  • Sägezahn
  • Puls
  • Variable

Die Variable-Wellenform kann mittels Shape-Potentiometer und einem CV-Eingang plus bipolarem Abschwächer verformt werden. Einige Klangbeispiele finden sich hier. Alle Ausgänge geben Pegel von mehr als +4 dBu ab, um bestmöglichen Rauschabstand zu gewährleisten.

Zum Spiel stehen zwei 1V/Oktav-Eingänge bereit. Eine der Buchsen besitzt eine Portamento-Funktion, die sich per Drehregler und via Steuerspannungen kontrollieren lässt. Für manuelle Tonhöhenanpassungen wurden Grob- und Feinstimmungspotentiometer implementiert. Der NTO kann Signale im Bereich von 16 Hz bis 16 kHz erzeugen. Unter Zuhilfenahme von CV-Spannungen sind sogar 0,1 Hz bis 100 kHz möglich.

Der lineare FM-Eingang des New Timbral Oscillators lässt sich, dank spannungsgesteuerter Verstärkerstufe, dynamisch einsetzen. Natürlich ist der VCA auch von Hand editierbar. Der exponentielle FM-Weg verfügt über eine Abschwächer-Inverter-Kombination. Ein Sync-Eingang rundet den Funktionsumfang ab.

Anschlüsse

Fünf Wellenformausgänge (Sinus, Dreieck, Sägezahn, Puls, Variable)
Zwei 1V/Oktave-Eingänge
Linearer FM-Eingang
Exponentieller FM-Eingang
Sync-Eingang
Drei CV-Eingänge (Shape, Linear FM, Portamento)

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 TE breit, 40 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 115 mA auf +12 V, 80 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
RSnto
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 394,96 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 470,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1