Random Source - Serge Triple+ Waveshaper (TWS+)

Overview

The Serge TWS+ consists of four non-linear wave shapers. Via switches, several sections can be daisy-chained. A two-stage stereo configuration is possible as well. The module’s beefy, sometimes gnarly sound character makes it not only suitable for shaping simple VCO waveforms, but more complex audio material as well. Thanks to CV inputs, you can easily add movement to sounds. A tip from the manufacturer: Try processing acoustic instrument material with the module!

Views

Details

The four wave shapers of the TWS+ are basically identical. However, there are some differences regarding handling and modulation options. Originally, the circuits were developed to transform a saw tooth into a sine wave. When using the wave shaper potentiometers, you sometimes get the impression that you are dealing with an extremely powerful, distorting tone EQ control or a cranky low-pass filter. The front panel of the TWS+ is divided into three sections. The upper ones contain sockets and control elements for one wave shaper each:

  • Audio input
  • Wave shaper potentiometer (In)
  • Two wave shaper CV inputs, one with attenuator (VC 1 / VC 2)
  • Audio output

The third front panel area is similarly designed, but there are attenuators for both CV inputs. With the additional +1 potentiometer, you can add a second, serially wired wave shaper, so that you get a total of four processing stages. This feature did not exist in the classic Serge TWS.

Another novelty: Two link switches, which can be used to comfortably wire all four wave shapers in series. – Without any patch cables. The results are extremely crunchy. By using a different modulation signal for each wave shaper, very lively sound movements can be achieved. – A great way to create interesting bass sounds. Stereo material can be processed as well. All you have to do is link the upper sections and you get a dual-channel, two-stage configuration. One last thing: Contrary to common standards, the wave shapers are linked from bottom to top.

connectors

Per section:
Audio input and output
Two CV inputs

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 18 HP wide, 30 mm in depth
Power consumption: 20 mA at +12 V, 10 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
RSstws
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €235.29 € 19% VAT incl. €280.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Random Source - Serge Triple+ Waveshaper (TWS+)

Überblick

Der Serge TWS+ setzt sich aus vier nichtlinearen Waveshapern zusammen. Schalter erlauben die serielle Kopplung mehrerer Sektionen. Eine zweistufige Stereokonfiguration ist ebenfalls möglich. Der kräftige, bisweilen knarzige Analogcharakter des TWS+ eignet sich nicht nur zur Verformung einfacher VCO-Signale, sondern auch für komplexeres Audiomaterial. Dank CV-Eingängen sind sehr lebendige Ergebnisse möglich. Der Hersteller empfiehlt: Unbedingt mal mit akustischen Instrumentensounds kombinieren!

Ansichten

Details

Die vier Waveshaper des TWS+ sind im Prinzip identisch aufgebaut. Sie unterscheiden sich teilweise aber in Handhabung und Modulationsmöglichkeiten. Ursprünglich wurden die Schaltungen entwickelt, um Sägezahnwellen in Richtung Sinus abzuwandeln. Bei Betätigung der Waveshaper-Potentiometer hat man gelegentlich den Eindruck, es mit einer überaus markig klingenden, zerrenden Tone-EQ-Kontrolle oder einem skurrilen Filter zu tun zu haben. Das Frontpanel des TWS+ ist in drei Sektionen unterteilt. Die Oberen beinhalten Buchsen und Bedienelemente für jeweils einen Waveshaper, im Detail:

  • Audioeingang
  • Waveshaper-Potentiometer (In)
  • Zwei Waveshaper-CV-Eingänge, einmal mit Abschwächer (VC 1 / VC 2)
  • Audioausgang

Der untere Frontplattenbereich ist ähnlich aufgebaut, allerdings gibt es hier Abschwächer für beide CV-Eingänge. Mit dem +1-Potentiometer lässt sich ein zweiter, seriell verschalteter Waveshaper zum Geschehen hinzufügen, sodass man insgesamt auf vier Bearbeitungsstufen kommt. – Dieses Feature gab es beim klassischen Serge TWS noch nicht.

Ebenfalls neu sind zwei Link-Schalter, mit denen man die drei Frontplattenbereiche komfortabel verknüpfen kann. So ist es möglich, alle vier Waveshaper in Reihe zu schalten. – Ganz ohne Patchkabel. Die Ergebnisse sind kernig und britzeln ordentlich vor sich hin. Durch verschiedenartige Modulationen an den einzelnen Waveshapern lassen sich sehr lebendige Soundveränderungen erzielen. – Vor allem für Bässe eine tolle Sache. Wer Stereomaterial bearbeiten möchte, kann nur die oberen Sektionen verknüpfen und erhält somit eine zweikanalige und zweistufige Konfiguration. Zu guter Letzt noch ein Hinweis: Entgegen gängiger Standards werden die Waveshaper von unten nach oben verlinkt. (Soll heißen: Unten Signal einspeisen und oben abgreifen.)

Anschlüsse

Je Sektion:
Audioeingang und Ausgang
Zwei CV-Eingänge

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18 TE breit, 30 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 20 mA auf +12 V, 10 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
RSstws
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 235,29 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 280,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1