Retro Mechanical Labs - Jekyll n Hyde Dual Filter Box

Overview

Jekyll N Hide is a dual distortion and filter box with a very distinctive sound. The first audio channel appears to be rather clean and voluminous, thanks to a restrained drive circuit and a transistor-ladder-circuit. In the second channel, you'll find a more powerful distortion and a crisp diode-ladder filter. On top of that, both audio paths feature overdrive and germanium clipping stages as well as an LFO. All in all, Jekyll N Hyde has a beefy, wonderfully musical sound. – Even with high distortion levels. By combining both channels, you can create great stereo effects.

Details

At first glance, the two channels of the Jekyll N Hyde are identical. Right behind the inputs, you’ll find drive stages, followed by resonant low-pass filters, another set of drive circuits and clipping sections. The LFOs are adjustable in speed and modulation depth. They can be quickly (de)activated via switches. The LFOs influence the filter cutoff frequencies. CV inputs allow you to use external modulators as well.

In use, differences between the two audio channels become apparent very quickly. While Jekyll (channel 1) has a smooth sounding drive stage and offers a filter with classic transistor ladder character, Hyde (channel 2) features a drive circuit with significantly more distortion and typical diode ladder facets.

As the inputs of both channels are normalized, stereo effects can be easily achieved by feeding only one mono signal to the Jekyll N Hyde. The connection can be broken via a switch.

Jekyll N Hyde was designed to be used with synthesizers, drum computers and studio equipment.

miscellaneous

Manufacturer and color of the VU meter vary, as shown on the pictures.

A 18 V DC power supply is included. (Polarity: Tip = Minus / Ring = Plus)
150 mA are drawn from the power supply.

connectors

Per filter channel:
Audio input and output
Cutoff CV input

Weight
1.0 kg
Article Number
RMLjnh
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €432.77 € 19% VAT incl. €515.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Retro Mechanical Labs - Jekyll n Hyde Dual Filter Box

Überblick

Jekyll N Hyde ist eine duale Verzerrer- und Filterbox mit charakterstarkem Analogsound. Der erste Audiokanal wirkt, dank zurückhaltendem Drive und Transistor-Ladder-Schaltung, eher sauber und voluminös. Im zweiten Kanal findet man einen deftigeren Verzerrer und ein kerniges Dioden-Ladder-Filter. Obendrauf besitzen beide Audiowege Overdrive- und Germanium-Clipping-Stufen sowie einen LFO. Insgesamt kann man dem Jekyll N Hyde einen kräftigen, selbst bei harten Verzerrungen noch wunderbar musikalischen Sound attestieren. Durch die Kombination beider Kanäle lassen sich tolle Stereo-Effekte kreieren.

Ansichten

Details

Auf den ersten Blick sind die beiden Kanäle des Jekyll N Hyde identisch aufgebaut. Hinter den Eingängen finden sich Drive-Stufen, gefolgt von resonanten Tiefpassfiltern, weiteren Drive-Schaltungen und Clipping-Sektionen. Die LFOs lassen sich in Geschwindigkeit und Modulationstiefe justieren. Mittels Schaltern kann man sie schnell an- und abschalten. Die LFOs wirken auf die Filtergrenzfrequenzen ein. Externe Modulationen sind dank CV-Eingängen ebenfalls kein Problem.

Im Einsatz werden schnell Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Kanälen deutlich. Während Jekyll (Kanal 1) mit sanftem Drive und Transistor-Ladder-Charakter daherkommt, bietet Hyde (Kanal 2) eine Drive-Stufe mit deutlich mehr Spielraum nach oben und typischen Dioden-Ladder-Sound.

Da die Eingänge beider Kanäle normalisiert sind, lassen sich mit einem Monosignal schnell Stereoeffekte erzielen. Die Verbindung kann per Schalter aufgebrochen werden.

Jekyll N Hyde ist auf die Verwendung mit Synthesizern, Drum-Computern und Studioequipment zugeschnitten.

Sonstiges
Ein 18V-DC-Netzteil ist im Lieferumfang enthalten. (Polarität: Minus = Innen / Plus = Außen) Der Stromverbrauch liegt bei 150 mA.
Anschlüsse

Je Filterkanal:
Audioeingang und Ausgang
Cutoff-CV-Eingang

Gewicht
1.0 kg
artikelnr
RMLjnh
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 432,77 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 515,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag