Sonicsmith - Squaver P1

Overview

The Squaver P1 is a semi-modular synthesizer which can be played with, for instance, an electric guitar, bass or microphone. It comes equipped with a VCO, two sub oscillators, ring modulator, multimode filter and VCA. Thanks to the ACO technology, it is possible to play the instrument via audio signals. Besides the internal synthesis system, external equipment can be controlled as well. In use, the Squaver shines with beefy results. Its filter sounds a lot like classic acid synthesizers, but is more flexible. Accurate pitch tracking, two expression pedal inputs and three foot switches make this instrument a perfect partner for expressive performances.

Views

Details

The functional range of the Squaver P1 can be roughly divided into control and synthesis sections.

The control section

Audio signals are fed to the instrument via a 6.3 mm jack plug. The connector is followed by a preamplifier, which allows musicians to boost signals by up to 40 dB. Signals can be prepared for CV extraction via two filters. In detail, there is a three-stage high-pass circuit (16 Hz, 80 Hz, 160 Hz) with a slope of -12 dB per octave and a continuously adjustable low-pass (80 Hz to 6.4 kHz) with a slope of -24 dB per octave plus automatic tuning. The Squaver P1 analyses audio material with the help of the so-called ACO chip, an in-house development of Sonicsmith. Additionally, there is an envelope follower. The following control voltages can be tapped off the unit:

  • Pitch CV signals in the range of 0 V to +8 V. (1 V per octave)
  • Gate and trigger voltages with a signal strength of 9 V. (Threshold for gate / trigger activation: -48 dBu)
  • Envelope follower signals with a fixed decay time of 43 milliseconds. A potentiometer allows users to attenuate and / or invert control voltages generated by the envelope follower.

Furthermore, there is an expression pedal input, whose signals are converted into control voltages ranging from 0 V to +9 V.

There are dedicated mini jack outputs for pitch, expression and envelope follower signals. Gate and trigger voltages share one stereo socket. (L = Gate / R = Trigger)

A side-chain input can be used to feed a second audio signal into the Squaver P1. The audio input is followed by a two-stage level section (0 dB / +15 dB) and another envelope follower with a shorter decay time (9 milliseconds). It can be used as an alternative to the instance described above, the bipolar attenuator remains in the signal path. The side-chain can be (de)activated with the help of a foot switch.

Main and side-chain inputs feature thru outputs, which allow users to tap off audio material in front of or behind the level adjustment stages and feed it to other equipment.


The synthesis section

The ACO chip not only serves as CV extractor, but is also part of the synthesis system. More precisely, the component produces sawtooth and variably wide pulse waveforms. A mixer makes it possible to crossfade between both waves. For pitch adjustments, there are coarse and fine tune potentiometers. Both parameters can be modulated via CV inputs. Additionally, it is possible to influence the tuning via the expression pedal connector. Another control voltage input allows musicians to modulate the pulse width. The envelope follower is usable for this task as well. The pitch CV inputs can be (de)activated quickly via a foot switch.

Furthermore, there are two sub oscillators, which produce square waves one and two octaves below the main VCO. Users can crossfade between the sub oscillators. A third mixing stage combines main and sub oscillators.

Results of the VCO section can be ring modulated with external audio material. Afterwards, a VCA was placed in the Squaver’s signal flow. It can be controlled via the selected envelope follower or external CV signals. The multimode filter is switchable between an edge steepness of -12 dB or -24 dB per octave. Users can choose between high-pass, band-pass or low-pass mode. For manual adjustments, there are cutoff and resonance potentiometers. Additionally, the filter frequency can be influenced via the selected envelope follower, a CV input and the expression pedal mentioned above. On top of that, there is a second expression pedal connector just for the multimode circuit.

Finally, input material influenced only by the high-pass filter and the preamplifier can be mixed with synthesis signals. Via a foot switch, it is possible to (de)activate the Squaver’s synthesizer. For final volume adjustments, there is an output potentiometer.

miscellaneous

With the ConVertor, a smaller version of the Squaver P1 is available as well.
The Squaver P1 comes without a 9 V power supply. You can get one here .

connectors

Audio output (6.3 mm)
Audio input (6.3 mm)
Side-chain input (6.3 mm)
Main and side-chain thru outputs (6.3 mm)
Two expression pedal inputs (6.3 mm)
Pitch CV output (3.5 mm)
Envelope follower output (3.5 mm)
Two-channel gate and trigger output (3.5 mm)
Expression pedal output (3.5 mm)
Gate input (3.5 mm)
Ring modulator input (3.5 mm)
CV inputs for coarse and fine tuning, PWM, filter and the VCA (3.5 mm)
Connector for an external power supply
(Tip = positive / Ring = negative)

dimensions

Dimensions: 20 x 19 x 6
The Squaver P1 is powered by 9 V DC power supply.

Weight
0.7 kg
Article Number
SOSsp1
External Videos
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €654.62 € 19% VAT incl. €779.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Sonicsmith - Squaver P1

Überblick

Ein semimodularer Synthesizer, der sich mit beispielsweise einer E-Gitarre, Bass oder Mikrofon spielen lässt. – Der Squaver P1 bietet eine klassisch-subtraktive Klangerzeugung mit VCO, zwei Sub-Oszillatoren, Ringmodulator, Multimodefilter und VCA. Was ihn von herkömmlichen Instrumenten unterscheidet, ist sein Steuerkonzept. Dank ACO-Technologie kann man den Synthesizer mittels Audiosignalen kontrollieren. Neben der internen Klangerzeugung lässt sich auch anderes Equipment ansprechen. Der Sound des Squavers ist kernig und voll. Das Filter liefert bei hoher Resonanz stilechtes Acid-Gezwitscher. Exzellentes Pitch-Tracking, zwei Expression-Pedal-Eingänge und drei Fußschalter machen das Instrument zum perfekten Partner für facettenreiche, ausdrucksstarke Performances.

Ansichten

Details

Das Funktionsangebot vom Squaver P1 lässt sich grob in Steuer- und Synthesesektion aufteilen.

Der Steuerbereich

Audiosignale werden mit Hilfe einer 6,3 mm Klinkenbuchse in das Instrument eingeführt. Der nachstehende Vorverstärker erlaubt Pegelanhebungen um bis zu 40 dB. Vor der CV-Extraktion können Signale mit Hilfe von zwei Filtern beschnitten werden. Im Detail stehen eine dreistufige Hochpassschaltung (16 Hz, 80 Hz, 160 Hz) mit -12 dB / Oktave Flankensteilheit sowie ein stufenlos regulierbarer Tiefpass (80 Hz bis 6,4 kHz) mit -24 dB / Oktave Flankensteilheit und automatischem Tuning bereit. Der Squaver P1 analysiert Audiomaterial per ACO-Chip, einer Eigenentwicklung der Firma Sonicsmith. Ergänzend gibt es einen Envelope-Follower. Folgende Steuerspannungen lassen sich abgreifen:

  • Pitch-CV-Signale nach dem Standard 1 V pro Oktave. (Arbeitsbereich: 0 V bis +8 V)
  • Gate- und Trigger-Signale mit einer Stärke von 9 V. (Schwellenwert für die Aktivierung: -48 dBu)
  • Envelope-Follower-Signale mit einer fixen Decay-Zeit von 43 ms. Ein bipolarer Abschwächer erlaubt die Dämpfung und / oder Invertierung von generierten Spannungen.

Darüber hinaus gibt es einen Expression-Pedal-Eingang, dessen Signale in Steuerspannungen von 0 V bis +9 V umgemünzt werden.

Für Pitch-, Envelope-Follower- und Expression-Spannungen gibt es dedizierte Miniklinkenausgänge. Gate- und Trigger-Signale teilen sich eine Stereobuchse. (L = Gate / R = Trigger)

Mittels Side-Chain-Kanal lässt sich ein zweites Audiosignal in den Squaver P1 führen. Auf den Audioeingang folgt eine zweistufige Pegelsektion (0 dB / +15 dB) und ein weiterer Envelope Follower mit kürzerer Decay-Zeit (9 ms). Er kann alternativ zur oben beschriebenen Instanz eingesetzt werden. Der bipolare Abschwächer bleibt im Signalweg. Per Fußschalter lässt sich der Side-Chain-Kanal (de)aktivieren.

Haupt- und Side-Chain-Eingang besitzen Thru-Wege, mit deren Hilfe sich Audiomaterial vor oder hinter der Pegelregelung abgreifen und an anderes Equipment senden lässt.

Der Synthesebereich

Der ACO-Chip dient nicht nur der CV-Extraktion, sondern ist auch Teil des Synthesesystems. Genauer erzeugt das Bauteil Sägezahn- und variabel breite Pulswellen, die sich mit Hilfe des nachstehenden Mixers in beliebigem Mischverhältnis kombinieren lassen. Grob- und Feinstimmungsregler erlauben Tonhöhenanpassungen. Beide Parameter können mittels CV-Eingängen und Expression-Pedal moduliert werden. Ein weiterer Steuerspannungsweg macht Pulsweitenmodulationen möglich. Die Envelope-Follower lassen sich ebenfalls für diesen Zweck einsetzen. Die Stimmungs-CV-Eingänge sind mittels Fußschalter (de)aktivierbar.

Ergänzend gibt es zwei Sub-Oszillatoren, die Rechteckwellen produzieren. Die Signale liegen ein und zwei Oktaven unterhalb des Haupt-VCOs. Die Sub-Oszillatoren lassen sich ebenfalls mixen. Eine dritte Mischstufe fügt schließlich die Signale von Haupt- und Sub-VCOs zusammen.

Die Ergebnisse des Oszillatorsystems können mit externem Audiomaterial ringmoduliert werden. Nachstehend folgt ein VCA, der durch den gewählten Envelope Follower oder externe CV-Signale steuerbar ist. Danach geht es in das Multimodefilter. Es bietet eine Flankensteilheit von -12 dB oder -24 dB pro Oktave. An Filtercharakteristika stehen Hochpass, Bandpass und Tiefpass zur Auswahl. Cutoff- und Resonanzregler erlauben manuelle Einstellungen. Ergänzend lässt sich die Filterfrequenz durch den gewählten Envelope Follower, einen CV-Eingang und den schon erwähnten Expression-Pedal-Weg beeinflussen. Obendrauf gibt es, nur für die Multimodeschaltung, noch eine zweite Expression-Pedal-Buchse.

Abschließend kann durch Hochpassfilter und Pegelregelung beeinflusstes Eingangsmaterial mit Synthesesignalen gemischt werden. Per Fußschalter lässt sich die Klangerzeugung des Squavers (de)aktivieren. Ein Output-Potentiometer macht finale Lautstärkeanpassungen möglich.

Sonstiges

Mit dem ConVertor ist auch eine kleinere Version des Squavers erhältlich.
Ein 9 V DC-Netzteil ist nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten. Ein passendes Modell gibt es hier.

Anschlüsse

Audioausgang (6,3 mm)
Audioeingang (6,3 mm)
Side-Chain-Eingang (6,3 mm)
Main- und Side-Chain-Thru-Ausgänge (6,3 mm)
Zwei Expression-Pedal-Eingänge (6,3 mm)
Pitch-CV-Ausgang (3,5 mm)
Envelope-Follower-Ausgang (3,5 mm)
Zweikanaliger Gate- und Trigger-Ausgang (3,5 mm)
Expression-Pedal-Ausgang (3,5 mm)
Gate-Eingang (3,5 mm)
Ringmodulator-Audioeingang (3,5 mm)
CV-Eingänge für Grob- und Feinstimmung, PWM, Filter und VCA (3,5 mm)
Buchse für DC-Netzteil (Tip = Negativ / Ring = Positiv)

Abmessungen

20 mal 19 mal 6 Zentimeter
Stromversorgung: Externes 9 V DC-Netzteil

Gewicht
0.7 kg
artikelnr
SOSsp1
Externe Videos
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 654,62 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 779,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1