Sonocurrent - M T2D

Overview

The Sonocurrent MT2D Dual Triode Distortion covers the entire range from soft saturation to haaaard clipping. The module consists of two (identical) units and invites you to explore all variants of parallel, serial and/or cross-connections. We can imagine many places in a patch for this module: As a waveshaper behind the oscillator, in the feedback path of delays, as a distortion before or behind the VCA. And it is especially suitable as stereo saturator at the end of the chain for delicate colouration of the whole mix. Or as a tool for external signals to add the finishing touch to a track or group track (drums!).

Views

Details

Sonocurrent is the new company of Graham Watson, who previously worked with Eric Schlappi (of Schlappi Engineering). This module is a partial collaboration with the latter, but also the first step for Graham Watson towards his own Eurorack portfolio. We can definitely expect some more modules in the future.

MT2D is a really good first appearance: Quality and ergonomics of frontpanel, knobs and jacks is excellent. And in terms of sound quality, it masterfully covers a very wide range.

The module owes its sound above all to the two NuTube triodes. This makes it the first module in Eurorack to use these new tubes, introduced by Korg/Noritake a few years ago. In contrast to classic tubes, you don't have to worry about your power supply and the durability is given as 30,000 hours. They are identical to classic tubes in construction and operation, but here the electrons flow through a Fluorescent Light Display. The sound is definitely “tubular”. And we take it as a sign that in the meantime NuTubes also found their way in HiFi (headphone) amplifiers and of course guitar pedals and preamps.

A very important parameter for tubes is the "bias", an (offset) voltage, which is manually adjustable on the MT2D and also via CV. This parameter influences the overtone structure of the distortion, which can then be further adjusted manually with "drive" and "feedback".

The "mix" dry/wet control is also CV-controllable. Especially when used at the very end of the chain, you can use it to dial in the effect very finely. Or you can also create a screaming distortion which can then be rhythmically gated or faded.

The spectrum can then be further influenced and worked out with the tilt filter. Around a fixed frequency it emphasizes the low end and thins out the high end by turning it to the left and the other way round by turning it to the right. The important parts of the spectrum can be easily accented in this way. Very subtle settings are possible here. But in combination with high feedback settings you also can "collapse" the signal in one direction and let it scream.

In the middle is the switch "voltage". This is the only switch that has a global effect on both circuits. It influences the anode voltage and thus the basic character of the module, which can be changed between smoother distortion and really violent clipping. With the MT2D you will get a hugely versatile, stereo distortion and processing module. Hear for yourself at our showroom!

connectors
Inputs:
Audio: 2*in
CV: 2*bias, 2*mix
Outputs:
Audio: 2*out
dimensions
3U Eurorack module, 18HP wide, 33mm deep
Powerconsumption: 111mA +12V, 65mA -12V
Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
SOCmt2d
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available

Regular Price: €399.00

Special Price: € 19% VAT excl. €293.28 19% VAT incl. €349.00

Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Sonocurrent - M T2D

Überblick

Das Sonocurrent MT2D Dual Triode Distortion deckt die ganze Palette von sanfter Sättigung bis gaaaanz hartem Clipping. Das Modul besteht aus zwei (identischen) Einheiten und lädt ein alle Varianten von hinter-, nebeneinander und Kreuzverschaltungen zu erkunden. Wir können uns für dieses Modul viele Stellen in einem Patch vorstellen: Als Waveshaper hinter dem Oszillator, im Feedback-Weg von Delays, als – klar – Verzerrer vor oder hinter dem VCA. Besonders aber eignet es sich ganz am Ende eines Patches / des Systems, vor dem Stereoausgang für zarte oder brachiale Anfärbungen des ganzen Mixes. Oder auch als Werkzeug für externe Signale um einem Track oder Gruppenspur (Drums!) den letzten Schliff zu geben.

Ansichten

Details

Sonocurrent ist die neue Firma von Graham Watson, der vorher mit Eric Schlappi zusammengearbeitet hat. Auch dieses Modul ist eine teilweise Kooperation mit Eric Schlappi, aber auch der erste Schritt für Graham Watson zu seiner eigenen Eurorack-Kollektion. Für die Zukunft können wir definitiv noch einige Module erwarten.

MT2D ist ein richtig guter erster Auftritt: Die Verarbeitung ist sehr hochwertig, die Frontplatte ist übersichtlich und die Buchsen gut platziert. Und klanglich deckt es souverän eine ganz große Bandbreite ab.

Seinen Klang verdankt das Modul vor allem den zwei NuTube-Trioden. Es ist somit das erste Modul in Eurorack, welches diese vor einigen Jahren erst von Korg/Noritake eingeführten neuartigen Röhren verwendet. Im Gegensatz zu klassischen Röhren muss man sich hier nicht um seine Stromversorgung sorgen und die Haltbarkeit wird mit 30.000 Stunden angegeben. Im Aufbau und Operationsweise sind sie identisch, nur fließen hier die Elektronen durch ein Fluorescent Light Display. Der Klang ist definitiv röhrig und amtlich. Mittlerweile finden sich NuTubes auch in HiFi (Kopfhörer)Verstärkern und natürlich Gitarren-Effektgeräten und Preamps.

Ein ganz wichtiger Parameter bei Röhren ist der „bias“, eine (Offset)Spannung, die beim MT2D individuell und auch per CV regelbar ist. Dieser Paramter wirkt auf die Betonung der Obertöne in der Verzerrung, die dann mit „drive“ und „feedback“ manuell weiter reingedreht werden kann.

Ebenfalls CV-kontrollierbar ist der "mix"-Regler. Gerade in der Verwendung ganz am Ende der Kette kann man hiermit den Effekt sehr fein anteilig dosieren. Oder aber auch eine krasse Verzerrung rhythmisch gaten / überblenden.

Das Spektrum kann dann mit dem Tilt-Filter weiter beeinflusst und herausgearbeitet werden. Es senkt um eine feste Frequenz herum nach links die Höhen ab und betont die Tiefen und nach rechts…umgekehrt. Die für einen wichtigen Anteile des Spektrums lassen sich so hervorholen. Auch hier sind sehr subtile Einstellungen möglich. In Zusammenarbeit mit hohen Feedback-Einstellungen kann man das Signal aber auch in eine Richtung kippen und schreien lassen.

Ganz in der Mitte befindet sich noch der Schalter „voltage“. Dies ist der einzige Schalter, der sich global auf beide Schaltkreise auswirkt. Er beeinflusst die Anodenspannung und somit den Grund-Charakter, der damit zwischen smoother Verzerrung und wirklich heftigen Clipping gewechselt werden kann.

Mit dem MT2D präsentiert Sonocurrent in Stereo ein immens vielseitiges Verzerrungs- oder besser Prozessierungs-Modul. Bereit zum Antesten in unserem Showroom!

Anschlüsse
Eingänge:
Audio: 2*in
CV: 2*bias, 2*mix
Ausgänge:
Audio: 2*out
Abmessungen
3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 18TE breit, 33mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 111mA +12V, 65mA -12V
Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
SOCmt2d
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar

Regulärer Preis: 399,00 €

Sonderpreis: € exkl. 19% MwSt. 293,28 € inkl. 19% MwSt. 349,00 €

zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1