Sputnik Modular - Dual Oscillator

Overview

The Dual Oscillator module is Sputnik's interpretation of a buchlidian complex analog oscillator consisting of two generators: a modulation oscllator with standard waveforms which can be used for itself alone but is primarily intended for modulating the main oscillator's parameters. Latter has, besides an adjustable sync, a plethora of possibilities for altering the harmonic spectrum like targeted emphasis of overtones and a wave multiplier. On the whole it's a soundwise wide-band oscillator having a distinct sound.

Views

Details

Both oscillators have following in common: audio frequency range of 27.5Hz to 7kHz, an 1/Voctave input for tonal play, scalable CV and FM inputs as well as coarse and fine frequency controls.

The left VCO, alias the modulation oscillator, can be set into LFO mode with a switch. Available, alternatively available waveforms are triangle, sawtooth and square which are available alternatively at the Select output; the triangle has an individual output in addition. The VCO an be synchronized to the second one by flicking the sync switch. An unipolar CV output is avilable, too.
In the modulation section you determine how strong the first VCO modulates the second one - the modulation intensity is set with a control an by a CV. You can select amplitude, frequency or the timbre parameter (see below) as modulation destinations.

The right VCO, alias the main oscillator, offers a sync input with adjustable sync strength. The basic waveforms sine and square are available at individual outputs, additionally there's the final output which emits the signal which has been processed by the Harmonics and Timbre section.

The Harmonics section features two voltage controllable parameter: "symmetry", setting the relation between even and odd harmonics and "order" which emphasizes low or high order harmonics.
The Timbre section is a voltage controllable wave multiplier which processes the sine wave by clippig and folding, producing a rich metallic sound.

connectors

INPUTS:
generator 1: 1V/octave, frequency CV, FM
modulation section: modulation intensity CV
generator 2: 1V/octave, frequency CV, FM, sync
harmonics: symmetry CV, order CV
timbre: intensity CV

OUTPUTS:
generator 1: triangle, selected waveform, CV out
generator 2: sine, square, final

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 28HP wide
module requires +5V and has two power cables.

Weight
0.3 kg
Article Number
SPUdo

This item is discontinued or sold out and no longer available, please feel free to look for comparable new stuff in the following categories.

Sputnik Modular - Dual Oscillator

Überblick

Der Dual Oscillator ist Sputniks Interpretation eines buchloiden komplexen Analog-Oszillators, der aus zwei Generatoren besteht: einem Modulationsoszillator mit Standard-Wellenfromen, der unabhängig benutzt werden kann, aber hauptsächlich zur Modulation des Hauptoszillators dient. Letzterer hat neben regelbarem Sync vielfältige Möglichkeiten zur Einstellung des harmonischen Spektrums wie gezielte Betonung von Obertönen und einen Wave-Multiplier. Alles in einem ein klanglich breitbandiger Oszillator mit einem eigenen Klang.

Ansichten

Details

Beiden Oszillatoren ist der Audio-Frequenzbereich von 27,5 Hz bis 7 kHz, ein 1V/Oktave-Eingang zum tonalen Spiel, je ein abschwächbarer CV- und ein FM-Eingang sowei Regelr zur groben und feinen Frequnzeinstellung gemein.

Der linke VCO, alias der Modulationsoszillator, kann durch einen Schalter auch in den LFO-Frequenzbereich versetzt werden. An Wellenformen finden wir alternativ Dreieck, Sägezahn und Rechteck, die am Select-Ausgang anliegen. Das Dreieck bietet zusätzlich einen Einzelausgang. Der VCO kann mittels des Sync-Schiebeschalters zum zweiten VCO synchronisiert werden. Ein unipolarer CV-Ausgang rundet das Paket ab.
In der Modulations-Sektion wird bestimmt, wie stark der erste VCO den zweiten moduliert - die Modulationsintensität wird mit einem Regler und einer CV bestimmt. Als Modulationsziele kann man die Amplitude, die Frequenz oder den Timbre-Parameter (siehe unten) wählen.

Der rechte VCO, alias der Hauptoszillator, bietet einen Sync-Eingang mit einstellbarer Sync-Stärke. Die Grundwellenformen Sinus und Rechteck stehen an Einzelausgängen zur Verfügung, zusätzlich gibt es den Final-Ausgang, der das Ergebnis der Bearbeitung durch die Harmonics- und Timbre-Sektionen ausgibt.

Die Harmonics-Sektion bietet zwei spannungssteuerbare Parameter: "Symmetry", der das Verhältnis zwischen geraden (even) und ungeraden (odd) Obertönen steuert und "Order", der die tiefen oder hohen Obertöne betont.
Die Timbre-Sektion ist ein spannunsgssteuerbarer Wave Multiplier, der die Sinuswelle durch Beschneidung und Faltung bearbeitet und einen metallischen Klang produziert.

Anschlüsse

EINGÄNGE:
Generator 1: 1V/Oktave, CV der Frequenz, FM
Modulationssektion: CV der Modulationsintensität
Generator 2: 1V/Oktave, CV der Frequenz, FM, Sync
Harmonics: Symmetrie-CV, Order-CV
Timbre: CV der Intensität

AUSGÄNGE:
Generator 1: Dreieck, selektierte Wellenform, CV-Ausgang
Generator 2: Sinus, Rechteck, Final

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 28 TE breit
Modul benötigt +5V und hat zwei Stromkabel.

Gewicht
0.3 kg
artikelnr
SPUdo

Dieser Artikel ist abgekündigt oder ausverkauft und nicht mehr verfügbar, bitte suchen Sie gern auch in den folgenden Kategorien nach Ersatz.