Steady State Fate - Ultra Random Analog

Overview

Random = an event lacking predictability. The Ultra Random Analog module provides you with more than enough of this, in a number of different styles:
Three clocked stepped signals based on sample & hold circuits: two are fed by internal noise, either hard stepped or smoothed by a slew circuit plus a third flavour which alternates betweeen both S&Hs and can be fed by external signals. Then there's an entirely voltage controllable fluctuating random output, a voltage controllable generator of random gates and triggers and finally a vactrol based integrator. And as the module needs a clock, it has a wide frequency range clock generator integrated, able to track 1V/octave.

Views

Details

Many of the URA's functions depend on clocks or pulse signals for which reason SSF integrated a clock generator in the module. It is temperature conpensated and the frequency is controllable via a potentiometer or a CV, the latter tracking 1V per octave. Two frequency rages can be selected from.
The generated clock is normalized to some sections of the Ultra Random Analog and it is available at the CLK OUT for other use. Alternatively you can feed the module with an external clock.

Sample & Hold unit A is fed internally by an noise generator and the time point of sampling is determined by the clock generator. The output level is set with the SAMPLE-A LEVEL potentiometer. At higher clock rates the output will produce a digitalized noise whose samling rate is depending on the clock frequency. It is also possible to sample an external signal at the SAMPLE-IN socket instead of the internal noise.
Sample & Hold unit B is quite identical, only difference is that it's possible to smoothen the S&H output with the SAMPLE-B SLEW parameter.

in addition to the two S&H described above the Ultra Random Analog has another Sample & hold unit called TOGGLE A/B, which with each clock impulse alternates its sample source between the one and the other noise generator (or the external Sample In signal). To make it more interesting the clock is passed with a slight delay to produce variations. At high rate clocks FM-like sounds can be produced.

R-PULSE is a very powerful section of the module. It generates random pulse signals, independent on sample inputs or clocks. The DENSITY parameter controls manually or via CV the density of the pulses ot in other words their frequency - from sub- to audio range. Besides this the Pulse Stage Divider offers seven different clock divisors to be selected from.
R-Pulse can be used as a tuned digital noise or as a clock for the sample & holds of the module. Especially crosswise patching with other sections promises many experimantal results.

R-FLUX is a smoothely fluctuating random voltage suitable for subtle modulations, in order to add some life to an otherwise static signal. With each impulse of the external or internal clock (normalized) a new CV value is generated to which the R-Flux slowly drifts. There are two CV inputs: INFLUENCE for setting the slew rate and PROBABILITY to determine if the section is to produce rather negative or positive CVs. Additional attenuators are recommended for these CV inputs.

Behind the ominous term OPTO-INTEGRATE a slew limiter with voltage controllable slew time is hiden. Due to the fact a vactrol is used the characteristic is not linear as with other slew limiters and it also reacts better to rising edges than falling ones. You can use it with bi-polar signals. R-Pulse's output is normalized to the integrator's input i.e. it produces another smooth voltage without having to patch anything.

connectors

sample: inputs A and B, outputs A and B, toggle A/B output
clock: input, output, FM input
R-Pulse: density CV input, output
R-Flux: influence CV input, probability CV input, output
opto integrate: input, CV input, output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 10HP wide, 33mm deep
maximal power consumption: 76mA @ +12V and 47mA @ -12V

Weight
0.142 kg
Article Number
SSFura
External Videos
availability ? will be ordered on request
€ 19% VAT excl. €251.26 € 19% VAT incl. €299.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Steady State Fate - Ultra Random Analog

Überblick

Zufall = ein Ereignis ohne kausale Erklärung. Im Ultra Random Analog gibt es davon mehr als genug, in verschiedensten Facetten:
Drei verschiedene treppenförmige, auf Sample & Hold-Schaltungen aubauende Signale: zwei, die von internem Rauschen gespeist werden; entweder hart gestuft oder durch Slew geglättet sowie einer, der zwichen den beiden S&Hs alterniert und externe Signale samplen kann. Dazu ein vollkommen spannungssteuerbarer fluktuierender Zufallsausgang, ein spannungssteuerbarer Generator für zufällige Gates und Trigger und letztlich ein Vactrol-basierter Integrator. Und da das Modul eine Clock benötigt, ist gleich ein Clockgenerator integriert, der 1V/Oktave tracken kann und einen sehr weiten Frequenzbereich bietet.

Ansichten

Details

Viele Funktionen des URA sind von Clocks oder Pulssignalen abhängig, weswegen SSF dem Modul einen Clockgenerator spendierte. Er ist temperaturkompensiert, seine Frequenz ist mit einem Potentiometer regelbar und der CV-Eingang trackt ein Volt pro Oktave. Zwei Frequenzbereiche stehen zur Auswahl.
Die generierte Clock ist auf die verschiedenen Sektionen des URA normalisiert, kann aber auch zur weiteren Verwendung an der Buchse CLK OUT abgegriffen werden. Alternativ kann man das Modul mit einer externen Clock füttern.

Sample & Hold-Einheit A wird intern von einem Rauschgenerator gespeist und der Sample-Zeitpunkt vom Clockgenerator bestimmt. Der Ausgangspegel wird mit dem Regler SAMPLE-A LEVEL eingestellt. Bei hohen Clock-Geschwindigkeiten gibt der Ausgang ein digitalisiertes Rauschen aus, dessen Samplingrate von der Clockfrequenz abhängig ist. Es ist auch möglich, anstatt des internen Rauschgenerators ein externes Signal an der SAMPLE-IN-Buchse zu samplen.
Die Sample & Hold -Einheit B ist identisch aufgebaut, mit dem einzigen Unterschied, daß man mit dem Poti SAMPLE-B SLEW das gestufte S&H-Ausgangssignal glätten kann.

Zusätzlich zu den beiden oben beschriebenen S&Hs hat das Ultra Random Analog noch eine weitere Sample&Hold-Variante namens TOGGLE A/B, die bei jedem Clockimpuls ihr Samplesignal abwechselnd von dem einen oder anderen Rauschgenerator und/oder dem externen Sample-In-Signal sich holt. Um es interessant zu machen, wird die Clock leicht verzögert weitergegeben, so, daß Variationen entstehen. Bei schnellen Clocks können FM-artige Töne entstehen.

R-PULSE ist eine sehr leistungsfähige Sektion des Ultra Random Analog. Es generiert zufällige Pulssignale, unabhängig von Sample-Eingängen oder vom Clockgenerator. Der DENSITY-Parameter steuert manuell oder über CV die Dichte des Pulse, also ihre Frequenz - vom Infraschallbereich bis in Audiogeschwindigkeiten. Ferner gibt es mit dem Pulse Stage Divider einen Taster, der durch sieben verschiedene Teilerfaktoren schaltet.
Man kann R-Pulse als stimm- und spielbares Digitalrauschen nutzen oder als Clock für die Sample&Holds des Moduls. Gerade das experimentelle Über-Kreuz-Patchen mit den anderen Sektionen verspricht viele ungewöhnliche Ergebnisse.

R-FLUX ist eine sanft fluktuierende Zufallsspannung, die sich für subtile Modulationen eignet, um einem statischen Signal ein wenig mehr Leben zu verleihen. Bei jedem Clockimpuls der externen oder internen Clock (normalisiert), wird eine neue Spannung generiert, zu der R-FLUX sehr langsam gleitet. Es gibt zwei CV-Eingänge: INFLUENCE stellt die Slew-Geschwindigkeit ein; PROBABILITY die die Wahrscheinlichkeit, ob die Sektion eher negative oder positive CVs produziert. An dieser Stelle seien zusätzliche Abschwächer empfohlen.

Unter dem ominösen Begriff OPTO-INTEGRATE versteckt sich ein Slew Limiter mit spannungssteuerbarer Slew-Zeit. Dadurch, daß er einen Vactrol einsetzt, ist die Charakteristik nicht linear wie sonst und steigende Flanken werden auch besser verarbeitet als fallende. Man kann ihn mit bipolaren Signalen einsetzen. Der Ausgang von R-Pulse ist auf den Eingang des Integrators normalisiert, d.h. er produziert ohne irgendwas Patchen zu müssen eine weitere weiche Zufallsspannung.

Anschlüsse

Sample: Eingänge A und B, Ausgänge A und B, Toggle A/B-Ausgang
Clock: Eingang, Ausgang, FM-Eingang
R-Pulse: Density CV-Eingang, Ausgang
R-Flux: Influence CV-Eingang, Probability CV-Eingang, Ausgang
Opto-Integrate: Eingang, CV-Eingang, Ausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 10 TE breit, 33 mm tief
maximaler Stromverbrauch: 76 mA auf +12 V und 47 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.142 kg
artikelnr
SSFura
Verfügbarkeit ? verfügbar auf Anfrage
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 251,26 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 299,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1