Strange Science Instruments - F1 Stereo Lowpass Filter

Overview

Far more than just a Moog clone! – The F1 consists of two voltage-controllable transistor ladder low-pass circuits. The filters can be used individually or as a linked pair with optional offset. Thus, besides separate respectively parallel operation, it is also possible to evenly process stereo material or to create serial patches with two shifted resonance peaks. Thanks to three switchable filter slopes, you can not only enjoy classic Moog sound, but also alter signals in a velvety soft fashion. Saturation stages add roaring overdrive, if desired.

Views

Details

The F1 is a two-channel transistor ladder filter with a unique feature set. The audio inputs are followed by a combination of level control and saturation stage. With the associated potentiometers in 12 o’clock position, you have unity gain. Higher settings make the saturation stages produce beefy distortion.

Next in line are the actual filters. Cutoff frequencies and resonance values are not only editable by hand, but can also be controlled via CV inputs. The edge steepness is chosen for both filters. The following options are available:

  • -12 dB per octave: In this mode of operation, the F1 features a very gentle sound character. It is somewhat reminiscent of the Oberheim SEM filter. The resonance can be used to sharpen signals. Self-oscillation is not possible in this mode of operation. We recommend the -12 dB per octave setting for creating soft leads and pads. Furthermore, this mode is perfect while playing live, as sounds can be faded in and out very smoothly.
  • -18 dB per octave: Every bit as charming as the -12 dB mode, yet cutoff and resonance are noticeably more powerful. Combined with the roaring saturation, you can create twitchy basses with a little TB-303 flavor.
  • -24 dB per octave: Classic Moog sound! The resonance is meticulously fine-tuned. Self-oscillation is reached only right before the end of the potentiometers' control ranges. The sensitive calibration gives the F1 an almost surgical character.

As usual with transistor ladder circuits, low frequencies are properly thinned out by high resonance values. You can take countermeasures via the saturation stages. An offset control makes it possible to set the cutoff frequencies of both channels apart from each other. A tip: With both filters receiving the same audio signal, vocal-like sounds can be produced at high resonance values and offset cutoff frequencies. Connecting the VCFs in series, on the other hand, gives you to resonance peaks. – Also very interesting for sound experiments. Without an offset, an edge steepness of -48 dB per octave may be created by wiring both filters in series.

Level increases generated by the saturation stages can be compensated with the help of additional volume controls right in front of the audio outputs.

An important feature of the F1 module is the Stereo Link switch. While active, all parameters of both channels can be controlled solely by the potentiometers and CV inputs on the left side of the front-panel. – Perfect for modular DJ sessions and live performances.

connectors

Per filter:
Audio input and output
Cutoff CV input
Resonance CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 16 HP wide, 35 mm in depth

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
SSIf1
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €368.91 € 19% VAT incl. €439.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Strange Science Instruments - F1 Stereo Lowpass Filter

Überblick

Weit mehr als nur ein Moog-Klon! – Das F1 setzt sich aus zwei spannungssteuerbaren Transistor-Ladder-Tiefpässen zusammen. Die Schaltungen lassen sich einzeln oder als verlinktes Paar nutzen, wahlweise inklusive Offset. Hierdurch sind, neben getrenntem beziehungsweise parallelem Betrieb, auch gleichmäßige Stereofilterungen und serielle Patches mit zwei versetzten Resonanzspitzen möglich. Dank dreierlei Flankensteilheit kann man nicht nur klassisch-breiten Moog-Sound genießen, sondern auch samtig-weiche Frequenzbeschneidungen vollführen. Sättigungsstufen addieren auf Wunsch dröhnende Zerrungen.

Ansichten

Details

Das F1 ist ein zweikanaliges Transistor-Ladder-Filter mit eigenständigem Feature-Set. Hinter den Audioeingängen finden sich kombinierte Pegelregelungs- und Sättigungsstufen. Stehen die zugehörigen Potentiometer auf 12-Uhr-Position, erhält man den Verstärkungsfaktor Eins. Darüber beginnen die Schaltungen, deftige Zerrungen zu generieren.

Anschließend folgen die eigentlichen Filter. Grenzfrequenz und Resonanz lassen sich nicht nur manuell, sondern auch mittels Steuerspannungseingängen beeinflussen. Die Flankensteilheit wird für beide Tiefpässe gemeinsam ausgewählt. Folgende Optionen stehen bereit:

  • -12 dB / Oktave: Das F1 liefert wohlig-samtige Frequenzbeschneidungen, die ein wenig an Oberheims SEM erinnern. Mit der Resonanz kann man Signale freundlich anspitzen, Selbstoszillation ist in diesem Modus nicht möglich. – Eine spezielle Empfehlung für geschmeidige Leads und Pads. Darüber hinaus auch im Live-Betrieb eine tolle Sache, denn Sounds lassen sich in dieser Betriebsart sehr sanft ein- und ausblenden.
  • -18 dB / Oktave: Ähnlich charmant wie die -12dB-Betriebsart, Grenzfrequenz und Resonanz packen aber schon merklich kräftiger zu. Kombiniert mit der dröhnenden Sättigung lassen sich zwitschernd-zerrende Bässe zaubern, die entfernt an eine TB-303 erinnern.
  • -24 dB / Oktave: Der Klangcharakter geht stark in Richtung Moog. Dank penibler Feinabstimmung reicht die Resonanz gerade so bis in die pfeifende Selbstoszillation. Durch die feinfühlige Kalibrierung erhält das F1 einen fast schon chirurgischen Charakter.

Tiefe Frequenzen werden, wie bei Transistor-Ladder-Schaltungen üblich, durch hohe Resonanzwerte ordentlich ausgedünnt. – Mit Hilfe der Sättigungsstufe kann man aber leicht gegensteuern. Ein Offset-Regler erlaubt es, die Grenzfrequenzen der beiden Kanäle voneinander abzusetzen. Ein Tipp: Führt man beiden Filtern das gleiche Signal zu, lassen sich, bei hohen Resonanzwerten und versetzten Grenzfrequenzen, vokalartige Sounds formen. – Mittels gegenläufiger Cutoff-Modulationen sind besonders lebendige Ergebnisse möglich. Bei serieller Verschaltung der Filter hat man hingegen zwei Resonanzspitzen zur Hand. – Auch sehr interessant für Klangexperimente. Ohne Offset kann man, durch die serielle Kombination beider Filter, eine Flankensteilheit von -48 dB pro Oktave kreieren.

Durch die Sättigungsstufen erzeugte Pegelanhebungen lassen sich, mit Hilfe von Lautstärkeregelungen vor den Audioausgängen, leicht kompensieren.

Ein wichtiges Feature des F1-Moduls ist der Stereo-Link-Schalter. Bei Aktivität sind sämtliche Parameter beider Kanäle allein durch die Potentiometer und CV-Eingänge des linksseitig auf der Frontplatte befindlichen Tiefpass-Weges steuerbar. – Perfekt für modulare DJ-Sessions und Live-Performances.

Anschlüsse

Je Filter:
Audioeingang
Grenzfrequenz-CV-Eingang
Resonanz-CV-Eingang
Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 16 TE breit, 35 mm tief

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
SSIf1
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 368,91 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 439,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1