Tiptop Audio - Spring Waves (Z-DSP card)

Overview

The Spring Waves extends the Z-DSP's effect palette by Physical Modeling algorithms which simulate the behavior of excited natural objects like pipes, strings, membranes, springs, metal rods or wood blocks.
Six effects on this cartridge are specialized on Waveguide Synthesis which is ahead of the karpulss-Strong synthesis. Two effects are spring models which emulate a mass-spring system with their physical properties like force, motion, friction and mechanic limits.

Details

Principle of waveguide synthesis: an impulse or a short sound excite a very short delay which is fed back into the input after having passed a low pass filter. The delay time determines the pitch and the feedback determines the decay time. Digital waveguides combine and connect together a number of these algorithms.

This model calculates at the sampling rate all of the Newtonian forces controlling the behaviour of a mass-spring system, and takes into account the following factors: the spring itself and its return force (with a potentially non linear behaviour), a point where one side of the spring is attached, a mass attached on the other side, fluid friction depending on the speed of the mobile mass, mechanical limits (a physical spring can’t stretch out infinitely) and static and dynamic frictions (friction due to the contact with a rough surface).
The audio input is used either to “move” the point where one side of the spring is attached, or as force directly applied to the moving mass on the other side. The audio output is directly provided by the motion of the moving mass.

Common controls:
Waveguide models ( the first six ones): L+R inputs can be used same way. Control 1 defines pitch, Control 2 is damping the sound.
Spring models (the last two): left input is regular input, right input is an alternate input. Control 1 is the hardness of the spring, similar to frequency of a filter; Control 2 is the Fluid Friction, slowing down the mass, similar to a filter resonance.

Programs:

  1. Double Waveguide Mixed: two waveguides which are mixed and then fed back. Pitch adjustable separately.
  2. String Waveguide: Waveguide simulating a plucked string. Pitch of both waveguide is controllable individually.
  3. Bass Waveguide: Specialized on bass processing. PitchEnv controls depth of the envelope follower modulating the waveguide pitch.
  4. Minor Chords: Four waveguides, three of them are tuned to a minor chord. The fourth can be tuned to a fourth, minor seventh, seventh or octave with Chord.
  5. Waveguide Mesh 1: Four waveguides with frequency spread, which is controlled with Spread.
  6. Waveguide Mesh 4: Like program #5 but the waveguides are interconnected.
  7. Spring Filter 3 (LP): Spring model resembling a lowpass lowpass. Force sets the spring's force, Friction the amount of friction (like inverse resonance), Lin-3 at the same time the linearity of spring hardness and friction.
  8. Static Friction 2: Spring model with static friction. Great for destroying and crunching sounds. Force and Friction see above, Static controls amount of static friction (the higher the more it will scratch).

dimensions

ca. 35 x 17 mm

Weight
0.005 kg
Article Number
TTA-ZcSW
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €63.03 € 19% VAT incl. €75.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

Tiptop Audio - Spring Waves (Z-DSP card)

Überblick

Das Spring Waves erweitert die Effektpalette des Z-DSP um Physical Modeling-Algorithmen, die das Verhalten angereger natürlicher Objekte wie Röhren, Saiten, Membranen, Federn, Metall- oder Holzstäbe simulieren.
Sechs Effekte dieser Karte sind spezialisiert auf die Waveguide-Synthese, die der Karpluss-Strong-Synthese etwas voraus ist. Zwei Efekte sind Spring-Modelle, die ein Masse-Feder-Prinzip emulieren und ihre physikalische Eigenschaften wie Kraft, Bewegung, Reibung und mechanische Grenzen nachahmen.

Details

Prinzip der Waveguide-Synthese: ein Impuls oder ein kurzer Klang regen ein sehr kurzes Delay an, das zurück in den Eingang geleitet wird, nach dem Passieren eines Tiefpassfilters. Die Delayzeit bestimmt die Tonhöhe, das Feedback die Ausklingzeit. Digitale Waveguides kombinieren und verschalten diverse dieser Algorithmen zusammen.

Das Federmodell berechnet in Samplinggeschwindigkeit alle Newton'schen Kräfte, die das Verhalten eine Masse-Feder-Systems steuern und berücksichtigt folgende Faktoren: Die Feder als solche, ihre Rückkehrkraft mit potenziell nicht-linearem Verhalten, ferner zwei Punkte (an denen einerseits die Feder montiert, andererseits eine Masse befestigt ist); die flüssige Reibung, die von der Geschwindigkeit der bewegten Masse abhängt; mechanische Grenzen (eine Feder kann sich nicht unendlich ausdehnen) und letztlich statische wie dynamische Reibung, die beim Kontakt mit einer rauhen Oberfläche entstehen.
Der Audioeingang wird entweder benutzt, um den Aufhängepunkt der Feder zu bewegen oder als Kraft, die direkt auf die bewegte Masse angewendet wird. Der Audioausgang wird aus der Bewegung der Masse gespeist.

Gemeinsame Regler:
Waveguide-Modelle (die ersten sechs): Eingänge L+R können auf gleiche Art verwendet werden. Control 1 bestimmt Tonhöhe, Control 2 dämpft den Klang.
Federmodelle (die letzten beiden): linker Eingang ist der reguläre, rechter Eingang ist der alternative Eingang. Control 1 ist die Federhärte, vergleichbar mit Filter-Cutoff; Control 2 ist die flüssige Reibung, vergleichbar mit Filterresonanz.

Programme:

  1. Double Waveguide Mixed: zwei Waveguides, die gemischt werden und dann zurückgeführt werden. Tonhöhe separat einstellbar.
  2. String Waveguide: Waveguide, der eine gezupfte Saite simuliert. Tonhöhe beider Waveguides separat regelbar.
  3. Bass Waveguide: Spezialisiert auf Bearbeitung von Bässen. PitchEnv bestimmt die Tiefe des Envelope Followers, der die Waveguide-Tonhöhe moduliert.
  4. Minor Chords: vier Waveguides; drei davon sind auf einen Mollakkord gestimmt. Der vierte kann mit Chord auf eine Quarte, verminderte Septime, Septime oder Oktave gestimmt werden.
  5. Waveguide Mesh 1: Vier Waveguides mit spreizbaren Frequenzen, was Spread regelt.
  6. Waveguide Mesh 4: Wie Programm 5, aber die Waveguides sind hier miteinander verschaltet.
  7. Spring Filter 3 (LP): Federmodell, das an ein Tiefpass-Tiefpass erinnert. Force stellt die Federkraft ein, Friction den Grad der Reibung (wie inverse Resonanz), Lin-3 simultan die Linearität der Federhärte und der Reibung.
  8. Static Friction 2: Federmodell mit statischer Reibung. Super, um Klänge zu zerstören und zu zerbröseln. Force und Friction siehe oben, Static bestimmt den Grad der statischer Reibung (je mehr, desto kratziger)

Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 57,98 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 69,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag