Tiptop Audio - Z-DSP NS

Overview

The Z-DSP is a digital audio processor based on the Spin FV-1 chip. Thanks to exchangeable memory cards, you can explore tons of creative sound design techniques. One minute, the Z-DSP works as a multimode delay, while the next, it produces reverbs, pitch and modulation effects or weird granular artefacts. Thanks to voltage-controllable parameters, it is possible to use algorithms dynamically. Compared to its predecessor, the analog circuits have been completely revised. The result: Very atmospheric and rich sounding effects.

Views

Details

The first Z-DSP was already considered one of the best FV-1 effects of all time. With the new version, TipTop Audio wants to go even a step beyond that. The analog circuits have been completely revised to further minimize noise and distortion levels. For AD and DA conversion, the module still uses the proven 24 Bit converters with 15 kHz bandwidth. The sound of the new Z-DSP is very clean and three-dimensional. – A great starting point for all kinds of experiments.

The Z-DSP features two audio channels with analog gain stages at the inputs. The module’s feedback paths can be controlled manually and via CV signals. Thanks to corresponding audio inputs and outputs, it is possible to break the feedback channels up and add external effects. You can also do “cross patches”. – Very interesting while using the Z-DSP as a delay processor.

A Z-DSP card holds up to eight effect algorithms. You can switch between them by a pressing a button or feeding a trigger signal to the module. A control voltage may be used to change the running direction. Another CV input allows you to address algorithms directly. Each effect can be edited and modulated in three parameters. Additionally, it is possible to clock the FV-1 chip externally. A dry / wet knob is available to mix raw and processed signals. Thanks to a new equal-power circuit, crossfades are much smoother than with the first version of the Z-DSP.

The cards Dragonfly Delay MkII and The Halls of Valhalla are included with the Z-DSP. Additional effect algorithms are sold separately. The new Z-DSP is fully compatible to cards made for the first version.

The most important improvements at a glance:

  • New analog circuitry reduces noise and distortion
  • Improved immunity to noise emitted by other modules sharing the same power bus
  • Increased output gain to improve the signal to noise ratio
  • The gain potentiometers now have a logarithmic response
  • The mechanical stability was improved
  • Equal-power crossfades in the mix section
connectors

Global connectors:
Three parameter CV inputs
Clock input
Dry / wet CV input
Trigger input for switching between algorithms
CV input for changing the switching direction (forward / backwards)
CV input for selecting particular algorithms
Card slot

Per channel:
Audio input and output
Feedback audio input and output
Feedback CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 28 HP wide, 25 mm in depth.
Power consumption: 200 mA at +21 V and 87 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.36 kg
Article Number
TTA-ZDSP2
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €348.74 € 19% VAT incl. €415.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

Tiptop Audio - Z-DSP NS

Überblick

Der Z-DSP ist ein digitaler, auf dem Spin FV-1-Chip basierender Audioprozessor. Dank austauschbaren Speicherkarten kann man immer wieder neue Klangwelten mit dem Modul erforschen. War der Z-DSP gerade noch als Multimode-Echo im Einsatz, liefert er wenige Handgriffe später zum Beispiel Hallräume, Pitch- und Modulationseffekte oder wirre Granular-Artefakte. Dank spannungssteuerbaren Parametern lassen sich Algorithmen dynamisch verändern. Gegenüber dem Vorgänger wurden die Analogschaltungen komplett überarbeitet. Das Ergebnis: Enorm atmosphärische, sehr räumlich wirkende Effekte.

Ansichten

Details

Schon die erste Version des Z-DSPs galt als einer der besten FV-1-Effekte aller Zeiten. Mit dem neuen Modell möchte TipTop Audio jetzt noch einmal nachlegen. Die Analogschaltungen wurden komplett überarbeitet, um Grundrauschen und Verzerrungen weiter zu minimieren. Für AD- und DA-Konvertierung kommen, wie gehabt, 24-Bit-Wandler mit einer Bandbreite von 15 kHz zum Einsatz. Der Sound des neuen Z-DSPs ist überaus klar und dreidimensional. – Eine super Ausgangsbasis für vielerlei Klangexperimente.

Der Z-DSP verfügt über zwei Audiokanäle mit analogen Pegelstufen. Die Feedback-Wege des Moduls sind manuell und mittels Steuerspannungen kontrollierbar. Sie lassen sich aufbrechen, sodass man externe Effekte zwischenschalten und „über Kreuz“ patchen kann. Letztere Option liefert besonders bei der Verwendung von Delay-Algorithmen sehr spannende Ergebnisse.

Per Tastendruck oder Trigger-Signal kann man zwischen den bis zu acht Effektprogrammen je Speicherkarte wechseln. Die Ablaufrichtung ist per Steuerspannung veränderbar. Ein weiterer CV-Eingang erlaubt die direkte Auswahl von Algorithmen. Jeder Effekt kann in drei Parametern editiert und moduliert werden. Ein Clock-Eingang macht es möglich, auf die Taktung des FV-1-Chips Einfluss zu nehmen. Per Dry/Wet-Regler lassen sich Roh- und Effektsignale mischen. Dank neuer Equal-Power-Schaltung gibt es, im Gegensatz zum ersten Z-DSP, bei der zweiten Version keine Pegeleinbrüche mehr.

Im Lieferumfang des Z-DSPs befinden sich die Karten Dragonfly Delay MkII und The Halls of Valhalla. Speichermedien mit anderen Algorithmen sind separat erhältlich. Natürlich ist die neue Version des Z-DSPs voll kompatibel zu älteren Effektkarten.

Die wichtigsten Veränderungen gegenüber dem ersten Z-DSP-Modul im Überblick:

  • Komplett neue Analogschaltungen reduzieren Rauschpegel und Verzerrungen
  • Eine verbesserte Abschirmung schützt vor Einstreuungen anderer Module durch die Stromversorgung
  • Höherer Ausgangspegel für besseren Rauschabstand
  • Pegel-Potentiometer arbeiten jetzt logarithmisch
  • Die mechanische Stabilität wurde verbessert.
  • Roh- und Effektmaterial lassen sich gleichmäßig überblenden.
Anschlüsse

Globale Anschlüsse:
Drei Parameter-CV-Eingänge
Clock-Eingang
Dry/Wet-CV-Eingang
Trigger-Eingang zur Umschaltung zwischen Algorithmen
CV-Eingang zur Bestimmung der Schaltrichtung (Vorwärts / Rückwärts)
CV-Eingang zur Auswahl einzelner Algorithmen
Einschub für Speicherkarte

Je Kanal:
Audioeingang und Ausgang
Feedback-Audioeingang und Ausgang
Feedback-CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 28 TE breit, 25 mm tief.
Stromverbrauch 200 mA auf +12 V und 87 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.36 kg
artikelnr
TTA-ZDSP2
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 360,50 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 429,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1