WMD - Chimera

Overview

Chimera is a granular synthesis module specialized in metallic percussion sounds. Eleven so-called surfaces are available. They are based on recordings of, for instance, a tambourine, sleigh bells, drill bits, wrenches, shell casings, coins, chains, stomp box enclosures or front panels. Morph and density parameters, two envelopes and a multi effects processor allow users to tweak each sound to taste. For playing the module, there are trigger, accent and choke inputs. Thanks to groove patterns and a multitude of CV connectors, lively, dynamic rhythms can be created in no time. The Chimera’s basic sound is grainy and hard. Besides modern, metallic drums, it is also possible to produce all kinds of cool special effects, for instance robot vocals or sounds reminiscent of epic space battles.

Views

Details

Chimera features eleven basic sounds, so-called surfaces, which are morphed into one-another as the corresponding potentiometer is turned. Another knob determines the grain density. Furthermore, there is a pitch control with a range of five octaves. A decay envelope can be used to modulate the pitch. A second envelope controls the built-in VCA. For additional sound adjustments, a multi effects processor was implemented. Three algorithms are available, in detail quality reduction, sample rate reduction and comb filter. Via a potentiometer, it is possible to alter the effect intensity (quality / sample rate reduction) respectively the position of the comb filter. All parameters mentioned so far can not only be adjusted manually, but are also voltage controllable. In addition, there is a CV input for influencing the VCA independently of the integrated envelope.

The Chimera can be played via trigger, accent and choke inputs. A button allows users to activate the module from the front panel. Using the circuit’s Feel switch, it is possible to choose between different accentuations.

  • Feel switch in left position: All notes are triggered with the same amplitude. (Given that there’s no signal present at the accent input.)
  • Feel switch in middle position: The first of four notes is played with normal amplitude. The second and fourth note are played softly. The third note is given a random medium volume. Additionally, the attack times of second to fourth note are increased.
  • Feel switch in right position: Chimera oscillates freely. With the potentiometer of the volume envelope turned completely clockwise, the amplitude control deactivates and the metallic textures flow to infinity.

Chimera’s firmware can be updated via USB.

connectors

Trigger, accent and choke inputs
Eight CV inputs (Pitch, envelope, density, FX, FX amount, surface, decay, VCA)
Audio output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, 30 mm in depth
Power consumption: 63 mA at +12 V and 17 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
WMDchim
External Videos
availability ? coming soon
€ 19% VAT excl. €226.05 € 19% VAT incl. €269.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

WMD - Chimera

Überblick

Chimera ist ein Granular-Synthese-Modul, das auf metallische Percussion-Sounds spezialisiert ist. Elf sogenannte „Surfaces“ stehen für Klangexperimente bereit. Hinter dieser Bezeichnung verbergen sich granulierte Aufnahmen von beispielsweise einem Tamburin, Glöckchen, Bohrern, Maulschlüsseln, Patronenhülsen, Kleingeld, Ketten, Metallgehäusen oder Modular-Frontplatten. Mittels Morph-Funktion, variabler Grain-Dichte, zwei Hüllkurven und einem Multieffekt lassen sich Sounds flexibel verbiegen. Zum Spiel stehen Trigger-, Accent- und Choke-Eingänge bereit. Dank Akzentuierungsmustern und allerhand CV-Wegen lassen sich überaus abwechslungsreiche, dynamische Rhythmen zaubern. Der Grundklang des Chimeras ist körnig und hart. Neben modernen, metallischen Drums kann man auch allerhand abgefahrene Spezialeffekte kreieren, etwa Roboter-Vocals oder an Weltraumschlachten erinnernde Sounds.

Ansichten

Details

Chimera bietet elf Grundsounds, sogenannte Surfaces, die mit Hilfe einer granularen Morph-Funktion ineinander überblendet werden können. Per Density-Drehregler lässt sich die Grain-Dichte variieren. Die Stimmung kann im Bereich von fünf Oktaven verändert werden. Obendrauf gibt es eine Decay-Hüllkurve, die in positiver oder negativer Richtung auf die Tonhöhe einwirken kann. Eine zweite Hüllkurve bestimmt die Länge der entstehenden Drum-Sounds. Für zusätzliche Klanganpassungen ist ein Multieffekt im Chimera enthalten. Drei Algorithmen sind verfügbar, im Einzelnen Qualitätsreduktion, Sampleratenreduktion und Kammfilter. Mit Hilfe eines Drehreglers lässt sich die Effektintensität (Qualitäts- und Sampleratenreduktion) beziehungsweise die Position des Kammfilters verändern. Sämtliche bis hierher genannten Stellgrößen können nicht nur manuell justiert, sondern auch durch Steuerspannungen beeinflusst werden. Zusätzlich gibt es einen VCA-Eingang, mit dessen Hilfe sich der Lautstärkeverlauf unabhängig von der integrierten Hüllkurve steuern lässt.

Zum Spiel des Chimera-Moduls sind Trigger-, Accent- und Choke-Eingänge an Bord. Ein Taster erlaubt es Nutzern, Drums an der Frontplatte auszulösen. Per Feel-Schalter kann man zwischen verschiedenen Akzentuierungen wählen:

  • Feel-Schalter auf Linksstellung: Alle Noten werden mit gleicher Amplitude getriggert. (Solange am Accent-Eingang kein Signal anliegt.)
  • Feel-Schalter in Mittenstellung: Die Erste von vier Noten ist betont. Für den dritten Schlag wird ein zufälliger, mittelstarker Lautstärkenwert gewählt. Zweite und vierte Note erklingen nur leise. Zusätzlich wird die Attack-Zeit von zweiter bis vierter Note verlängert.
  • Feel-Schalter auf Rechtsstellung: Chimera oszilliert frei. Ist die Lautstärkenhüllkurve auf Rechtsanschlag eingestellt, ergeben sich unendlich hinziehende Soundtexturen.

 Die Firmware des Moduls kann via USB-Anschluss upgedatet werden.

Anschlüsse

Trigger-, Accent- und Choke-Eingänge
Acht CV-Eingänge (Pitch, Envelope, Density, FX, FX Amount, Surface, Decay, VCA)
Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 Teileinheiten breit, 30 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 63 mA auf +12 V und 17 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
WMDchim
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 226,05 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 269,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag