WMD DVCA

Overview

With the DVCA, the guys from WMD present a new edition of their digital amplifier concept. The module is smaller than its predecessor, yet it has more features. In use, the circuit shines with very clean sound. The DVCA consists of two analog amplifier circuits, which are digitally controlled. The advantage: No more annoying clicks while using fast envelope or gate signals. This makes the DVCA the perfect choice for percussive sounds. On top of this, the module can also be used as a ring modulator.

Views

Details

The DVCA offers two linear amplifiers, hereinafter called VCA A and VCA B. Each circuit is equipped with one signal input and output. CV channels are used to control the amplifiers. In addition, VCA A features a Bias knob and an attenuator. Furthermore, it is possible to choose between a unipolar and a bipolar mode of operation. – With modulations in the audio range, you can create ring modulation effects.

What sets the DVCA apart from other amplifier circuits is its digital control concept. Using switches, you can select two (VCA B) respectively three (VCA A) operating modes:

  • INST: In instant mode, the amplifier circuits behave like normal VCAs that follow the applied control voltages.
  • TR: In triggered mode, the module sets a new control voltage level according to CV A whenever the UPD A input receives a trigger. The connector is normalled to IN A. This mode can be used as a pseudo sample & hold by patching an offset voltage to IN A. (The TR mode is only available for VCA A.)
  • ZCD mode: With zero crossing detection active, the amplifiers update their CV values only at zero crossings of the input material. This prevents annoying click noises, which are often a problem, especially with percussive envelopes and gate signals.
connectors

VCA A:
Signal input and output
CV input
UPD A input

VCA B:
Signal input and output
CV input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 4 HP wide, 39 mm in depth
Power consumption: 72 mA at +12 V and 45 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.15 kg
Article Number
WMDdvcas
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €180.67 € 19% VAT incl. €215.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

WMD DVCA

Überblick

Mit dem DVCA haben die Jungs von WMD eine Neuauflage ihres Digitalverstärker-Konzeptes vorgestellt. Das Modul ist kleiner als der Vorgänger, besitzt aber mehr Funktionen. Klanglich glänzt die Schaltung durch absolute Sauberkeit. Der DVCA setzt sich aus zwei analogen Verstärkerschaltungen zusammen, die digital gesteuert werden. Der Vorteil: Bei schnellen Hüllkurven gibt es keine nervigen Klick-Geräusche. – Somit ist der DVCA die perfekte Wahl für perkussive Sounds! Der Einsatz als Ringmodulator ist ebenfalls denkbar.

Details

Der DVCA bietet zwei lineare Analogverstärker, im Folgenden VCA A und VCA B genannt. Pro Schaltung gibt es einen Signaleingang und Ausgang. CV-Wege dienen der Steuerung. Ergänzend bringt VCA A einen Bias-Drehregler und einen Abschwächer mit. Darüber hinaus lässt sich der Verstärker von unipolar auf bipolar umschalten. – Bei Modulationen im Audiobereich sind so Ringmodulator-Effekte möglich.

Der Clou am DVCA ist sein digitales Steuerungskonzept. Mit Hilfe von Schaltern kann man zwischen zwei (VCA B) beziehungsweise drei (VCA A) Betriebsarten wählen:

  • INST-Modus: Im Instant-Betrieb verhalten sich die Verstärkerschaltungen wie ganz normale VCAs, die der anliegenden Steuerspannung folgen.
  • TR-Modus: Im Trigger-Betrieb liest das Modul den CV-Wert immer dann aus, wenn eine aufsteigende Flanke am Anschluss UPD A festgestellt wird. Die Buchse ist zum Signaleingang des ersten VCAs normalisiert. Indem man eine Offset-Spannung an UPD A patcht, kann man eine Pseudo-Sample&-Hold-Funktion kreieren. (Die TR-Betriebsart ist nur bei VCA A verfügbar.)
  • ZCD-Modus: Im Zero-Crossing-Detector-Betrieb updaten die Verstärker ihre CV-Werte ausschließlich bei Nulldurchgängen der Eingangssignale. Hierdurch werden störende Klick-Geräusche unterbunden, die speziell bei perkussiven Hüllkurven und Gate-Signalen oft ein Problem darstellen.
Anschlüsse

VCA A:
Signaleingang und Ausgang
CV-Eingang
UPD-A-Eingang

VCA B:
Signaleingang und Ausgang
CV-Eingang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 4 Teileinheiten breit, 39 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 72 mA auf +12 V und 45 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.15 kg
artikelnr
WMDdvcas
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 180,67 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 215,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag