WMD - Fracture

Overview

Fracture is a multi-particle percussion synthesizer specialized in generating claps. Short micro samples are combined in pseudo-random order to form sounds. Thanks to constant changes in the sequential arrangement of the particles, results are very lively. Several sample groups, carefully selected sound design parameters and a voltage-controllable reverb make Fracture much more than just a supplier of analog to digital-granular claps. Rather, you should think of the module as a multifunctional percussion generator, which can even produce entire rhythms.

Views

Details

Fracture uses impulse samples from claps, snaps, ping-pong balls or opening a beer can to generate sound. The audio snippets are divided into groups. You can select these sample sets via the Surface potentiometer. Since the playback is pseudo-random, the results sound slightly different each time the module receives a trigger signal. – A big plus compared to average sample players.

Fracture comes equipped with two trigger inputs:

  • Trig: The main input.
  • Tick: Additional input for playing ghost notes.

If trigger signals are received simultaneously at both connectors, an accent is played. For activating the module manually, there is a button.

Fracture can be tuned using a frequency potentiometer. Other knobs allow you to alter the module’s sound:

  • Spread: Determines how far apart the played impulses are from each other. In other words: Using this potentiometer, you can adjust how many people are clapping.
  • Decay: Sets the length of the sound. – How long are the people clapping?
  • Density: Specifies the tightness of the sound. – Are the people concentrated or completely drunk?

In addition to the potentiometers described above, there are Punch and Tail switches. These control elements can be used to select one of three filters and envelope types. A special feature: If the third envelope mode is active, the module plays individual impulse samples in (pseudo) random order. Using a fast trigger sequence, you can create interesting percussion lines. – Add a kick and a snare and your set will groove! For more movement, put some modulation on top. Except for Punch and Tail, all parameters can be influenced via control voltages.

For sound refinement, Fracture offers a reverb processor with two algorithms. The effect can be added manually or via a CV signal. Furthermore, there is an Inf input, which allows you to activate the reverb only at certain steps of a sequence. Results are emitted via left and right output.

connectors

Trigger and Tick inputs
Freq and Pitch inputs
CV inputs for Spread, Density, Surface, Decay and Reverb (dry / wet)
Inf gate input
Left and right audio output

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, 30 mm in depth
Power consumption: 63 mA at +12 V and 17 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
WMDfrac
Status: Order now and the article can be picked up in our shop the next working day (Monday - Friday) from 2:00 p.m. Article ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €226.05 € 19% VAT incl. €269.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

WMD - Fracture

Überblick

Fracture ist ein Multi-Partikel-Percussion-Synthesizer, spezialisiert auf Claps. Kurze Mikrosamples werden in pseudo-zufälliger Reihenfolge kombiniert, um Sounds zu formen. Dank stetiger Veränderungen in der Partikel-Zusammensetzung klingen die Ergebnisse sehr lebendig. Verschiedene Sample-Gruppen, sorgsam  gewählte Sounddesign-Parameter und ein spannungssteuerbarer Hall machen Fracture zu weit mehr als nur einem Lieferanten von analog bis digital-granular wirkenden Claps. Vielmehr handelt es sich um einen multifunktionalen Percussion-Generator, mit dem man sogar ganze Rhythmen kreieren kann.

Ansichten

Details

Fracture benutzt Impuls-Samples von beispielsweise Klatschen, Fingerschnippen, Ping-Pong-Bällen oder dem Öffnen einer Bierdose, um Sound zu erzeugen. Die Audioschnipsel sind in Gruppen aufgeteilt. Das Surface-Potentiometer dient der Auswahl eines Sample-Sets. Da die Wiedergabe in pseudo-zufälliger Reihenfolge geschieht, klingen die Ergebnisse bei jedem Anschlag etwas anders. – Ein großes Plus gegenüber steifer Sample-Player.

Zum Spiel des Fracture-Moduls stehen zwei Buchsen bereit:

  • Trigger: Der Haupteingang
  • Tick: Für Ghost-Notes

Gehen Trigger-Signale an beiden Anschlüssen gleichzeitig ein, wird akzentuiert gespielt. Zur manuellen Aktivierung des Moduls gibt es einen Taster.

Per Frequenzregler kann Fracture gestimmt werden. Weitere Potentiometer dienen dem Sounddesign:

  • Spread: Bestimmt, wie weit die gespielten Impulse auseinanderliegen. Man könnte auch sagen, dass dieser Drehregler festlegt, wie viele Leute klatschen.
  • Decay: Definiert den Abklang. – Wie lange sollen die Leute klatschen?
  • Density: Legt die Straffheit des Sounds fest. – Sind die Leute konzentriert oder völlig betrunken?

Darüber hinaus lässt sich, mit Hilfe von Punch- und Tail-Schaltern, zwischen jeweils drei Filtern und Hüllkurven-Typen wählen. Eine Besonderheit: Ist der dritte Hüllkurvenmodus aktiv, spielt das Modul nur einzelne Impulse. Mit schnellen Trigger-Abfolgen lassen sich komplette Percussion-Linien zaubern. – Einfach noch Bass-Drum und Snare dazugeben und das Set groovt! Wer mehr Bewegung möchte, kann noch ein paar Modulationen beifügen. Abgesehen von Punch- und Tail-Schaltern sind sämtliche Parameter spannungssteuerbar.

Zur Klangveredelung hält Fracture einen Hall-Prozessor mit zwei Algorithmen bereit. Der Effekt lässt sich manuell oder per CV-Signal beimischen. Via Gate-Befehl am Inf-Eingang kann der Hall kurzzeitig aktiviert werden, was zu coolen Spezialeffekten führt. Ergebnisse stehen an zwei Ausgängen zum Abgriff bereit.

Anschlüsse

Trigger- und Tick-Eingänge
Freq- und Pitch-Eingänge
CV-Eingänge für Spread, Density, Surface, Decay und Reverb (Dry / Wet)
Inf-Gate-Eingang
Linker und rechter Audioausgang

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 Teileinheiten breit, 30 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 63 mA auf +12 V und 17 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
WMDfrac
Verfügbarkeit ? demnächst eintreffend
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 226,05 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 269,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag