WMD - Mantic Flex

Overview

Mantic Flex uses a PLL circuit to create audio effects. In detail, the phase locked loop tries to synchronize with incoming signals. – But it doesn’t succeed. If you feed a clean lead or bass to the module, the results will be reminiscent of PWM or sync sounds with harsh artifacts and lots of distortion. Giving drums a more moist and gnarly character is another specialty of the PLL circuit. From time to time, Mantis Flex just emits individual glitches. – Pure madness, but still musical.

Views

Details

The audio input of the Mantis Flex module is followed by a VCA. Here, you can level incoming material, so it is perfectly prepared for being processed by the phase locked loop. The effect circuit itself can be “tuned” via the VCO Offset potentiometer. Turning this knob causes sound changes similar to the results of a tone or PWM control. The Focus potentiometer determines the speed at which the phase locked loop will attempt to synchronize to incoming audio material. The Pump knob does the same thing, but in a different way. – The name says it all. Every parameter mentioned so far can be voltage controlled.

Octave is a CV input for "transpositions". The socket works best with fixed control voltages. To make things even more weird, there are two switches labeled $ and &. These control elements activate effects within the phase locked loop. - So, what does Mantic Flex sound like?! Well, it is rather hard to find a proper description. The module can generate effect oscillations, distortion, creaking artefacts and much more. To keep things in order, there’s a dry / wet potentiometer in front of the output.

connectors

Audio input and output
CV inputs for VCO Offset, Focus, Pump and Octave

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, compatible with Skiff cases

Weight
0.2 kg
Article Number
WMDmflx
External Links
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €167.23 € 19% VAT incl. €199.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

WMD - Mantic Flex

Überblick

Mantic Flex fegt dir mal so richtig die Gehörgänge durch. Das Modul nutzt eine PLL-Schaltung, um Audioeffekte zu erzeugen. Genauer versucht der Phasenregelkreis, sich mit eingehenden Signalen gleichzuschalten. – Gelingt ihm aber nicht so richtig. Schickt man saubere Leads oder Bässe in das Modul, kommen chaotische, an PWM- oder Sync-Sounds erinnernde Ergebnisse mit deutlichen Artefakten und ordentlich Zerrung wieder raus. Nass-schmatzende Drums sind ein weiteres Spezialgebiet. Zwischendurch gibt Mantis Flex auch einfach nur noch Glitches von sich. – Purer Wahnsinn, aber trotzdem musikalisch.

Ansichten

Details

Mantic Flex verfügt über einen Signaleingang mit nachgeschaltetem VCA. Hier kann man Audiomaterial auf idealen Pegel bringen, um vom Phasenregelkreis bearbeitet zu werden. Die PLL-Schaltung selbst lässt sich per VCO-Offset-Potentiometer „stimmen“. Drehungen bewirken Soundveränderungen ähnlich einer Tone- oder PWM-Kontrolle. Das Focus-Potentiometer legt fest, mit welcher Geschwindigkeit der Phasenregelkreis versuchen soll, sich zu eingehendem Audiomaterial zu synchronisieren. Der Pump-Regler macht im Prinzip das gleiche, allerdings auf andere Art. - Der Name sagt eigentlich schon alles. Alle bis hierher genannten Parameter sind spannungssteuerbar.

Octave ist ein CV-Eingang für so etwas wie Transpositionen. Die Buchse funktioniert am besten mit fixen Steuerspannungen. Um die Verrücktheit auf die Spitze zu treiben, gibt es dann noch zwei mit $ und & betitelte Schalter. Sie aktivieren Effekte innerhalb des Phasenregelkreises. Die Ergebnisse lassen sich nur schwer in Worte fassen, wie auch der Rest des Mantic Flex. Das Modul kann Effekt-Oszillationen, Zerrungen, knarzende Artefakte und noch viel mehr erzeugen. Um dem Ganzen Einhalt zu gebieten, befindet sich vor dem Ausgang ein Dry-Wet-Regler.

Anschlüsse

Audioeingang und Ausgang
CV-Eingänge für VCA, VCO Offset, Focus, Pump und Octave

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 Teileinheiten breit, kompatibel zu Skiff-Cases

Gewicht
0.2 kg
artikelnr
WMDmflx
Externe Links
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 167,23 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 199,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag