WMD - Overseer

Overview

The Overseer is a stereo VCF with high pass and low pass circuits, its design was inspired by filters found on DJ mixers and such. Functional range and front panel of the module were optimized for intuitive operation. Therefore, the Overseer is not only a great partner in the studio, but on stage as well. In terms of sound, the module resembles its DJ colleagues quite well. However, it is more beefy and a little rougher. The Tilt function allows the user to create panorama effects. – Just twist the knobs and enjoy!

Views

Details

The Overseer features a stereo signal path, control elements adjust left and right channel alike. For editing the cutoff, there is a big, handy potentiometer at the top of the front panel. In middle position, sound runs through the module unaltered. By turning the knob counter-clockwise, the user can apply the low pass filter. Movements in the other direction activate the high pass circuit. The cutoff potentiometer’s range can be limited via a switch. In result, it is impossible to accidentally filter out the audio material completely.

Available ranges:

  • High pass (unlimited): 3 Hz to 38 kHz
  • High pass (limited): 3 Hz to 12 kHz
  • Low pass (unlimited): 1 Hz to 32 kHz
  • Low pass (limited): 22 Hz to 32 kHz

The resonance can sharpen sounds very nicely. However, the Overseer isn’t able to self-oscillate. This means, that the circuit never gets painful for the listener’s hearing. A bypass button allows the user to enable and disable the filter on the fly. The tilt potentiometer establishes an offset between the cutoff frequencies of left and right channel and therefore creates stereo effects. Tilt can be applied to high pass, low pass or both filter characteristics. Besides two audio inputs and outputs (L / R), the Overseer has several CV connectors on its front panel. They can be used to influence the cutoff, resonance and tilt parameters via control voltages. Additionally, there are CV inputs with attenuator knobs for high pass and low pass. These inputs can be normalized to a +5 V voltage, making it possible to adjust both filter characteristics separately.

connectors

Two audio inputs and audio outputs
CV inputs for high pass, low pass, master (both cutoff frequencies), resonance, tilt

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8 HP wide, 40 mm deep
Power consumption: 100 mA at +12 V and 100 mA at -12 V

Weight
0.14 kg
Article Number
WMDovsr
External Links
External Videos
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €209.24 € 19% VAT incl. €249.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1 Tag

WMD - Overseer

Überblick

Der „Aufseher“ ist ein von DJ-Mixern inspiriertes Stereofilter mit Hochpass- und Tiefpassschaltungen. Funktionsumfang wie auch Frontplattendesign wurden auf intuitive Nutzung getrimmt, sodass sich das Analogmodul neben Studiobetrieb auch hervorragend für Bühneneinsätze eignet. Klanglich erinnert das Overseer mit seinem füllig-runden Charakter stark an die in Clubmischern verbauten Filter, wirkt allerdings kräftiger und ein wenig rauer. Die eingebaute Tilt-Funktion ermöglicht Panoramaeffekte. – Einfach rumdrehen und Spaß haben!

Ansichten

Details

Der Signalfluss des Overseers ist komplett zweikanalig gehalten, die Bedienelemente beeinflussen beide Audiowege gemeinsam. Für Frequenzveränderungen steht ein großes, schön griffiges Potentiometer bereit. In Mittenposition finden keine Signalbearbeitungen statt. Drehungen entgegen des Uhrzeigersinns führen zu Höhenbeschneidungen, bei Bewegungen in die andere Richtung geht es den Bässen an den Kragen. Per Schalter lässt sich der Regelbereich des Potentiometers einschränken, um nicht versehentlich „komplett dichtzumachen“.

Regelbereiche:

  • Hochpass (unlimitiert): 3 Hz bis 38 kHz
  • Hochpass (limitiert): 3 Hz bis 12 kHz
  • Tiefpass (unlimitiert): 1 Hz bis 32 kHz
  • Tiefpass (limitiert): 22 Hz bis 32 kHz

Die Resonanz ist in der Lage, Signale ordentlich anzuspitzen. Bis in die Selbstoszillation reicht der Parameter allerdings nicht, selbst Extremeinstellungen bleiben also noch ohrenfreundlich. Per Bypass-Schalter kann das Filter schnell an- und abgeschaltet werden. Kurzzeitige Effekteinwürfe sind somit kein Problem. Via Tilt-Funktion ist es möglich, einen Versatz zwischen der Grenzfrequenz von linkem und rechtem Kanal zu erzeugen. Dies zieht Panorama-Effekte nach sich. Per Schalter lässt sich definieren, ob das Offset für Hochpass, Tiefpass oder beide Filtercharakteristika aktiv sein soll. Neben jeweils zwei Audioeingängen und Ausgängen (L / R) bringt das Overseer eine ganze Reihe CV-Eingänge mit. Sie wirken auf Grenzfrequenz-, Resonanz- und Tilt-Parameter ein. Ergänzend haben Hochpass und Tiefpass einzelne Steuerspannungswege mit Abschwächer-Potentiometern spendiert bekommen. Diese Eingänge lassen sich zu einer +5V-Spannung normalisieren, wodurch man die Filtercharakteristika auch einzeln justieren kann.

Sonstiges

Zwei Audioeingänge und Ausgänge
CV-Eingänge für Hochpass, Tiefpass, Master (beide Filter-Grenzfrequenzen), Resonanz, Tilt

Abmessungen

3 HE Eurorack-Modul, 8 Teileinheiten breit, 40 mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 100 mA auf +12 V und 100 mA auf -12 V

Gewicht
0.14 kg
artikelnr
WMDovsr
Externe Links
Externe Videos
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 209,24 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 249,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1 Tag