WMD/SSF - Ultrafold

Overview

"Voltage controlled audible origami", so do the manufacturers describe the Ultrafold in good fun yet accurately. What origami does to paper is what this module can do to audio: serious folding. And the Ultrafold sounds really excellent.
It is a voltage controlled wavefolder a.k.a wave multipiler which adds harmonics to signals by clipping, (a)symmetric folding and feedback, from decent over warm to screming and cutting cold ones. Inject an auxiliary audio signal and gloat over the harsh FM-like sounds.

Views

Details

The sound of the Ultrafold, just like any wave multiplier's, is very much depending on the interaction between the single parameters. The input volume, which can be adjusted with "Input Drive", is important for the amount of folding and it adds a warm distortion.
The voltage parameter "Wave Fold" is responsible for the number of folds. The more folds the richer the signal gets, as if new frequencies would be added.
"Wave Shift" alters the signal's symmetry and determines whether the positive half cycle is processed same like the negative one or in an asymmetrical manner. This can be voltage controlled as well.

Ultrafold's unique feature is the voltage controlled "Feedback" parameter, inserting the folded signal back into the input, producing hard edges in the waveform and thus dramatically affecting the high frequencies. The control is bi-polar i.e. it is possible to apply positive or negative feedbacks together with their distinctive sounds.
Injecting an external audio signal into the auxiliary socket "Feedback Input" will superimpose onto the processed main input signal. It can be attenuated with the positive half of the feedback potentiometer, while the negative part still controls negative feedback amount. The acoustic result varies from subtle to extreme and FM-ish, depending on the use CVs, slow or fast audio.

Customer's opinion:
"The Ultrafold matches the Mutable Braids tighter than a duck's arse just perfectly." (a satisfied customer)

connectors

signal input, signal output
CV inputs for Feedback, Wave Shift and Fold
auxiliary feedback input

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 6HP wide, 25mm deep
power consumption: 30mA @ +12V and 30mA @ -12V

Weight
0.076 kg
Article Number
WMDufold
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €158.82 € 19% VAT incl. €189.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

WMD/SSF - Ultrafold

Überblick

"Spannungssteuerbares, hörbares Origami", so die nicht ernstgemeinte, doch treffende Beschreibung der beiden Hersteller für den Ultrafold. Denn was Origami mit Papier anstellt, das kann dieses Modul mit Audio, nämlich ordentlich Falten. Und das meinen wir auch, denn das Modul klingt wiklich famos.
Es ist ein spannungsgesteuerter Wave-Folder alias Wave-Multiplier, der Signalen durch Clipping, (a)symmetrische Faltung und Feedback Obertöne verleiht, von dezent und warm bis schreiend und schneidend kalt. Speise ein externes Signal in den Feedbackeingang und ergötze dich an harschen, FM-artigen Sounds.

Ansichten

Details

Der Klang des Ultrafold, wie jedes Wave-Multipliers, ist stark von dem Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Parameter abhängig. Die Lautstärke des Eingangssignals, die hier mit "Input Drive" einstellbar ist, ist wichtig für den Grad der Faltung und fügt eine warme Verzerrung hinzu.
Der spannungssteurbare Parameter "Wave Fold" ist für die Anzahl der Faltungen zuständig. Je mehr, desto reicher wird das Signal, als ob neue Frequenzen addiert würden.
"Wave Shift" verändert die Symmetrie des Signals und bestimmt, ob die positive Halbwelle gleich stark bearbeitet wird wie die negative oder auf eine asymetrische Weise. Auch dies kann spannungsgesteuert erfolgen.

Einzigartig bei dem Ultrafold ist der spannungssteuerbare "Feedback"-Parameter, der das gefaltete Signal wieder in den Eingang leitet, sehr harte Kanten in der Wellenform generiert und so die hochfrequenten Signalanteile dramatisch betont. Der Regler ist bipolar, sprich es sind positive wie negative Feedbacks samt ihren unterschiedlichen Klangfarben möglich.
Wird in die zusätzliche Buchse "Feedback Input" ein externes Audiosignal gespeist, so überlagert dieses den positiven Anteil des gefalteten Signal im Feedbackweg. Es kann mit der positiven Hälfte des Regelwegs des Feedback-Reglers abgeschwächt werden, während die negative Hälfte des Potis nach wie vor das interne negative Feedback regelt. Das akustische Ergebnis variiert von subtil zu extrem und FM-artig, je nach dem, ob man CVs oder Audio einspeist.

Kundenmeinungen:
"Der Ultrafold passt wie Arsch auf Eimer zum Mutable Braids " (ein zufriedener Kunde)

Anschlüsse

Signaleingang, Signalausgang
CV-Eingänge für Feedback, Wave Shift und Fold
zusätzlicher Feedback-Eingang

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 6TE breit, 25mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 30mA auf +12V und 30mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.076 kg
artikelnr
WMDufold
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 158,82 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 189,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1