WMD/SSF - Mini Slew

Overview

The Mini Slew's distinguished feature is the Time Compensation function: when altering the curve shape the frequency remains relatively unchanged! This makes the module stand out from all other comparable function generators and makes this type of module even more flexible, be it when used as LFO or as a VCO with voltage controlled wave shaping. A propos voltage control: curve form and output level can be modulated and the cycle function turned on and off by using gates. Kudos to WMD and SSF for the good work!

Views

Details

The Mini Slew is capable of all that what is to be expected from a feature-ladden function generator: in combination with the signal input it is a voltage controlled slew limiter and waveshaper or an Attack-Sustain-Release envelope generator. Used with the Trigger input it turns into an attack-decay envelope.
The parameters Rise and Fall can be voltage controlled independently, or together when the CV SUM button is activated: either a single CV is sent to both time parameters simultaneously or two CVs are summed and sent to both parameters at the same time.
The "EOR" and "EOC" outputs emit pulse signals when the Rise phase respectively the entire Rise/-Fall-cycle have finished. They can be used for gate delay applications or as pulse wave outputs when cycling (see below).

Using the Cycle function which is also gate-activated you can make the module loop. Which means you create a LFO or VCO at a push of a button.
CV-SUM function allows you for tracking the oscillator over 2-3 octaves.
The wave (sawtooth over triangle to ramp) and the frequency is determined by the Rise and Fall parameters and the curve shape by the Shape parameter (from logarithmic over linear to exponential). Shape is voltage controlled, too. For sure that's nice for VCO waveshaping.

All function generators show the same behaviour: changing the curve shape resuts in a severe change in frequency which is awful beacuse you have to re-tune the function generator. Well, not all! The VC Mini Slew has an optional Time-Compensation feature keeping the frequency relavively constant. Press the T-Comp button for a second to activate this function.

The "+OUT" emits only unipolar, positive voltages with maximum amplitude, while the signal's polarity and amplitude at the "Vari-Out" can be set with a pot and a CV and is displayed with the LED bar.

The Mini Slew saves button states for Cycle, T-Comp and CV-Sum, as long they haven't been changed in the last 60 seconds before powering down. Which means there is no default state.

connectors

signal input, variable signal output, positive signal output
CYCLE gate input, TRIGGER trigger/gate input
CV inputs: FM, Shape, Rise, Fall, Vari polarity/amplitude
pulse outputs; end-of-cycle, end-of-rise

dimensions

3U Eurorack module, 8HP wide, 25mm deep
power consumption: 70mA @ +12V and 50mA @ -12V

Weight
0.098 kg
Article Number
WMDslew
Status: The article can be picked up in the shop right now / article is ready for dispatch
availability ? immediately available
€ 19% VAT excl. €167.23 € 19% VAT incl. €199.00
Excl. 19% VAT, Excl. shippingLieferzeit 1

WMD/SSF - Mini Slew

Überblick

Herausragendes Merkmal des Mini Slew ist die Zeitkompensation: bei Änderung der Kurvenform bleibt die Frequenz des Mini Slew relativ unverändert! Das hebt das Modul von allen vergleichbaren Funktiongeneratoren ab und macht diese Modulgattung noch flexibler, sei es als LFO oder als VCO mit spannungssteuerbaren Waveshaping. A propos Spannungssteuerung: Kurvenform und Pegel können moduliert werden und die Cycle-Funktion über Gates an- und ausgeschaltet werden. Lob and WMD und SSF : alles richtig gemacht!

Ansichten

Details

Der VC Mini Slew beherrscht all das, was ein ordentlich ausgestatteter Funktionsgenerator zu können hat: In Kombination mit dem Signaleingang ist es ein spannungsgesteurerter Slew-Limiter oder Waveshaper beziehungsweise ein Attack-Sustain-Release Hüllkurvengenerator. Über den Trigger-Eingang eine Attack-Decay-Hüllkurve.
Die Parameter Rise und Fall sind einzeln, beziehungsweise nach Betätigung des "CV SUM"-Tasters gemeinsam spannungssteuerbar: entweder wird eine einzelne zugeführte CV an beide Parameter gesendet oder zwei angelegte CVs summiert und beiden Zeitparametern zugleich zugeführt.
Die Ausgänge "EOR" und "EOC" geben nach Beendigung der Rise-Phase bzw. des Rise-Fall-Zyklus Puls-Signale aus, die man z.B. für Gate-Delay-Anwendungen nutzen kann oder als Pulswellen im Cycle-Modus (siehe unten).

Mittels der Cycle-Funktion, die auch über Gate aktiviert wird, kann man das Modul loopen, sprich zum Oszilleren bringen. Auf Knopfdruck erhält man also einen LFO oder VCO.
Über CV-SUM lässt sich die Oszillatorfunktionüber ca. 2-3 Oktaven tracken.
Die Kurvenform (z.B. Sägezahn oder Dreieck) und die Frequenz wird mittels der Rise- und Fall-Parameter bestimmt, die Kennlinie vom Shape-Parameter (von logaritihmisch über linear zu exponentiell). Shape ist ebenfalls spannungssteuerbar.

Während bei allen anderen Funktionsgeneratoren eine Änderung der Kurvencharakteristik eine deutliche Änderung der Frequenz mit sich zieht und man den Funktionsgenerator nachstimmen muss, bietet der Mini Slew mit der schaltbaren Funktion T-Comp eine Zeitkompensation an, die die Frequenz relativ konstant hält. Drücke den T-Comp-Taster eine Sekunde lang, um diese Funktion zu aktivieren.
Der "+OUT" gibt nur unipolare, positive Spannungen mit maximalen Pegel aus, während die Polarität und Amplitude des Signals am "Vari-Out" manuell und per CV regelbar ist und über die LED-Kette dargestellt wird.

Der MiniSlew speichert die letzten Taster-Stellungen für Cycle, T-Comp und CV-Sum ab, sofern diese 60 Sekunden vor Ausschalten nicht verändert wurden.

Anschlüsse

Signaleingang, variabler Signalausgang, positiver Signalausgang
CYCLE Gate-Eingang, TRIGGER Trigger-/Gate-Eingang
CV-Eingänge: FM, Shape, Rise, Fall, Vari Polarität/Amplitude
Pulsausgänge: End-Of-Cycle, End-Of-Rise

Abmessungen

3HE Eurorack-Modul, 8TE breit, 25mm tief
Stromverbrauch: 70mA auf +12V und 50mA auf -12V

Gewicht
0.098 kg
artikelnr
WMDslew
Status: Artikel kann im Laden abgeholt werden. / Artikel versandbereit
Verfügbarkeit ? sofort verfügbar
€ exkl. 19% MwSt. 167,23 € € inkl. 19% MwSt. 199,00 €
zzgl. 19% MwSt., zzgl. VersandkostenLieferzeit 1